We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great holiday but slightly disappointed...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ondamar Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great holiday but slightly disappointed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have just returned from a 9 night stay with a friend. Upon arrival we were told we couldn't check in till 4pm, this was my fault as we were there by 10am on the flights I'd booked! We had a look around and everything seemed nice, we sat round the pool till 4pm waiting for our room to become available.
When we got in our room it seemed nice enough other than the bed. Our bed was a small double pull down from out of a wardrobe. Being two single early 20s lads, this was not ideal. My friend went to reception to see if they had any put up beds or even other rooms with a twin. We were told nothing could be done and that there were "bunkbeds" too... the said bunkbeds was a sofa with a wooden shelf above it fastened between two walls. I'm not sure it could hold my cats weight, let alone mine. However, we just put up with the double bed. Three other gripes were no air con, strange for a "4 star" hotel... I ended up stealing a fan out of the maids cupboard. Our fridge packed up after a few days so we could store nothing in it. Lastly, there was a purposely cut hole in the wall out to the balcony which ended up in us getting eaten alive by mosquitos.
We found the pool area really nice and the pool bar very reasonable. Also location was ideal for us, a stagger to the strip or short taxi to the old town. Oura beach was within walking distance and the hotel laid on a shuttle bus to Fishermans beach.
This does sound like a really negative review but the few things mentioned really let it down. My friend and I still had a great holiday, however, I was expecting more from a "4 star" hotel. The strange thing was the lack of guests using the main bar / restaurant... literally not a soul in there most nights?!
Had two bad meals to report, one being in the restaurant next to the Rock Cafe in Old town main square and one in Fredi's on the strip... awful! Went back to Neto's which is a short walk down towards Santa Eulalia and had the 3 best meals of the holiday... the staff even recognised us form last year. There's also a new cocktail bar down that road (up the strip, turn left at Oura beach roundabout and follow the road down) which was really nice and they'd quite clearly invested money into it, didn't eat there so cannot comment on that.
Overall, I think our holiday was as good as we'd been before, not the same hotel, but we knew where everything was etc which meant we could spend less time in our hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACSlater-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    192
    72
    29
    14
See reviews for
139
171
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed here for a week in May 2011 with friends on half board basis. Rooms are spacious and very clean, room service and clean towels everyday, room service staff very friendly. So if you are planning on staying here then my advice is book room only as the food is not just bad it is just AWFUL. Food is brought in by a catering company every day and is left in containers for hours, chicken pieces in oil, brocolli and cauliflower every evening, very little choices and poor quality. Management were just not interested when we complained and made no effort to make any improvement.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariancarolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal, ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Myself and 2 friends stayed in the Ondamar in August 2010 and have no problem recommending it to everyone. We were there for 7 nights and had a great time. No complaints whatsoever. It was walking distance from both the strip and also the old town. Very clean and the staff were really helpful. The pool was great really big. And there were plenty of sun loungers around the pool that you didnt need to be up at 7am to put your towel on one. Loads to go around. Although we went peak season the hotel was still very quiet. Great for families, couples or groups of friends. No complaints.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank natasha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Arrived for easter at the Ondamar. The 1 bed apartment was larger than expected, very clean, cleaned every day. Hotel is ideal, about half way between the Strip and the Old Town. Staff very friendly. Pool clean. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WendyB49_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were astounded to find such a big and spacious apartment for 2 people. it had everything we needed and was very clean, with a huge balcony overlooking the pool to the left and the beautiful gardens and waterfalls on the right. The supermarket was a 10 minute walk away and had everything you could possibly have needed for a self-catering holiday. The new town of Albufeira was a 10 minute walk away, great bars on the strip but not too crazy like Magaluf etc which was perfect for what we wanted from the nightlife. The old town was a 5 minute taxi journey and was pretty with cobbled streets, restaurants and bars. We recommend the restaurants on the sea front for a romantic setting with some really tasty food. The beach was a 15 minute walk away but there is a free bus that regularly takes people to and from the beach at the hotel which was very convenient. The pool was very big and there were always plenty of sunbeds available. All in all a fantastic holiday and I would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: go self catering for great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amyd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Stayed for 10 nights in October, very impressed with the room size as booked a studio so wasnt expecting anything special, good facilities for self catering with full oven and microwave, toaster, kettle and even a dishwasher! was on ground floor with balcony overlooking the pool which had sun most of the day, although the weather was lovely and sunny all the time we were there the pool was freezing!!! but fortunately there is a warm indoor pool, and a great jacuzzi which is as hot as a bath! we did not use the restaurant at all so can not comment on the food, all the staff were really friendly and we also made use of the free shuttle bus down to the old town which was a 25 minute stroll away, The old town was lovely both day and night with many restaurants and bars, some with entertainment and it has a great charm about it. The Strip is a 15 minute stroll away, this also has many restaurants and bars but this is more of a club feel to it, we preferred the old town. There are a couple of bars local to the hotel which we used mostly, Fat Cats is an english bar just up from the hotel (right out of hotel and then left at the junction and it is on the left) Good food and great atmosphere in there with a quiz twice a week and Karaoke on Fridays, friendly staff, very welcoming. Also Angelus Bar oposite was a good night with karaoke and quiz, great friendly people, made up of holiday makers and ex pats. The Chinese just outside the hotel to the left is also a nice place to eat, bit pricier than the UK but a nice meal. Would definitely return to this hotel and the bars around it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellsinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Good check in. Amazed at large size of our one bed apartment.Very clean and recently decorated. Beds comfortable.Good location, easy stroll to strip, max 20 minutes walk to Old Town. Great pool area. Downsides : Bar no atmosphere, bin lorries emptying skips at 3.00am every morning ! But still recommend Ondamar. Nearby : Fantastic chinese restaurant across the road, best mixed grill ever at Ramos restaurant (next to Costa Rica rest.) on the strip. Very good stay all round.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.0 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#95 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#18 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#50 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#94 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondamar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondamar Aparthotel

Property: Ondamar Aparthotel
Address: Rua Miguel Torga, Albufeira 8201-918, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ondamar Hotel presents you with the best Algarve has to offer! On vacation or on a weekend away, enjoy the comfort of our facilities, the quality of our service and the professionalism of our staff. Sun, beach, pool and entertainment are the characteristics of this region, making it welcoming even in mid- winter. In 10 years of existence we have followed one goal only: your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ondamar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ondamar Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Ondamar Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing