We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Varandas de Albufeira
Ranked #137 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at new year. Got it really cheap and for wot we paid it was really good. Foodd ok not loads of selection but always something we could eat. Lad behind the bar was a star. We had a huge room overlooking the pool. Hotels is great location for old town and strip. Would go again if got another cheap deal. Poss not four star but you only get wot you pay for

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and you are always welcome to return again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 910 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Still currently staying at the hotel. Hotel is basic due to low season but staff all friendly despite guests trying to turn everyone against them. Compared to other hotels we have seen its not as bad as people make out. Its clean (exvept the pool). Yes a little dated but so is the whole area. Food is questionable with lack of choice but apart from that you cant fault it. You get what you pay for. Its cheap so why people expext the hilton is beyond me.. guests are rowdy especially the spanish we had for 4 nights. Thinking they rule the world but that is no fault of the hotel. I would return in season as the area has limited activities out of season. Did meet some lovely people and the odd drunk ol' timer who we shan't mention.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Arrived at 11 and had to wait till 2 for our room to be ready bearing in mind the hotel was nealy empty. The room wasn't too bad, liked the fact that it had a well equiped kitchen area. cleanng was erratic and questinable. Food was abysmally disgusting. Pork served every day and when we informed them that we did not eat pork they were less than bothered. There was always a second dish of fish each meal BUT that was covered in ham or bacon too.....go figure!! We eat only bread and rice for 2 days then tokk to the pizza hut up the road. The guy in the restaurant was rude the drinks that came with the all inclusive was flavoured paint stripper by the taste of it and the guests were either young men who got very drunk and loud or very rude elderly people who took to moving our drinks etc...off the table we were sitting at so they could sit there! We did meet a few nice people who we could see felt as we did I.e the couple from Birmingham and the gentlemen who returned my handbag I left on a chair.

Go somewhere else it's not even you get what you pay for they behaved like they were doing us a favour not like we had had for our stay.....hmmmmmmmm1

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank integrity33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
The food is freshly made, served as a buffet to try satisy all. It is not true that the meals are pork everyday, we have a seven day set menu so we do not repeat meals during the same week and adding a few extras on.
We are also sorry you found staff to be rude, we all do our very best to provide a 4 star service and make sure guests have an enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Can't comment on the all inclusive .... Only stayed on a room only basis... And thank god for four nights only.... Room 208 very tired and bare and cold!! Had to ask for control to heater and for clean towels.. Tried twice to get served in bar area and waited too long for staff to appear... 4 stars ? Our room was not! Would not return to here , however Portugal is lovely

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry you were dissapointed with your stay, staff do their very best to make sure guests have an enjoyable stay.
We will be looking further into why the member of staff at the bar was not serving for so long, he is always at the Bar ready to take guests orders.
The Hotel may be a little dated in some opinions however is kept maintained and clean.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed @ the Varandas de Albufeira from Jan 19th - Jan 30th 2014. We were impressed by the size of our room (308) and the size of the balcony. There was plenty of food and drink, the hotel was very clean. During our stay my husband had the misfortune to be be ill and ended up in Faro hospital. I cannot thank the staff enough for all they did, calling an ambulance, sorting out bus time tables, phoning the hospital for updates on my behalf. so special thanks to Iuri and Michalla on reception and Pedro in the bar without their help I don't know how I would have coped. Thanks once again guys you all deserve gold medals for your excellent customer care. regards Sandra M Clifford.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SandraClifford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and sorry to hear your husband was not well, the staff all send their regards and welcome you to stay again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband & I just spent 6 weeks here & it was brilliant. Comfortable rooms, good food,spotless clean & best of all was the staff. Andre & Paul in the dining room, Pedro in the bar & all the rest but the jewel in the crown was Michaella on reception .Everyone was so nice we are going back
next month for other 4 weeks. We had 10 holidays last year ,thats 10 different hotels & this is the only one we are going back to.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank betty610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you had an enjoyable long stay at the Varandas De Albufeira, Management and staff hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nóbrega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is the first time I have felt I need to write a negative review. I do not know whether it was the time of year (just returned last night) but this hotel was just awful. Arrived mid evening but was told evening meal still being served, however in the dining room (like a works canteen) all meat trays were empty, when I asked the sole member of staff if any more was coming he shrugged his shoulders and walked away. Although we were AI we ended up eating out for all meals.
The only thing I liked about this hotel was the evening barman who really made an effort but could not make much of a difference as he was on his own with several jobs to do. Would definitely not go back.

Room Tip: I do not think they have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and sorry you believe you were given bad service from a member of staff, Management will look further into this situation.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#123 of 154 in Albufeira
2,936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#89 of 154 in Albufeira
3,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,323 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 48 in Quarteira
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varandas de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas de Albufeira

Address: Lote Rua do Indico, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $31 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varandas de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Varandas de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Varandas De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Varandas De Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Varandas De Hotel
Varandas De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing