We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated every minute!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    1,099
    689
    358
    282
See reviews for
887
1,591
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2006

I have just returned from 2 weeks with a friend, staying in a studio in the only block which appears to directly overlook the beach. Gorgeous views and very quiet (really would not like a room overlooking the noisy pool or gardens). Although the studio was on the small side, it did us two girls fine for two weeks - I don't understand anyone who spends a great deal of time indoors on holiday anyway?! The balcony was one of the largest I've ever had on holiday - large enough for a table, two chairs, an umbrella AND two full size sun-loungers. Great if you don't feel like making the 30 second walk to the beach. Didn't venture up to the pool at all except to get a newspaper/water from the kiosk. Bit too many kids at the pool for my liking, but I am not complaining as it is a family-orientated hotel. The beach area is gorgeous and the weather at the time we went (last week in June, first week in July) was great - hot but with a gentle breeze. Although, I found the weather at night on our first week a bit cool and was glad I had taken a light cardigan. Second week a lot warmer at night. True that the rooms don't have air-con, however, the fan in out room was extremely powerful and I'd just like to point out that it can be SET to go off after a certain time, to swivel, different powers etc. For those who found it kept going off after 2 hours - why not reset it and take it off the timer?!!

Anyway, the resort itself was great. We were two girls aged 24 and 30, but found that there were lots of nice restaurants for eating - but also a fair selection of bars etc for when the families and the buggies had eventually cleared the pavements by midnight. I would also like to reiterate a point made previously - ladies, DO NOT take any stilletto heels! The entire strip is cobbled, slippery and uneven - we spent a lot of time watching people who were clearly having difficulty traversing the strip in sky-high heels!

Finally, we never ONCE walked up the steep hill that everyone seems to comment on. There is a lift in the block next to the pool which will take you up to the top level (level 9), and from there you are a 5 minute walk on flat ground to the strip. If you can't find it yourself, ask at reception. The CPO staff were wonderful and the entire place was extremely well looked after. I unfortunately was extremely ill in my second week (possibly water or food poisoning - am still waiting for test results and am still off work at the moment), but we never ate or drank in any of the CPO bars or restaurants so they cannot be blamed. Because our second week was slightly spoilt, but our first week was so brilliant, we are already booking for the same two weeks next year! One of the best holidays I've had.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lynz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2006

CPO is a nice hotel located very close to the beach. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was large but didn't have aircon only a fan in the bedroom and living room. The fan in the livingroom switched off after every two hours so had to get up in the night to switch it back on. The two pools were great but our high point was the beach. I'm not a lover of beachs but but this one is fantastic! Very clean hard sand and the sea very close with some excellent gentle waves for the kids. Our 3 year old loved it.
Kids disco at the hotel but one night they cancelled it due to Brazil v Japan and didn't give any notice. The area inwhich they have the disco only had about 5 people watching the match and after a small uprising by the parents it wasn't cancelled again.
The is a very steep climb up to the strip not great if you've got small ones but there a few good restuarants by the beach. Go to the first one nearest CPO and try steak portugese style.
One last thing DON'T get the bus to Albufeira it drops you off at the brand new beatiful looking bus station in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ColinH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

Myself and my husband have just returned from CPO, first visit to Portugal didnt know what to expect. It was very pleasing apart from a few cloudy days which are apparantly rare at this time of year. We were in a studio which was plenty big enough for us, very clean all new appliances in the kitchen area. We did have a partial sea view (most do) only downside ours was just one of two that didnt get the sun on the balcony because of a walkway underneath. Glad neither of us had walking problems or I guess that could marr the holiday depending on where you were based. Outside very near to lots of bars and restaurants never had a bad meal, just be careful of the charges for drinks in some. We will most likely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

I stayed at CPO at the start of June this year and really liked the hotel. I stayed with my friend in a studio apartment which had everything you would need but if i had stayed for 2weeks i would have wanted a bigger room. The hotel is right on the beach and is in the perfect location with the busy strip full of bars and restaurants just five minutes up the street. It also has a large pool and lots of other facilities like a bowling green and laundry service. You can also use the facilities from their sister hotel which is just across the road, Great Hotel would go back

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#42 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing