We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Luna Clube Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luna Clube Oceano
Ranked #13 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on Trent, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We wanted a week away as a family (our children are 21 and 22) and our daughter found a good deal on the Clube Oceano.
We'd never been to Portugal but the price persuaded us to give it a go.
What a find !
The location was perfect, a short walk to the beach, 10 minutes walk to the strip and about 15 minutes to the Old Town. There are 2 bars / cafes and a small supermarket next door.
The very clean apartment on the second floor was plenty big enough for us all.
Other reviews have said that a higher floor gives a better view, but a lower floor gives a bigger balcony, which suited us.
The staff were mostly very good, except for one woman on reception who clearly didn't know how to smile and wasn't at all helpful when we wanted information about a bus to visit Vilamoura.
Even though the hotel was not busy, there were only just enough sunbeds. Unless they bring out more beds in the high season, be prepared to get out very early, or go to the beach.
We will definitely consider going back for a longer stay

Room Tip: High floors have better view, low floors have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    212
    51
    9
    4
See reviews for
127
243
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week at this property the location is excellent a 15minute walk downhill will take you to the old town and a 10minute walk in the other irection will take you to the strip the studio apartments which are on floor 0 are ideal as the patio has a few steps up to the pool so no walking back through the hotel to get to your room they have everything you would want for a short break full cooker microwave toaster and kettle (although this takes about 30mins to boil on the hob) could do with an electric one I would also have liked a hairdryer in the bathroom as this is the only mirror an the plug is only for a shaver. The reception staff are all lovely and very knowledgeable about the local area and the buses etc

Room Tip: If you want a view go for a 1 bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here for a week August 11. Had a basement studio, which was bit offputting at first because I like to be on a higher floor, however, no security issues at all, and studio was very spacious. Also handy for the pool as only had to go out terrace doors and up 5 steps to be right at the pool so handy for popping in and out during the day. Because room was basement level didn't get the sun at all, but this helped to keep the room temp. comfortable, and as I say up 5 steps you were at the pool anyway which got the sun all day. Room was very clean - maids every day except Sunday, although maybe in need of a bit of updating. Beds among the more comfortable I've slept in on holiday - I certainly slept like a log the whole week. No problem getting sun loungers, although if you were away for more than an hour or so, you could find you towels removed, which is fair enough in high season, but was quiet round the pool. We did get a telling off one day as were away a wee bit longer than we thought, but no complaints really. Pool bar/snack bar ok - food not fantastic, but good enough. Two bars right outside the hotel did smashing breakfasts very cheaply, and the drink prices were also very reasonable in those bars. Because they were so nearby didn't miss not having a hotel bar in the evening. Good location for both the strip and the old town - 15 min walk either way (or 1/2 an hour toddle!!). Receptionist very pleasant when we checked in and all seemed friendly enough. As we know the area didn't really use their knowledge much, but people staying same time as us said they were extremely helpful. Absolutely no problems the whole week - was a bit wary re the bad publicity about muggings etc., but never saw or heard of any trouble, and felt as safe walking home as in previous years. Only got a taxi one night because it was a bit chilly from the Old Town - was 4 euros I think. Drink and food prices varied depending on where you went - we tried to drink during Happy Hours to keep price down, but didn't seem any more expensive that last time we were there 5 or so years ago. Would definitely stay in the hotel again as represented good value for what we paid £350 each inc. flights and transfers.

Room Tip: If you want a view get a 1 bedroom on a higher floor, but for convenience to the pool would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAINEYBIRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nortampton
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very clean, spacious, light and airy apartment. Booked a 1 bedroom but was allocated a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom one when we arrived. Well equiped kitchen, which included a dishwasher. Pool area was well kept, with plenty of space/sun beds. Staff on reception were always very friendly. Lovely sea view. Air conditioned.

Great location about 15 minutes walk to the Old Town and main Strip. Nice walk along the beach to the Old Town. Taxi back from the Strip was 3.90 euros. Loads of nice restaurants and bars within easy reach, but the apartments themselves are in a quiet location.

Albufeira itself was ideal as we were a mixed aged group. Something for everyone. The noisy places didn't feel in your face at all.

Road down to the apartments is a bit of a steep hill, only about 50 yards or so, and no problem if you are able bodied. Might be a worth thinking about if you were in a wheel chair for instance.

We were on the 4th floor (well served by the lifts), they did have a Zero Floor, which didn't appeal to me. Those apartments were slightly below the height of the pool/pool terrace and didn't seem to get the same level of sun on the balcony, I did wonder whether they might be a bit darker inside.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff (Stephen, Gormla, Christopher and Peter), were fantastic, some of the friendliest people you would ever wish to meet. A good continental breakfast was provided from Monday - Saturday although Staff went out of their way to offer something cooked surplus to the continental when possible. Traditional Irish Breakfast was cooked on Sunday mornings which was excellent and Gormla's scones were to die for. The beach was three minutes from the hotel door as well as the shops and Bars. Plenty of traditional musical entertainment in the Bars at weekends. We certainly had the Craic! Thank you for a lovely stay. Fond wishes - Geraldine and Harry Godfrey.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyBean5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at Clube Oceano in Aug '11 and were allocated our one bedroom apartment on 5th floor which had lovely sea view. Beach was 5 mins away at the bottom of the road. Found hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Arranged taxis for us when required, also minibus for a trip to Gale beach which I can highly recommend , lovely flat sandy beach and beautiful rock formations.( We found much needed SMA baby milk at supermarket here, only Aptimol sold everywhere else, if that’s any help to anyone!) The apartments were half way between old town and strip which were 15 mins walk in either direction or approx 4 euros by taxi. Recommend lovely 'eat as much as you can' ribs restaurant in Albufeira Old town which was really good ,I think it was called Shalom2. As you walk into square go to far side, up the slope on the right , then turn right at the top and you will find it a few yards down the street, opposite the kids mini quad-bike rides. We preferred the old town but did visit the strip which has a great restaurant called the Sizzling Stone where you can cook you own steak at the table.(across roundabout at the start of strip) . Don’t miss a trip to Zoomarine. Dolphin, Sealion, Parrot and Diving shows are very good. Also a water rapids ride plus many other rides and attractions make it a great day out.
Overall a great holiday location and lovely clean spacious apartment. Only thing lacking is evening entertainment and bar at the apartments. But still plenty to do and see in Albufeira.

Room Tip: top two floors have best views, lower ones have pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr000per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in the Clube Oceano and were very pleased with our apartment. We had a one bedroom apartment which came with a well equipped kitchen and spacious living / dining room area. Overall the apartment was clean and well air conditioned. The beds were comfortable and maid came every day except Sunday. The staff at the apartment are very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect english. We only spend one afternoon at the pool as we prefer the beach. The pool itself is ok but the sunbeds are not very comfortable...The location of Clube Oceano was perfect for us, half way between old town and bottom of the street. It took us approx 15mins walk into the old town at night, however if you prefer a taxi expect to pay about 4 / 5 euros. You can also walk along the beach during the day into the old town. If you like the beach there is a great beach 5 mins walk down hill. Two sunbeds (padded) & a parasol can be rented for the day for 10 euros, however if you go to old town beach expect to pay 15 euros.
The supermarket just up from the apartments is reasonable enough and has good selection of wine, fresh fruit, breads etc and not overly priced.
Overally would def recommend these apartments to anyone who wants to be within walking distance to the beach and near the old town.

Room Tip: we stayed in one bedroom and it was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairebear876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Oceano

Property: Luna Clube Oceano
Address: Rua Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro | Forte de São João, Albufeira 8200-110, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Oceano 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel apartment Luna Clube Oceano is a friendly and modern 3* complex, located in Albufeira, in the heart of the Algarve, just 100 meters from S. Joao beach. Luna Clube Oceano offers a peaceful location and feature apartments equipped with balcony with pool view. The hotel facilities are ideal for couples and families that wish to be close to the center and the beach, seeking for a friendly service and a relaxing break. Luna Clube Oceano is set on a hill and offer a peaceful location and very close to the beach, where a wide selection of watersports are offered. The local restaurants, bars and shops are all within a short walk and feature a lively nightlife. It offers the ideal location for those who wish to explore the Algarve, or simply relaxing by the pool or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luna Clube Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Oceano Hotel Albufeira
Clube Oceano Aparthotel Albufeira
Luna Clube Oceano Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing