We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Varandas de Albufeira
Ranked #138 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My family consisting of myself, husband and 2 daughters aged 13 and 10 have just returned from these apartments. We had a great time. The location was great for the old town ( approx 10 min walk). The apartment was and one bedroom apartment. Both rooms were very large. We had 3 balconies which made drying towels etc very easy. My only complaint would be lack of storage. No draws for clothes, only a wardrobe which was in the entrance hall. With 4 sharing this made it quite hard. The pool was a good size and there was never too many people around it. The kitchen area was small but adequate. No hob but we did have a microwave oven. The room was cleaned every day, towels were changed and beds were made. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We went to aquashow for the day. Although the park was good, because the number of people in the park we only went on 4 water rides all day, there is no shade and it cost €25 each to get in. Not very good value for money. The old town was fantastic. Food and drink was very good value for money and the whole place had a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamtrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    203
    233
    168
    209
See reviews for
135
421
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

WE found the apartments were in an ideal location within walking distance of the old which is absolutely great. The aprtments were plenty big enough with both a bath and a shower. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff were really friendly. There is a large supermarket 2 mins away, there is also a little train that runs from the old town to the strip and stops a few mins walk from the apartments, for 3,5 euros each per day you can get on and off as many times as you want. The staff in the bars especially Vegas and the eating places were really friendly. We will definitely go back and stay in the same apartments.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank patw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We decided to have a last minute 5 day break in Albufiera, we were booked to stay self catering at the Solaqua apartments however due the these apartments being overbooked we moved to their sister apartments (Varandas) across the the road and offered full board for the mix up.
Our first impression was dissapointment as soon as you opened the door you were hit by a foul smell coming from the bathroom, thankfully the smell stayed in the bathroom and didn't filter to the bedroom, the room itself was fine pretty basic but clean, the TV was a bonus as all British channels were available, the pool area was good better than the Solaqua apartment. The location is excellent 10 minutes either way to the strip or Albufieras main centre.
Despite having to move apartments it didn't spoil our break, for the price we paid we would probably go back.
PS
Have to give a mention to the Big Shanghai Chinese restuarant located about 300 yards from the apartment, give it a try you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamborich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in May for one week. I believe the hotel had only recently reopened after being taken over and "refurbished". On arrival we were told that our room (a one bedroom apartment) had been double booked so they could give us a studio apartment and complimentary breakfast as the sister hotel. We accepted this as we didn't have much alternative and didn't want to start our holiday negatively! When we got to our room we were very disappointed. As soon as we got in our room the maid came to try and clean and we explained that we had only just got there so she didn't have to clean, she then tried to come in again another 4 times so in the end we just let her in so we could have some peace! We also had a call from the maintenance guy to tell us that our television wasn't working but he would fix it later that afternoon whilst we were out, it was never fixed despite us reporting the fact to reception several times. We also heard a lady in reception complaining that she had no water two days running. I definitely would not describe this hotel as 4*. One lift door only opened half way and you had to push it the rest of the way back, it would often get to your floor but not be flush with floor level so you had a step up or down. Our room had a couple of holes in the kitchenette area were they had pulled out old fittings. The furniture was tired and there were missing handles from the cupboards. Our bed was two single beds pushed together which I know is not unusual but they were made up as two separate beds and as soon as you moved towards the centre of the bed they started slipping apart. There were no "easy" chairs in the room so if we wanted to sit and read or anything, we had to sit on the bed. On the only plus side I can think of with our stay, the location is very good - 10 mins walk from the old town one way and 10 mins walk the other way to the strip. There is a supermarket right next door and there are fast food places locally for a quick bite. Hopefully with the new management the hotel will improve, the sister hotel which we had breakfast in seemed very nice from what we saw.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

we arrived back today 10/07/2011,the staff were fantastic but for one exception a long dark haired women did,nt get her name but she was very ignorant,the place is clean but the fixtures in the room were not up to 4 star standards,i dont know where the beach or sea veiws were,the street where its situated was a disgrace dog fouling,a guy sleeping in a cardboard box,it looked like the place next door was a refuge of some kind with guys up and down the street half the night,overall a poor standard.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pammyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

stayed in this hotel for a week at the end of june.we stayed in a studio not a bad size,the kitchen a bit small just a 2 burner hob that sits on top of the microwave, only one socket in the kitchen you have to be careful because the lead wil go in to the sink.Beds are comfy enough, the air con which is free is a godsend. The hotel itself has no evening entertainment at all, the bar shuts at 6pm, and the restaurant is closed.Nice 10/15 minute walk to the old town.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bob657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Hi all,
we recently stayed at the Varandas apartments ( June 4th too 11th 2011).
We were a little concerned after reading some previous reviews, but can say that we found the place ideal.
This was our first visit too Portugal ,we found all of the staff to be very friendly, they all speak perfect English. The Apartments are spotless and in an ideal location that suits all variety of holidaymakers i.e families or couples.
The location is about a 15 minute downhill walk too the old town or you can get the "tourist train". There is a fantastic supermarket only 2 mins from the apartments.
For fussy eating kids there is a McDonald's and KFC across the road.
The apartments have a sister Hotel at the rear which you can use. When we were there the Restaurant was still to be finished and was not yet open.
There is a good size swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds.
The cleaners came to our room everyday , clean sheets and fresh towels everyday, this doesn,t happen in most Spanish resorts.
The beach is also about an easy 15min downhill walk.
We re looking forward to our return trip too the Varandas apts next year.
Portugal will be our regular holiday destination from now on,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#90 of 154 in Albufeira
2,847 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#125 of 154 in Albufeira
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varandas de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas de Albufeira

Property: Varandas de Albufeira
Address: Lote Rua do Indico, Albufeira 8200-139, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Varandas de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varandas de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Varandas De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Varandas De Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Varandas De Hotel
Varandas De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing