We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oct 31 2013 to 7 Nov 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Ranked #120 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oct 31 2013 to 7 Nov 2013”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We read a lot of reviews about this hotel, before we went there to be honest some were good and some were bad.

There were 3 adults in our party, my wife,daughter of 23 years and myself. We all shared a 1 bed apartment the room was on the ground floor. the room is in need of a lick of paint to bring it to a reasonable standard. the bathroom had mould on the ceiling.Towels were changed and rooms were cleaned on a daily basis.

The bedroom was average with good firm beds which were made up everyday, my daughter slept in the lounge area,where there are 2 convertable beds.

The hot water in the bathroom is limited, on the first day the water went cold during my daughters shower {funny},the hot water is not unlimited, instead of having long showers you need to limit them to short ones. we managed to do this on the next days.

The balcony was in need of serious decoration as it is very shabby.

The kitchen area lacked a kettle and a microwave, but was clean and tidy. There was a fridge in the room.

Generally the apartment was large but in need of refurb to bring it to a decent standard.the tv in the room was very old but we had sky news and bbc news.

Breakfast was the same every day, lunch and dinner was good with a wide variety of meats and fish,my wife is a veggie even she managed to fill her belly.

There were two areas for free wifi. One was a free access to two computers, which was always busy. The other was in the kids area. Signal was quite weak but was good that it was free.

On the downside the coffee machines weren't always working. As we were all inclusive we expected to have full access to these facilities. There were snacks available by the pool (toasties, crisps, salad, icecream, drinks and chips) The chips were only available on one day. The selection for snacks were the same everyday.

The restaurant was located in a different building. We are all (luckily) able people. The hotel isn't wheelchair friendly. To walk to the restaurant the floor area was uneven. For women I wouldn't advise to wear heels as its unsafe. Where our rooms were they were over 3 floors. There weren't any lifts so not good for the elderly/ disabled.

We didnt pay a lot for this holiday but it was worth it. The big plus for this hotel is the location, it is on the beach and a very short walk to the old town. We also had lovely weather, even in November (mid 20s)

Room Tip: I would have a room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurdeep1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    785
    758
    457
    497
See reviews for
874
1,146
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

read some very negative reviews of the Monica Isabel before my holiday and was very aprehensive about the accomodation due to these reviews. My partner and I paid £270 in total for flights, transfers and accom and for that price we werent expecting 5 star quality. But we were plesantly surprised when we arrived. The room was a decent size with a huge balcony!! the room is basic but we werent planning on spending too much time there.
The hotel itself was always clean and the staff very helpful.
The location of the hotel is ideal! right on the beach and situated within walking distance of the Strip and the Old Town.
I just think the places needs some TLC but overall had a really enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe__davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

just got back from monica beach . now where do we start staff are miserable except for. elza on reception desk.. the place needs a full make over its dirty outdated and shoddy . the transfer bus does not arrive to pick you up .its very random.. im no snob i go on loads of cheap holidays to albufieria . and most of the hotels are great . its no where near a 4 star more like a very poor effort to obtain a 1 star . that rating must have been given when it was new . . or some one is getting a back hander ..the owners should be ashamed of them selves they are letting down the tourist industry in there town . the only people who wont mind the stay there are young people in there 20s on a stag or hen party.. when you dont care where you stay when your drunk... the location is excellent for beach and attractions

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnysoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I had booked a week AI during half term and I like many others had read some dreadful reviews so was very apprehensive. We arrived in the pouring rain and I have to say the reception area was looking a bit glum! However we were quickly shown our studio which was fantastic. It was huge clean and quite modern and we could not fibs any fault at all.
The food was absolutely fine. There was enough choice at each meal and no it wasn't fine dining but we hadn't paid fine dining prices. The location is superb and we loved walking into the "old town" and "the strip". The weather was superb all week and we would definitely return. My advice is look at what you have paid before you start writing negative reviews. It was excellent value for money and all the staff that we came into contact with were lovely.

Room Tip: We wherein the main hotel second floor and this was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

just returnd from a short 4 night stay for under £200 with tranfers and all inclusive cant be bad !!! i was just on my own and i enjoyed everything no complaints not like some !!! it is what it is a nice friendly hotel with free busses to strip or old town , room was big and clean , allways food something to eat and drink , staff lovely especialy the to girls in the pool bar . lovely setting you just have to walk along the beach to the old town ( i sat on the front in the old town and was drinking lager for 175 a pint ) !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_b_danks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

arrived on 26th october-2nd november 2013 family of six and we were all inclusive, we arrived before lunch was shown to our rooms after getting lost twice as the place is a maze block m1 105 & 106 and the rest of my family where on another floor,room out dated but clean and spaceious,towels changed and beds MADE each day.food was disgusting same thing morning noon and night, restaurant not very clean,dirty plates,cutlery etc never clean, we took to eating out. the staff was very rude and unhelpful the pool area was filthy as was the in door pool (full of hair) only one working lift,the entertainment at night was very poor the bar service was terrible as only one member of staff serving at the all inclusive bar.the only plus side was that it was close the beach which is beautiful and it was not very far away from the old town which is must to visit,local restaurants where nice and value for money. albufeira is a lovely place to visit and we would return JUST NEVER TO THIS HOTEL TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!! WE AS A FAMILY TRAVEL TO QUITE A LOT OF COUNTRIES WE ARE NOT PETTY MOANERS OR HOTEL ASSASINS. if you are looking for a budget holiday without the kids then place is for you but if you want a nice relaxing family holiday then stay clear of this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you are going here, then get a room/apartment away from the main/dining building, we had apartment 606mi .underneath the dining room, they clean the dining room till gone midnight, you can hear every table drag, every chair scrape, not to mention the kitchen staff arguing ! Hardly 4 stars in my opinion, although service and cleanliness were excellent. the area is excellent with the beach less than a minute walk away, the indoor pool is excellent, Now if you like feeling like cattle being loaded onto a wagon then the buffet style dinner is just the ticket for you. Heard rumours of staff not being paid for 3 months due to a take over bid, so may explain a few things, But overall we will not be stopping at the monica isabel again, Just too basic, air con that didn't work. Portugal yes ......... Monica Isabel . . . . NO

Room Tip: Stay away from the building containing the dinning area, Terrible noise of a night till gone midnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobadob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#67 of 154 in Albufeira
2,852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
2,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#56 of 154 in Albufeira
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monica Isabel Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Isabel Beach Club

Property: Monica Isabel Beach Club
Address: Forte Sao Joao | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-325, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#50 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monica Isabel Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel includes Monica Isabel Beach Club 4 Stars (Aparthotel) and Monica Isabel Beach Club 3 Stars ( Tourist Apartments). It has a privileged location in Albufeira, on Albufeira beach and only 500 meters from “Avenida Sá Carneiro “a popular avenue (better known as The Strip to foreign visitors) which is filled with cafes, bars, restaurants and a wide variety of shops. The Albufeira Resort is central to traditional shopping areas, restaurants and bars from throughout the region and only 1.5 km from the Historic and Cultural Centre of Albufeira, the Mónica Isabel Beach Club offers a variety of services that allow your holiday or short week-end break to be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monica Isabel Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Isabel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Monica Isabel Beach Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing