We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Star Masquerading as a 4 Star.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ondamar Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2 Star Masquerading as a 4 Star.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at the Ondamar Hotel 1st Oct to 8th Oct 2013. I wish to state that I have been to Albufeira twice a year for the past five years. My wife and I both like the place and the people. Each time I have stayed at fabulous hotels which were light years ahead of the Ondamar Hotel in every department.

I stayed in a Studio with my wife it was dated but it was cleaned everyday. Not a Problem.
The Problem was the constant nauseating smell of Sewage and the total lack of Hygiene of the Swimming Pool. I normally go to the beach, but the odd day I might stay by the pool, but not here.

Every Morning you would see clusters of Seagulls and other such birds bathing and dropping there faeces into the swimming pool and surrounding areas. They would remind you of Crop-duster Planes as they dropped their faeces while they flew from and over the Pool area.

Most 4 Star Hotels have these almost invisible thin lines hovering over the pool area to keep the bigger birds at bay, but not at the Ondamar Hotel for some reason.

By the end of the week the water in the pool was cloudy not clear as it should have been.
Not once did I see the pool being Cleaned. It was Disgusting!

I cannot believe people swam in that pool during this period, I just hope they are all OK.

Needless to say I will not be retuning to the Ondamar Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunlovinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    192
    72
    29
    14
See reviews for
139
171
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Ondamar 28 Sept - 5 Oct 2013. Already looking forward to returning next year. The locaton of the apartments for The Strip and Old Town was perfect. The appartments themselves were spacious (stayed in a 1 bed appt), well appointed and very clean. The maids were first class, cleaning the appts and changing the towels every day. Sure there was some noise, but the worst we encountered was from the large complex behind and local youths one morning. Plenty of room around the pool with no shortage of sunbeds. Nice Pool Bar open on the sunny days (which made sense). The presentation of the Evening Meals in the restaurant were a joy to behold. Creme Brulee to die for. As one gets used to the layout it is easy to get around the Ondamar, abeit having to negotiate a flight of steps down to the pool area. The Reception, maids, bar staff etc were always very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for the second time and wow how they managed to exceed our expectations yet again!
Staff are so friendly and welcoming.
Room 007 was an upgrade and so spacious in comparison to the studio we booked last time. Rooms are a tad dated but the beautiful pool view makes it un necessary,
The only adjustment we could suggest is entertainment in the hotel was nil but then again you're only a 10 minute walk from both the strip and old town!
The bar has been updated since our last visit but Andreas cocktails were still as amazing as last year!
As a young couple it was a perfect choice especially on a budget!
Couldn't recommend the hotel enough.
Thanks to the ondamar team.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at Ondamar aparthotel 19-26 sept 2013. great hotel, the apartment accommodation was large/spacious, spotlessly clean and was cleaned&/towel changes every day, Staff throughout the hotel from reception to maid service etc was excellent, very friendly.
Fabulous pool area with great pool bar area and staff were great, lovely tranquil garden area too.
we stayed B&B, and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food as it was English hot breakfast of simple bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs and beans, nicely cooked and prepared and also the usual Portuguese cold buffet breakfast too,both tasty and no complaints
10 minute straight walk to the strip, and approx 15 min downhill stroll to old Town, or approx 4 euros in taxi. I would recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: ask for street level or above as all rooms have pool view, but from the balcony the pool area is 2 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the ondamar hotel in September for 4 nights, at check in we were given apartment 124. As we came out at the top of the stairsb behind reception we could faintly hear a humming noise, as we got closer to our room the noise was so loud. Inside the bedroom with the shutters & windows closed the noise was still clear to hear. Apartment 124 & surrounding apartments are directly facing the Paraisio Hotel & it appeared to me the noise we were subjected to is there generators or airconditioning system r something similar. It sound like a tractor running idle constantly only more so at night as there is no other noise around to drown it out. At 8:00am the Paraisio lawnmowers are clear to hear & shortly after that the pool radio can be heard. From the balcony of the aprtment to the right there is a big steel tank that also makes noise to the left is the pool house which also makes noise. I totally understand that hotels need this type of equipment but when nothing is done to ensure they do not disturb guests holidays. Both of these noises were not too difficult as the bedrooms are away from these. The moment we arrived at the partment we went back to reception requesting a new apartment due to the noise, we were told the hotel was fully booked & could not move for 2 nights. The next morning we again went to reception & Hugo who was most helpful told us the hotel is aware of the noise & have raised it with the town council. We did move apartment after 2 nights to the other side of the hotel no. 109, apart from traffice noise this apartment was fine. Ondamar Hotel really need to do some major sound proofing of apartments facing The Paraisio, only that we had prepaid through a third party for our stay I would not have paid for the 2 nights we were in no. 124. The size of the apartments are very good and very well maintained, the location is also a bonus but the noise is totally unacceptable. These apartments are not suitable for restful, enjoyable & relaxing holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank yayao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in the Ondamar hotel for 10 days with my family in September. We previously stayed here back in August 2012 and it was brilliant! Which is why we booked again. When we stayed there this time, it was nowhere near the standard it was previously at. The pool area and pool side was never cleaned and it was black with dirt. The bins were over flowing and the smell of suage was disgusting. We, along with another family we met who stayed there, had an ear infection due to the dirty pool water. The water fountains were never switched on, and the atmosphere in the bar was horrible. No entertainment what so ever! We made our way to the indoor pool on a day which was quite cold, and we found a crab in the indoor pool! It was literally crawling along the bottom. We brought it to the attention of the reception staff and they said they would send someone down to remove it. We literally were shocked, we couldnt believe there was a crab in the pool! Indoor pool! Which means it probably wasnt cleaned in a while. The equipment in the GYM doesnt even switch on! We orderded a big meal in the snackbar and i was 3 cent short and the bar staff refused to serve us our food until we got the 3 cent. After spending over 2,000 at the hotel, dont you think they would let you off with 3 cent? They were horribly rude. Rooms are very dated, but in all fairness, they were very clean, and maids were in every 2 days. But apart from that the stay was honestly dissapointing. Location was great though, but it was near the road, our hotel room, so it was noisy. Never again though, honestly the hotel has gone downhill.. Big time! I do NOT reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayLover2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Great that it is about 10\15 minute walk from both the new two on the left of they Hotel and the same distance if you take a right when u come out if the hotel to go to the old town , great location , wifi all over the hotel in lobby and it's not bad 20 euro for the week to pay for Wifi in the room , you don't mind paying that , never ate in the hotel so I can't say what the food is like went from a one bedroom to a two bedroom appartment way more spacious and worth the extra money , loved the pool but need more holiday chairs as ppl tend to put towels down on the early in the morning and go away for the day so when u come down all the bed are taken !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#95 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#18 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#50 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#94 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#24 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondamar Aparthotel

Property: Ondamar Aparthotel
Address: Rua Miguel Torga, Albufeira 8201-918, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ondamar Hotel presents you with the best Algarve has to offer! On vacation or on a weekend away, enjoy the comfort of our facilities, the quality of our service and the professionalism of our staff. Sun, beach, pool and entertainment are the characteristics of this region, making it welcoming even in mid- winter. In 10 years of existence we have followed one goal only: your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ondamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondamar Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Ondamar Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing