We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Joinal Villas Apartments
Ranked #88 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a wonderful time!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were very unsure about these apartments as we only read the reviews AFTER booking! If you look deeper into the previous reviews about negative points I think you'll agree that they just had a niggle that obviously ended up spoiling their holiday for whatever reason.

We on the other hand had a wonderful time. Having stayed in hostels to five star hotels over the years and plenty of trips abroad, Joinal villas were comfortable, clean and family friendly. Posted are several photos to give you a better idea of the villas and it's surroundings. The complex is totally enclosed and is well maintained. We even caught the cleaners sweeping the grass of petals and leaves. We also didn't expect a daily maid service, so if you want your beds changed and fresh towels this is the place to be. Reviews on the kitchen have been negative, well I'm a chef and found the facilites perfect for a weeks holiday. There was a basket of fresh food to welcome us (just the basics, coffee, tea, bread, milk, biscuits, etc.), and several large supermarkets close by (make a shop on the way from the airport). Comment on earlier review regarding a dangerous overhead extractor is to be ignored! It is tiled and I'm sure if you wacked it, it's going to hurt but I'm 6'2" and had no problem. The large pool was clean and inviting with a smaller child/baby paddling pool close by. Our kids loved the swings and climbing frame which was a safe area for them to play. They also loved meeting new friends at the complex which gave us time to enjoy ourselves too. There are numerous restaurants, bars and beaches within close poximity. We hired a car wich gave us the freedom to visit the sand sculptures, zoo, marine play park, marina, towns and beaches further afield. All in all this is a place that we would encourage you to stay and we would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Caleolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the joinal villa's. we had some great moments at the joinal but one very bad. the man in charge was the most unwelcoming and my son went to him to ask for toilet roll and the man was very unpoleit to him which we found really rude. the maid service was very clean and very poleit/very nice!

Other than that it was really great!
WeeRuairidh :-)

Room Tip: Don't leave the air conditioning on all night or you will become VERY VERY cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WeeRuairidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Half term week at Joinal Villas. We were very apprehensive given some of the more negative comments we had read, but we were delighted with what we found. The kitchen was tidy, well equipped and once we'd arranged things how we wanted them, we fell into a relaxed holiday routine very quickly. You do really need a car if you're staying here as the local supermarket,whilst handy, doesn't have the range of the Modelo in Albufeira.

The pool and grounds were excellent fun and the whole place had a very nice vibe to it. I'll repeat the comments about the maid service - they were excellent, and deserve a nice tip at the end of your stay!

We had no concerns about security or the alarms - the maids reset the alarm every time they left if we were out. We visited JK's and the sports bar a couple of times, but we like to get out and about so went into Albufeira for meals and days out too.

If we had a couple of gripes, firstly, our double bed was very uncomfortable - mattress was fine, all it needs is a new frame! Secondly, we were not told anything about the toll roads before we travelled or on arrival,and the rep wasn't entirely helpful and so we had to find out / work out how/where to pay the toll charges. However, all in all we would probably go back., if only to see our tame(ish) one eyed sparrow, and those BIG FAT TOES! (family joke!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MushysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Joinal Villas, the place was fantastic, with helpful, friendly staff. We stayed in a very good villa, with really lovely neighbours (lovely to meet you Jayne and Nathan), a perfect site. We would recommend this place, there were none of the problems previously mentioned. The maid service is very good, we too, were impressed that they cleaned the BBQ before we had chance! We sat outside most evenings, and were struck by the total peace and quiet that we experienced. The local bars and restaurants were good, 'JKs' are very helpful, and offer a taxi service to local attractions, 'Amigos' is just a short walk away, and is run by a local couple, who care about offering value for money, and excellent local food.
We look forward to returning here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BOCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just returned from 1 week at joinal villas myself,husband and two children aged 5 and 8. What a fantastic time we all had i had read the other review's and was a little worried regarding the facility's this was unnessasary EVERYTHING was spotless the maids were extremely thourough.This is a fantastic place for the children very secure my only concern was the marble staircase however there are stairgates at the top and bottom. The pool was fantastic slightly cold on entering but fine once in. The pillows were quite flat my husband folded over a blanket to compensate and when we returned the following day the maids had left us extra pillows. We used the bbq a couple of nights and the maids even cleaned that for us. Each patio area has there own gate so this helps with small children. Airconditioning unit worked well, it really was home from home all the basics you need full working kitchen's microwave,dishwasher,washingmachine. We will definatley be returning again highly reccomend it.x

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

just got back from a week at joinal,no refurbishment during winter. Everything is old. Cooking utensils poor they changed frying pan twice and still it could not be used,This place is ok if you have a car and paid very little for your villa. Algale sports bar and jks are just around the corner but apart from these bars,The supermarkets are a good distance away, algale sports bar do a great gin/tonic at very reasonable price and stay open late,If you are a family with children give joinal villas careful thought as there is very little for them apart from the pool and that is small for thirteen villas,bottom line this place is ok if you get very very cheap deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GEOFF I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have stayed at these villas on a few occasions. They really do need an upgrade. Kitchen utensils are really caravan like, kitchen needs a re-fit etc etc. we got the holiday on a very good deal, had we been paying the full price, it would have been a big issue.
As for the rooster, in a neighbouring garden. noisy b***ard, how he has survived so long is a miracle, he only wakes everybody every morning!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.8 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#58 of 154 in Albufeira
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas Rufino
Villas Rufino
#70 of 154 in Albufeira
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
953 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
137 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#102 of 154 in Albufeira
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joinal Villas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joinal Villas Apartments

Property: Joinal Villas Apartments
Address: Praia Castelo/Vale de Rabelho, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Joinal Villas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Joinal Villas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joinal Villas Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Joinal Hotel Albufeira
Joinal Hotel Apartments
Joinal Villas Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing