We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Ranked #122 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 5 days. Our room was spotless and very big with a good sized balcony too! Bathroom was clean and everything worked fine. No smell or anything. Staff were very friendly even though we are English, made us feel very welcome and did all they could to help. Entertainment was mostly French but still involved us. The all inclusive drinks were fine as they supplied vodka, gin, rum etc and a daily cocktail, allowed 2 drinks each at a time. Food was ok, lots of choice, included a meat (pork or chicken), pizza, chips, pasta, fish dishes and veg. Also a children's choice. Breakfast included toast, beans, tomato, egg, sausage(hot dog), bacon on some days and pancakes on others. In the 3 star part of the hotel rooms are a 3min walk away from reception down a hill, as is the pool. It is located in a great place (15min walk either way to old town and new town). Not such a family hotel. Great holiday, would stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor in Block B have a good view and not far from main hotel. Block C floor 2 was also very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMc236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    769
    743
    452
    495
See reviews for
858
1,133
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had read all the bad reviews and on past experience of hotels we have been to, took these with a pinch of salt but............................On arrival had to wait a couple of hours for room but were given all inclusive bands and told we could use facilities. Took a lot of exploring before we found pool area as you enter reception on 6th floor and pool area on 1st floor but did eventually manage to find it. Would have asked other guests for directions but 99 per cent seem to be French and not the most approachable!! They are like a club unto themselves and snub any British! We had prepared ourselves for the plastic cups for drinks so that didn't bother us too much but we drink vodka with coke and although I never expected Smirnoff, the "cola" was drinkable if you got a freshly opened bottle but more often than not you got nasty flat as they use 2 litre bottles of the cheapest of the cheap and leave it open until finished! We ended up buying vodka and coke from shop and drinking in room as to be honest unless you are fluid in French, there is no point being at so called entertainment! This never bothered us as entertainment not high on our list of priorities but if it is with you then stay away!! The food was ok (rolls amazing) but unless you're lucky don't expect hot! There is a microwave but why should you have to reheat your food? Most times I had salad rolls and on occasion when chips were hot, a chip butty which got a few odd looks from French, but delish!!!!
The pool bar was the best, staff amazing and toasties, beef rolls, salad, yogurt, crisps available and cake/swiss roll from about 3pm but only open 11am-5pm. Most of the loungers had broken backs so check before using or stay horizontal all day!
To be honest we were glad only to be there for a week because couldn't have stayed longer. It was a cheeky wee fag purchase week and the saving grace of this hotel is that it's central. About 20 mins to old town either along beach or downhill but the hill on way back in heat is exhausting and beach sand very soft so your legs get a good workout! If this is your main hol, spend a bit more and stay elsewhere! It's pretty reasonable to eat out in old town, can't commentate on strip as never went there but again only about 15 min walk. Also no hairdryer in room but for a deposit of 20 euros you can hire from reception. This hotel needs a total refurb and rethink of what they offer guests as at most is a mediocre 2 star hotel .

Room Tip: We were in 102 M1 in main hotel. clean and good access for pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulineKen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hoetelapartments is in a lovely location but thats the best thing about it stayed there for a week in June 2014 and thought i had gone back to the 1970s it is so in need of a up date the first apartment had a lovely sea view but could not have stayed in it was next to a rubbish dump and the smell was unberable, got moved second day after spending nearly all day at the filthy reception area with staff who didnt have a clue what they were doing,the pool area was dreadfull never seen any one cleaning it and not 1 decent sun bed to be found every one was falling to bits,and last of all there was only French speaking entertainment and the people doign it just shouted at the top of there voices so you couldnt sit and have a drink with out putting ear plugs in, if your English stay away from this hotel nice ones near by cause like i say beach and location great, sorry forgot to mention cleaning staff in apartments were very nice and hardworking,but watch out for the wild cats when walking home in pitch black they follow you to your apartments very scary

Room Tip: Apartments on lower block A are the better ones DONT GET ONE IN THE TOP BLOCK B there disgusting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jerseyjune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

When we arrived it was 11.00 and we had to hang about to 3.00 to check In.The reception staff where just ok they showed us to our apartment. The apartment was damp and the bathroom was filthy also we couldn't hang out clothes in the wardrobe because the smell of damp was so bad.The bathroom mirror was broke the shower was filthy and the smell of the bathroom was awful.The bedroom was nice and the balcony had 2 dirty socks on it and a bundle of fag buts.The day after we arrived we found 3 cockroaches and they kept coming out of nowhere so then we went up to reception to complain.They done noting and later on in the night there was another 6.Then we demanded to be moved they moved us to a lovely apartment.It was in a lovely location and the staff where lovely expect reception.They interment was awful.There was a french overload and it seemed they only catered for the French.The pool was clean and kept well there was a stag party and they had beer in the pool and they striped naked and peed In the pool.Overall I don't know if I would go back they need a complete makeover

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lowlow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Poor,don't expect too much,although pool was clean,too many broken singers..food very basic,we were all inclusive,but ate out every night...I don't need to be entertained,but my 4 year old girl likes kids clubs etc, non existent..French well catered for. Great location,beach clean,bar staff friendly enough,,but please can the management read the constructive reviews..the hotel does need serious improvement.multi lingual quizzes in afternoon,not just for the French saga holidaymakers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you are looking for really good weather with clean facilities and good drink selection and quality then I would recommend Monica Isabel. The complex is tired as are the rooms but they are clean. Food ok but struggled to stick with all inclusive 3 times a day and ended up eating out regularly but prices for food and drink in Albufeira old town are cheap. Staff not over friendly but not bad compared to some places I've been to who make you feel like second class citizens when all inclusive. Can walk to Albufeira old town in about 15 mins either on the beach or down the main road which is a nice walk early on or later in the day as gets very hot in June, July, Aug.

Overall was happy for price I paid, plenty of entertainment for kids and only 2 mins from beautiful sandy beach. Would have rated 3 and a half or good.

Room Tip: Head into Albufeira old town for lunch as you will get bored of food if you have all three meals at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Not equipped is no pans no bowls no knives etc. Ask at reception told not on inventory. By a rude. Person. Got a few items but don't go there bad bad bad if your English your ignored. If you want a outdated room you will sure to get one there need good overhaul well pass there sell by date

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.2 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Varandas de Albufeira
Varandas de Albufeira
#136 of 154 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#38 of 48 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monica Isabel Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Isabel Beach Club

Property: Monica Isabel Beach Club
Address: Forte Sao Joao | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-325, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#48 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monica Isabel Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel includes Monica Isabel Beach Club 4 Stars (Aparthotel) and Monica Isabel Beach Club 3 Stars ( Tourist Apartments). It has a privileged location in Albufeira, on Albufeira beach and only 500 meters from “Avenida Sá Carneiro “a popular avenue (better known as The Strip to foreign visitors) which is filled with cafes, bars, restaurants and a wide variety of shops. The Albufeira Resort is central to traditional shopping areas, restaurants and bars from throughout the region and only 1.5 km from the Historic and Cultural Centre of Albufeira, the Mónica Isabel Beach Club offers a variety of services that allow your holiday or short week-end break to be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monica Isabel Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Isabel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Beach Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing