We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Varandas de Albufeira
Ranked #137 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just returned after spending 2 weeks here. Overall we found it a very pleasant and relaxing holiday. The food became a bit boring but they did try to cater for all tastes, the salads were always crisp and fresh and different pasta and meat dishes every day.
The rooms were clean and towels changed regularly - very understaffed with the barman trying to run the bar and clear tables in the restaurant (on a different floor) at the same time. besides emptying bins and sweeping and mopping bar areas.
Full credit to.the lovely Carlos and Pedro who both worked so hard,also Michelle a very good receptionist always helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 935 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

hi
just back from a week at this hotel
we had a great time
after reading reviews were not sure but people are just too fussy
room clean large ac tv kitchenette
towels change second day rota
room cleaned daily
food good hot and plentiful
all staff good and friendly
two let downs sunbed quality and no ac in bar area
would recommend and would probably return
close too strip and old town
good value for money
thanks

Room Tip: pool view quiet holiday no entertainment very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ac123Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Have just arrived home from 6 nites at this "hotel".Thank God,we didn't book longer..We arrived at 2.30am.We was all just wanting to fall into bed,but no luck.On going up to our room,the beds were unmade,the bed for my granddaughter had no bedding,,so we went to reception,were we stood for 20 mins while bedding was found.Cleaniless didn't pay a big part here either.The pool area was dirty,with broken beach balls and air beds,full litter bins and the sun loungers were a joke.The food was disgusting,unedible rubbish and always cold..There was no entertainment,just a constant stream of football on the t.v.The seating was shabby and ripped.The reception area was dirty,with shabby rugs.There was no iron in the room,upon going to reception,we found there was only 1 for the whole hotel and it took 3 days to get to use it...One good point was the staff,who were friendly and helpful.I don't usually complain about my holidays,but the price we paid for this,i'm sure we was ripped off.This is classed as a 4 star hotel,personally I wouldn't rate it with one..I did read reviews on this place before we went but thought it was a mixed bag,so took a chance.The bad reports are spot on.Even the shower kept tipping to face the wall when we were trying to use it,no matter how much we tightened it...If your thinking of booking this hotel,i'd seriously give it a miss

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 10 days , and honestly wished we'd booked for 14. Did have a slight problem with the first room they put us in ( the air conditioning from the room above made an awful noise and we couldnt sleep ) but they moved us to a different room the same night after my partner complained. The room was acceptable, nice bathroom, double balcony with pool view and constant all day sun. Cleaners come everyday except sundays to give u fresh towels, tidy up a little and make your bed. however they only give you clean sheets once a week. Air conditioning worked brilliantly - and was much needed even when we stayed it was 35/35 degrees on a few days.
We were all inclusive , but found that some things were restricted - bar was open till midnight but drinks were charged after 11pm, and restricted to only a few choices ( local versions ) .
Their measures of spirits were NOT restricted however and very often we had to stop the bar man as it was usually a case of a glass of vodka with a dash of coke lol !
Food was good, a fair amount of choice for the size of the hotel. Breakfast had the usual toast/jam/ cereal selection, tea coffee , juice , continental breakfast and full english. Lunch and dinner always consisted of one fish dish , one meat , and one vegetatarian , with a selection of salads and deserts and an ice-cream station.
All in all it was an ideally placed hotel in albufeira - 2 minute walk to the supermarket and the main road with the old town/beach/nightlife ten minutes one way , and the infamour "strip" ( aka portuguese blackpool) ten minutes walk the other way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorna M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where to start? Self catering? If you count 1 electrical socket for toaster, kettle and microwave - ok, but the hotplate (yes that's right) didn't fit on the minimal counter so we had to put it on the dining table. Very cheap and nasty cutlery etc. Schooner rigged.
Housekeeping? Sometimes and minimal. TV? very small with about 4 English channels, mostly fuzzy. Beds? Had a bad back for 2 weeks as they are very old and soft - they changed the bed linen once in 2 weeks. Reception - often unmanned, lots of waiting around.
Pool - very deep with a broken ladder at the deep end, I couldn't get out except at the shallow end. Sunbeds had no mattresses and were VERY dirty, no shade around the pool and few umbrellas.
Would we stay here again? NO WAY! We booked through Deal of the Day and their arrangements were all fine - but this hotel is dreadful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenvoewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 week S/C basis & had these observations. LOCATION - Excellent, its main attraction for me - 10mins walk to old town, just off the main road but not that much noise (which is far nicer than the strip which is 15-20min walk). VALUE - paid £350 which I thought was fair, if you pay much more, you are overpaying IMO. ROOM - 2 twin beds, TV 10 channels, 5 English, Kitchenette & bath / shower, balcony (not sun trap) safe box (15 euro a week with 20 deposit returned which I feel is always better to have it), air con - good but to noisy at night to use. S/C facilities were OK but a bit sparse - 2 ring portable hob, kettle, toaster, micro but very few utensils (had to ask for chopping board & frying pan which I got). CLEANLINESS - OK maid came every 2 days & changed rubbish & made bed but don't think any mopping of floors was done? LOCAL AMENITIES - a few shops 2 mins away with usual tourist stuff but a great supermarket (called Continentalle) 2 mins to the left of hotel - lots of healthy choice & reasonable too - theres also a LIDL & ALDI 10min walk up main road to the left so cooked my own food most of the time & eat out twice. STAFF - Friendly & although not always on reception, were not far away. FOOD Didn't eat in hotel so cant comment.. BAR / POOL - Bar was small but adequate - pint of Estrella only 2 euro - great.. Now the BIG let down - The pool was OK size but the sunbeds - oh dear - NOT ENOUGH & those that were there were sagging or broken & very uncomfortable - if you didn't get one you could lie on the grass, which had numerous bare patches - I know I could buy a lilo but Sorry, in a 4 star hotel, why should I??.. gave up after 4 days & just went to beach instead.. OVERALL IMPRESSION - I always try to be fair & constructive - I know the star system is not a true reflection of standards now as its a tick box exercise (IE - if you have pool / air con / 24 reception etc ) you get a star for each BUT the tatty state of the sunloungers was unacceptable..They really should replace all for next season with more & better quality too.. Would I stay here again? - The area yes - the hotel - probably not!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MICKGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

arrived here 1st sept 2013, not a great star, nobody at the 24 hour reception, finally checked in, room was not clean, someone elses dirt in the bathroom, the lock for balcony was on the table, so it did not close and we could not lock it, the shower was broken and taped to the wall, it did work but not properly, cracked tiles and no chairs on the balcony, hole in the wall with wires sticking out, reported this to reception and he looked he was not interested, so next day still not fixed, went back to reception who said the handy man was sick, asked to move but she said there were no rooms left, phoned hol company , mostly because staff were so rude and just did not care, then finally fixed everything, food was ok and looked nice but not much choice, snacks are available from 3.30 to 5pm and they are ok, we were AI but not worth it as drinks and food in the area are cheap and the food and drinks were not worth AI, the hotels boast air con in all areas but this is not so, they have it but it is not working, there is a nice seating area outside the bar but small , you have to boil in the bar and restaurant as no air con, the bar staff made up for the other staff as they were great and helpful, the pool is nice but sunbeds not great , air con worked in the room , would rate as 2 star, so if you can get it cheep you may be ok, near to old town and taxis are cheap, weather was great and overall this was the main thing,

Room Tip: ask bar staff for information,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#87 of 153 in Albufeira
3,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#90 of 153 in Albufeira
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 153 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belavista Avenida
Belavista Avenida
#101 of 153 in Albufeira
79 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
4.4 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#46 of 153 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varandas de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Indico 14, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $23 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varandas de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Varandas de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Varandas De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Varandas De Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Varandas De Hotel
Varandas De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing