We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Varandas de Albufeira
Ranked #137 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
lancashire england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Place”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very good value for money. The whole place has been freshly painted. The pool was clean and a very safe children's pool. We put towels on sunbeds at 8.45 which is not an unreasonable time, we always managed to get three. Distance to the old town is about a 15 min walk and well worth going down at night, when it comes alive. We upgraded to all inclusive when we arrived €50 per day for the three of us which worked out at £300 for the week, We got three meals plus afternoon snacks of Pizza, Burgers, hot dogs, or baguettes ( very tasty), and all the drinks we could manage between 11.am and 11pm. The food was lovely. breakfast, cheese, ham, yogourts, cerials,waffles, croisants,toast, plus bacon,scrambled eggs,beans,sausage (english), tomato,mushrooms. all self service. Lunch was soup, one meat dish and one fish dish with veg and potatoes, as well as lovely salads. there were 4 flavours of ice cream available as well as cakes. Help your self to wine, beer and soft drinks. This was repeated in the evening. The room was very clean, with crisp white bed linen which was changed twice during the week. The room was equipped with kettle,toaster,microwave, fridge, 2 electric rings. Table and chairs in the room as well as on the balcony. There is a large supermarket at the end of the street. The staff were all lovely and worked very hard. There is free wifi in reception. This is a great value for money hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank textiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    207
    235
    169
    213
See reviews for
142
421
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

There are not enough sun beds, The room was clean and tidy. Good size.
The pool was good and the bar served good quality drinks and snacks.
The food was very good we went all inclusive 1 day so save some mon4ey and loved. I thing we saved a fortune. Friendly staff. Overall rather a bargain. Just spend a €5 on a lilo and your sorted. I think all sunbeds are uncomfortable anyway.
Overall nothing to complain about.
Great air con.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markstokes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we recently stayed at this hotel, it was our second trip here and we were a little disappointed on trip. the hotel standards had dropped slightly. still good value for money but like others have said the sun loungers were rubbish, they was not enough for the volume of people staying here.
the ones that were there were of very poor quality. they were that bad that you had to go and buy a lilo to put on the top it. it had also changed to all inclusive but the bar area did not open until 11.00 in the morning so if you were self catering like us you could not get a drink or snack till after 11.00. don't think I will be returning again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireSnowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your second stay at the Varandas Hotel.
The sunloungers are being replaced, we did have a few damaged from recent guests who stayed with us.
The All inclusive package is stated before booking, whether you book direct, online or through your local travel agency, there are timetables however there are 2 snacks per day, 3 main meals and drinks from 11am-11pm.

We are sorry you would not return however are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Do not believe all the bad reviews all these snobs have put on here!! seems like they just go on holiday to pick fault with everything! Ud think these people were expecting for it to be a 5* hollywood hills hotel! iv never heard so much exaggeration in my life!! My stay here last week was fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food was lovely (AND THAT'S COMING FROM SOMEONE WHO ONLY EATS CHICKEN, SALAD AND BREAD!) Maybe the rooms are a little out dated but who cares?? Who spends that much time in their room anyway? I will say that it is true that there isn't any entertainment on a night but if your happy enough to just sit in the bar then your fine, the bar staff are friendly and like to have a chat with u, especially Pedro. There isnt loads of sun loungers but just turn german for the week and get your towels down before breakfast. I really hope no one takes notice of all the bad stuff, it's a nice little hotel in a nice area close to everything you need and a 10-15 minute walk to the beach. If your a snob who likes to moan about anything and everything and pick fault then maybe you should stay at home! After all u only get what u pay for!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BeckiEllisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review so we can always improve.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in two other 4* Hotels during my stay all around the same money and this was by far my least favourite. have stayed in better 3* hotels. The best thing about Varandas is its location, this area in my opinion is the best to stay in Albufeira if you want to be close enough to the Old town, the beach and the Main Strip. Room was clean but small and was very quiet even though there was a lot of guests staying there.

Room Tip: Bathroom needs up-dating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
5 Thank Anderson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are sorry our services did not meet your expectations, the hotel is a four star hotel and supplies the services of a four star for our guests as stated.

However we hope you do return and are always welcome to stay again.
Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week's holiday today, and all I want to go back. Location is great, supermarket within a 2 min walk. Strip a 20 min walk. Staff very friendly, different food for lunch and dinner. Very Clean hotel. No entertainment, but with friends you make at hotel, that's the entertainment you want.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha D, Guest Relations Manager at Varandas de Albufeira, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate when guests post a review and take all to consideration.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Varandas Hotel and are always welcome to stay again.

Kind Regards,
Natasha De Nobrega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days from 25 may-01st June 2013. Overall we had a fantastic holiday,the only downside if you were looking for faults were the lack of sunbeds and entertainment. The sunbeds were only a issue when the hotel is busy tho. As regards entertainment,this was easily solved by taking a 10 min walk to the old town.The location could not be better,as it was close enough to the old town and the strip and the gorgeous beaches. Our rooms were cleaned regular and the staff were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onehiggsy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#92 of 154 in Albufeira
2,904 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#125 of 154 in Albufeira
2,860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varandas de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas de Albufeira

Property: Varandas de Albufeira
Address: Lote Rua do Indico, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Varandas de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varandas de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Varandas De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Varandas De Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Varandas De Hotel
Varandas De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing