We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal apartment in a great location- a lovely holiday :-)”
Review of Ondamar Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ranked #41 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal apartment in a great location- a lovely holiday :-)”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Ondamar Aparthotel in September and had a really lovely stay. The apartments were ideally located, just a 20min walk from the lovely old town / beachfront bars and restaurants. The choice of bars restaurants was great and there was a great atmosphere.
If you're looking for a more lively night there is also the new town strip a 15min walk.
Great time of year as the weather was great at c.28-29degrees and only one day was cloudy whilst we were there.

The apartment was really large and spacious, very well equipped with everything you need for your stay. It was cleaned every day. The hotel pool area was really lovely with a large pool, children's pool and pool bar for drinks as snacks. The hotel staff were helpful and polite... Very impressed with the level of service.

Overall we had a fantastic break in Albufeira at the Ondamar and would thoroughly recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimbleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    204
    79
    30
    14
See reviews for
147
183
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed in Ondamar for 1 week from 27 September 2012. Arrived around noon and knew that check-in was around 4. reception staff very pleasant & helpful. They took my mobile number and said that they would phone me when the room was ready. They advised me not to answer the call as this might incur a charge. I was free to use the hotel facilities as soon as I had checked in. I was able to leave my luggage in the hotel and set out to explore.
Ondamar is situated about 10 minutes from The Strip and about 15-20 minutes from the Old Town and about 20 minutes from the nearest beach. There is a shuttle bus available 3 times a day to the beach and the Old Town.
I duly received the call from the hotel and returned to discover that I had been upgraded from a studio to a one-bedroomed apartment. The view over the pool and gardens was welcoming and the sun shines here from noon til sunset. The apartment provided everything you could possibly need - 4 ring cooker & oven, toaster, kettle, microwave, sufficient cutlery and crockery. The apartments were very clean, with cleaners coming every morning. There is a Spar just a few minutes from the hotel, though stocks were low - presumably preparing to close for the winter. There are also 2 other small spermarkets close by.
Overall, Ondamar provided a perfect haven for a relaxing holiday. The weather was lovely - mid 20s. I did not eat in the hotel or use the bar - too many alternatives outside. I visited the indoor pool and gym area and it appeared well equipped, though I am not a gym person. I would certainly recommend the Ondamar. I would suggest that it is suitable for all - couples and families particularly. There are 2 swimming pools, including a children's pool. Go there and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here the middle of September for a girls week away. Check in was quick and they have 24 hour reception which was handy as we were late arriving. The only issue was they did not have any security boxes available until our 3rd day which was annoying. We got a two bed apartment which was really spacious had two separate rooms and bathrooms. The apartments were really clean and towels changed every day which was brilliant.
Pool area was spacious and we got sun beds everyday. If it was peak season doubt we would have been as lucky. We hired the towels for the pool which was handy as changed them every day.
Didn't eat in the hotel or go to the bar here so can't comment on that.
We went to either the old town or the strip every night for food and going out. We did eat in the Chinese across the road from the hotel one night was ok but not fabulous.
The strip is really lively and full of disco bars. Wild and co at the end of the strip is really good they had a band playing every night. Food upstairs was nice as well.
The old town was good fun also with a mixture of different bars. The hotel is within walking distance of the strip but would get a taxi back at night. We got a taxi to the old town every night we went there for €4. Food was good where ever we ate would def return to albufeira again and would stay in the ondamar.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I were so impressed with this place we've decided to return next year. This is unusual for us as we normally like variety. So that's a measure of how much we enjoyed our stay. Ok, it could do with a bit of tlc here & there, but it's very far from shabby. The view from our balcony each morning was up-lifting to say the least. We had a room on the second floor over-looking the pool & gardens, what better way to start the day? It had all you need for self catering, though a starter pack with a few essentials (washing up liquid, milk, etc.) would have been nice.

The staff are very courteous & seemed to welcome enquiries. They were most helpful, giving advise when we arrived and throughout our stay. We were free to use the hotel's facilities after we vacated our room, our flight was mid evening, so on the last day we stayed by the pool & used the showers and changing rooms near the gym.

We managed to find loungers by the pool each time we used it, but I'm guessing they disappear quickly when the hotel's at its busiest. There's always the grass to lie on. The hotel provide pool towels too for a small deposit.

The only slight discomfort we had was the noise from the road at night, but there's not a lot the hotel can do about that. We were on the side away from the Chinese & possibly the other side may have been quieter.

We didn't use the bar or the restaurant, so can't comment on them.

We took advantage of the free shuttle bus down to the old town several times & got taxis back later on (not expensive 4-5 euro). It's about a twenty minute down hill walk. The "Strip" is about ten minutes walk. The beach is quite a distance, but the shuttle goes there too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel! Staff are extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The Chinese opposite the hotel is the best ive ever had. Your slap bang in the centre of the strip and the old town, the location is perfect. The hotel its self is chilled and perfect for a couples holiday as well as for families. The rooms are kept constantly clean with the cleaners bringing fresh towels each day. The gym isn't great but.... who cares. The hotels great and im already looking at booking to go back despite getting off my flight 2 hours ago!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the bar which was a bit of an eye sore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just stayed here for the second time we like its location as it is 10-15 minutes walk to the old town and about 10 mins to the new. The gardens in the hotel are lovely and and the rooms are provided with just about everything. I dont think it is a 4 star it does need some updating but i would definately stay there again. The rooms are very clean and the bar prices are good for a hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in a studio last time and thought it was quite big and excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Once you've chosen your accommodation I know it's difficult to accept what appears a negative review, but I'd ask you to consider this realistic. The overall complex is far from 4 star, especially when compared to surrounding 4 star hotels. The soft furnishings in both the communal and private areas are somewhat outdated and are in need of replacing. At best the rating could be more realistic at the lower end of a 3 star rating scale. If you think you’d enjoy the amenities of both the new and old towns of Albufeira then the complex is ideally located, as its mid way between both, but not convenient to either. The upside is the staff inclusively is really pleasant and more than helpful, especially young Ana at reception, As mentioned in previous reviews there is a serious lack of sun loungers even in September. If you really want to get to know your partner better than I suggest the studio accommodation, as you’ll be living 24/7 on top of each other especially at bed time when you need to fold the limited width double bed out from the wall cupboard and would suggest a crash course in synchronized swimming might be useful, as similar co-ordination may be required when trying to sleep (if one turns, all turn). Overall the accommodation is liveable with if expecting lower 3 star accommodation or below, but not at the price it cost for our 10 day stay. For those who have rated this as great 4 star accommodation, then I'd question if they’ve ever stayed in 4 star hotels or apartments previously.

Room Tip: Stay well away from studio accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#102 of 154 in Albufeira
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondamar Aparthotel

Property: Ondamar Aparthotel
Address: Rua Miguel Torga, Albufeira 8201-918, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ondamar Hotel presents you with the best Algarve has to offer! On vacation or on a weekend away, enjoy the comfort of our facilities, the quality of our service and the professionalism of our staff. Sun, beach, pool and entertainment are the characteristics of this region, making it welcoming even in mid- winter. In 10 years of existence we have followed one goal only: your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ondamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondamar Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Ondamar Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing