We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous holiday don't listen to the whingers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Varandas de Albufeira
Ranked #138 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have just returned from a fantastic week in Portugal.
The hotel was clean although a little old fashioned decor wise a lick of paint would soon sort it out.
All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly to me and my 9year old son especially Carlos in the bar he was my sons favourite.
There was a good choice of food all day long put it this way if you cannot find something you like then you are very fussy!!!!!.
The pool area was lovely plenty of tables and chairs, yes the sunbeds need replacing but a cheap lilo makes all the difference.
All in all we both had a great holiday there and would love to return one day.
Thankyou everyone at Varandas de Albufeira!!! Xx

Room Tip: We stayed in 517 at the front of hotel it was cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 927 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just got back from 5 days at this hotel.

first impressions of the hotel are not so good, we were the people on the coach saying 'I hope this isn't our hotel' but of course it was. The room was clean and tidy with a flat screen TV with a few English channels which was nice.

The restaurant is downstairs in the basement? With windows looking out into the pool - an odd leg or two could be seen whilst eating your dinner! The food was not good considering the 4 star rating. It was cold - they must have known this as a microwave was available! The salad was the best bet! The waiters work especially hard, it seems that the two of them do everything, from cleaning, working behind the bar, work in the restaurant...on one occasion staffing was even less than usual - where plates and cups were not being provided - this ended up with people including ourselves making a cup of tea in a soup bowl!

There is no entertainment on offer at the hotel, the bar is very small with a small balcony area over looking the pool.

The location of the hotel is not bad. To the left you can walk 15 minutes to the old town, cobbled streets, bars, shops. To the right a 20 minute walk to 'The strip' very much like the bar strip found in Magaluf - lots of bars and pubs!

We had extremely nice weather for Oct/Nov time however, don't think we'll be going back to Portugal in a hurry! If you are thinking about going to stay at this hotel, go with an open mind and understand that it really isn't a 4 star hotel - 2 star at a push!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marshall594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

just spent five wasted days in this hotel although hotel was clean i woke up to water dripping on me through the ceiling, the food was awful, the staff were not friendly and it rained for 4 days out of 5 won't be in any hurry to go back to portugal did not enjoy it at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMP20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one week and had an amazing time. Our room was on the same floor as the access to the swimming pool which was great as we could just wake up get some food and go straight to the pool. All the staff was friendly and very helpful.
It is a good hotel but nothing too fancy, don't expect to pay this price and get a 5* hotel!

The Room

After reading some reviews of this hotel I was not expecting much but it was the cheapest we could get at the time. When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised as the room was tidy and smelled like it had been recently cleaned.
We noticed there were only 2 chairs at the dining table so we asked for an extra one at the reception which they promptly gave us.
The 2 main beds seemed good. The extra bed was not the comfiest ever but it was still pretty nice.
The kitchenette was good and we were able to cook all our meals there. The mini fridge has a little freezer. There were enough plates, cutlery, mugs and glasses for the 3 of us. There were two pots but no frying pan. There was no cooking knife so we had to use the bread one. There was a kettle and a small portable hob.
The bathroom was spacious and the shower was better than some in other 4* hotels I have been to. We had a tiny problem in the beginning as the shower head was leaking but that quickly got fixed by the maintenance staff.
Towels were changed 3 times and were always nice and clean.

The hotel in general

We did not go to the restaurant so I can't comment on that. The bar was small but friendly and the barman was really nice as well. There is no animation in the hotel but to be honest both the strip and the old town have enough going on.
The swimming pool was really good and there were loads of inflatable lilos that you could just borrow. The sunbeds do need a replacement ASAP but all the rest was really good.


Albufeira

There was a big supermarket 2 minutes walk away from the hotel which meant we could do our shopping in small amounts.
The old town has a great beach and the sea is really calm and warm. At night there's loads of night-life the streets are full of people walking or sitting down having cocktails. There are plenty of shops and they are open until late. You can come in and out of the bars as you please.

We spent a day at Zoomarine and bought our tickets with a 20% discount from the supermarket near the hotel (the transfer to zoomarine was also really close to the hotel and on the way back we got a taxi for 16 euros)
We also booked a boat trip to see the coast line and the caves which is really amazing! (I recommend belize II).


Overall I had a great holiday and it was really cheap... so great value for money!

Room Tip: We had a room on the bottom floor which meant we could just walk in and out of our room and we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HolidayGirl218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

People on here seriously moan way to much! We went all inclusive for a week in August & there were no problems. Rooms were standard; not an english 4* but still nice!

Food was full english or continental breakfast, dinner was always different meats, fish, pasta, salad, chips, potatoes with wine & beer, desserts etc. No complaints at ALL; people just obviously too fussy that post on here!
Supermarket across the road along with bars,cafes etc. 10 min walk to strip & old town 5 min taxi away both of which were lovely!
Pool a bit small but the beach is also very close. Staff were lovely couldn't do enough for us, i left an ear ring in the room which i couldn't find after going home and the receptionist went to the room when we left and posted it back to england..VERY happy great service!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amy1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a 2 week hoilday all in. The rooms were clean & tidy & spacious with all facilities .The location of the hotel was perfect with the strip a walk away one side and the old town a walk away the other .But no need to walk taxi only 3 -5 euros or a train for 4 euros all day .The staff were all very helpfull & polite.The food was not always the best but you had lots of choice .All in all the hotel was good value for money but would benifit from a small refurb .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markviks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week holiday and stayed at this small and friendly hotel. Appartment was very spacious with dinning table and chairs and a well equiped kitchinette with hob, microwave, toaster and larder fridge with ice making compartment. Bathroom nice size containing a toilet, bidet, shower, bath, hand sink and an hairdryer. 2 very large beds with bedside tables and lamps with a flat screen tv showing English programmes. Air conditioning was included. There was a small but adequate sized balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool. Lovely sized clean pool with a large terrace. Food and drink were plentiful catering for all tastes breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner.A large television lounge with a pool table and a bar lounge with sports tv. Outside there was a varanda to enjoy your drinks with a smoking area. Rooms cleaned every day, beds made up and fresh towels daily. Sheets were chainged 3 times. Reception staff are very welcoming, helpful and informative. Bar staff friendly and welcoming. Maid service fantastic. Ideal location central to the old/new town and the beach and strip. Taxis very cheap and a good service from the land train at 4 euros for the whole day. Adjacent to a supermarket, take-aways and resteraunts. Would recommend a stay here. Needs a little cosmetic work on the furniture and need more sunloungers. FANTASTIC HOLIDAY.

Room Tip: Second floor ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
3,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belavista Avenida
Belavista Avenida
#101 of 154 in Albufeira
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#31 of 154 in Albufeira
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varandas de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Indico 14, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $23 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varandas de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Varandas de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Varandas De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Varandas De Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Varandas De Hotel
Varandas De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing