We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #81 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed July 9, 2009

enjoyed our stay,had a lovely beachfront apartment and good cleaning service. others travelling with us had bad experience with size of studio and problems with no cleaning service calling. only problem was reception size and very slow check in and out procedures. staff were nice enough and helpful when required. hill bit steep when tired but nice quiet location. pools lovely and jacuzzi`s cleaned out daily.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buffy051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,340)
There are newer reviews for Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,900 - 2,906 of 3,340 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2009

I have just returned from a week's stay at the Clube Praia da Oura with my fiance and we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. On arriving at the complex, we were checked in within 5 minutes and a porter took are cases straight to our room for us. We had a studio room which was very spacious and clean. We had twin beds (not sofa bed as stated in brochure) as well as a coffee table and comfy chairs. We had a large balcony, partly overlooking the sea and the gardens, and was furnished with a table and chairs and 2 sunbeds.

The complex was located pretty much on the beach. Beaches are absolutely gorgeous.....only problem was that there are lots of 'looky looky' men walking around trying to sell you things, however, most of them didnt bother you that much if you said no! We used the beach every day instead of the pool as the pool is quite small for the number of rooms at the complex, and the sunbeds are very close together.

The complex shares faciltities with the Oura Praia which is a 5 minute walk uphill, however, the faciltities are better at the CPO. It is a 10 minute walk up a steep hill to the bottom end of the strip which is home to the main nightlife of Albufeira. On the strip you will find lots of choice in bars and restaurants. Our favourite restaurant was Chilli Steak House. There was a Brazilian trio playing live most nights whilst you dined. Best bars were Reno's and La Bamba for the bottom end. Further up the strip there were a lot more livlier bars. Prices were ok on food....generally the same as back home, however, we thought the drinks were expensive. In happy hour, a large beer (approx 3/4 of pint) was 2 euros, outside of happy hours, you could pay anything up to 5 euros (dependant on bar or restaurant.

Albufeira Old Town is approx 45 mins leisurely stroll or less than 10 mins in a taxi and cost no more than 5 euros. There is a mini train that goes around the resort which is approx 4 euros return. The Old Town is gorgeous for a stroll around of an evening and there are numerous restaurants and bars for entertainment. There are street performers in the main square which attract quite large crowds.

Overall, we have had a great time and we would definitely go back again to the CPO!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndieP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

This was our second visit to CPO, and again what a fantastic time was had. The first time we visted we had a studio apartment over looking the beach cafe, lovely views of the the beach and sea, but the only gripe was we only had the balcony/terrace door to enter the aprtment and found it a bit claustrophobic, on this vist we were allocated a studio apartment in the block near the main road, it wasn't as noisy as you expected, the big plus was the rooms are a lot bigger you have a balcony/terrace as well as the door from the corridoor to the room.

The reception staff were very helpful, even made suggestions about how to save money when booking trips to Lisboa, we arrived at the complex at 11 am and our room was ready for us.

The only gripe we had was the price of the drinks on the complex and the appauling food in Jackies Brassaire, we went for one meal and that was a big mistake, it isn't a reasonably priced restaurant, infact it is over priced, there is little choice on the menu, you had either al a carte or the 'Buffet' well that was a joke it was E18.50 each, the food looked tired and well past itself, with hind sight we should have walked out, like a number of people did while we were there, but we thought we would try it, you had no chance of going back for seconds, as soon as you had one course the food was cleared away, not replaced with any thing fresh, it was removed completely we were in the for 8.30 pm so it wasn't as if it was closing time, would give this restaurant a wide berth next time we visit.

CPO lovely place to go and relax, would recommend it, and you are no longer harrassed by timeshare.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

When we arrived at CPO i assumed it would be hours til we had our room as we were very early but no. Within an hour our room was ready, and we got a good size sudio with twin beds (not a sofa bed!) and a fabulous sea and beach view! was astonished at tht for the price we paid as i was sure we'd arrive to find a building site! only complaint about the place would be that the staff on the information desk could be a bit hostile and acted a bit like they were doing you a favour by actually giving you information. Location was great - yes near the strip, which was tacky but enormously fun (if you like bars try patcha and la bamba... italian on the left as you walk up is also great & they give you a free drink in the bar next door for eating there!) but CPO also run a bus into the old town for €1.50 each way... liked the old town for eating and the strip for partying!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We have just returned from Club Praia da Oura and were very pleased with our choice.
We booked a long weekend, from Wed night to Sunday morning. Check in was very efficient (we had used the express check-in facility they had emailed to us). A porter came for our luggage and showed us to our room.
The room was on the top floor (8), in block D with great views, and the evening sun. Upside of the rooms on the top floor is you don't have people passing to get to their appartment so the balcony is very private.
However, block D was opposite some building work. Although we didn't see the work going on, we were woken each morning to the sound of drillling, which was annyoying.
The staff on reception were very helpful, and the guy on the information desk couldn't do enough for us.
The appartment itself was spotless, with good towels, everything needed in the kitchen, and the balcony had table and chairs, and also 3 sunbeds.
The 'CPO' is part of a complex of 3, which also includes a Hotel and 'Beach View'. Both are within easy walking distance. The hotel has a tennis court (you pay ) and a gym. 'Beach View' has an indoor pool. Photos looked good but we didn't get to use it - closed on a Sunday!
The CPO has a fab bowling green. We'd never played before and there were plenty of people on hand to give us some tips.
We dined in the restaurant once and the food was very good, as was the service - although it lacked a bit of atmosphere.
We headed to the strip one night and dined in 'Lisas' pizza and Pasta place. It's almost at the end of the strip on the right hand side, so a bit of a walk, but really well worth it.
The beach is a very short walk and lots of cafes and bars to choose from.
We'd definitely go back here. We chose the weekend just before the English bank holiday and we wouldn't go any later. There were enough people around and we were told it gets very busy after this time.
By the way, although we were expecting it, but we didn't get hassled by any timeshare operators, which was a pleasant surprise!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kamagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Just returned from a weeks stay at this complex, we had an apartment in K block which had a massive balcony overlooking the childrens play area and had a part sea view.
The apartment was well equiped and clean, I always bring an iron and hairdryer with me on holiday however these were already in the apartment along with an ironing board. There was a flat screen TV which got ITV and BBC1 and a DVD player.
The rooms were cleaned beds and towels changed every 2 days, and the claening staff were very pleasant. The staff in the hotel were very helpful with any enquiries we had. We ate in the hotel one morning for breakfast, this was 6 euro per person, which at first seemed quite a lot, however travelling with a 2 year old it worked out quite economical, considering you could help yourself to what you wanted and there was a good choice.
Would go back to these apartments again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Footprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

I travelled with a party of four adults, all family members ranging from the ages of 24 to 41. We stayed at Clube Praia Da Oura for a week in May, and booked the holiday as a little get away from the stresses of work and the bad weather in England.

On our journey to Clube Praia Da Oura, the travel rep informed us that it was possible that we wouldn’t have access to our apartment until as late as 5pm. Due to the high occupancy rate people check out, and then people immediately check-in, meaning the maid is cleaning her heart out! We knew this already thanks to the advice of other trip advisor reviewers, but I should imagine to anyone not prepared for the wait it would be quite a shock, after all you have to book your room in advance, how could it not be ready when you get there?

We had been travelling since 2:30am the following morning, so as you can imagine the prospect of waiting until 5pm for our apartment was daunting, however being greeted with the beautiful blue skies and lush greens of the Algarve saw us through. Check-in was a little slow, but the man at reception was helpful and informed us that our room wouldn’t be ready for at least an hour. We were also asked for a one hundred Euro deposit in case of damage or breakages to the apartment or anything in it, but again, thanks to trip advisor reviewers we were aware of this also, we didn’t give them one hundred Euros, but we did give them one of our parties debit card details. Not fazed, we sat in the sun enjoying a cold drink. 15 minutes later, the man came to find us telling us that our room was ready ahead of time and called the porter over to help us with our cases.

The One Bed roomed Apartment:
The apartment was compact although specious, there were lots of things in it, but everything had a place making them easy to find. The apartment consisted of a living room which you walked into from the balcony. The kitchen at the back of the living room leads to a hallway that had cupboards, and doors going to the bathroom and bedroom.

The Livingroom:
The living room was spacious and consisted of a couch with a pull out bed underneath, a side table, a table lamp, a floor lamp, two chairs, a full length mirror, television stand, television and coffee table.

The Kitchen:
The kitchen I was very impressed with, it seemed to be equipped with almost every appliance or utensil we needed for making light meals. There was a dining tablet with four chairs. A microwave, two hobs and a fridge freezer, along with a kettle and toaster. It had cups and saucers, pans, frying pan, jug, tea towels, washing up liquid with sponge, cheese grater, nut cracker, scissors, cork screw, spatula, knives and forks. Next to the fridge freezer there was a cupboard full of cleaning equipment. It had a dustbin, mop, dustpan and brush (perfect for getting rid of the sand you bring in) and extra bin bags. There was also an iron and an ironing board. Just wow.

The Bedroom:
The bedroom consisted of a double bed, two bedside tables, a dressing table, chair and chest of drawers. It was very specious and had two barred windows for you to open on an evening and let in the breeze.

The bathroom:
Not large in size, but suitable for it’s purpose, the bathroom had a powerful show that I could have stood under all day. It also had a hairdryer above the sink/next to the mirror.

The Balcony:
The balcony was extremely spacious and, best of all, had a sea view. Many a night we spent sitting around the patio table watching the sun go down over the sea. We also had three sunbeds and a parasol to protect us from the sun if it got too intense on an afternoon.

Maid Service:
The maid cleans your room every other day, but not Sundays. I’m not sure how many times a week she changes the sheets/towels. But it was often enough for us.

Amenities:
On site of Clube Praia da Oura there are two outdoor Jacuzzis, a large checkers board painted onto concrete, a bowling green and a sauna. As far as I’m aware, most of these things were free.

A few other things:
The television was free to watch and reception had posters informing guests of a different featured movie playing every Friday night.

Your travel rep is practically obsolete. Reception had a special information desk for people wishing to go on excursions. The receptionist would tell you everything you needed to know, and even book the trip for you. There were such trips as spending the day in Lisbon, travelling to Seville, the capital of Andalucía, Spain. Or even staying overnight and visiting Gibraltar! I would recommend spending the day in Seville. The sights were unbelievable and only cost 19 Euros. Reception would also phone taxis for you so you could visit other resorts such as Vilamoura. The taxi journey to Vilamoura would cost around 20 Euros.

The onsite supermarket was extremely cheap and your best bet for buying your supplies.

Clube Praia de Oura is situated virtually on a very beautiful beach.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the main strip of restaurants and pubs/bars/shops. At night you should expect people standing outside trying to coax you in to their establishment, by day it’s a very pleasant atmosphere. Fredi’s was a good family restaurant with prices to match.

Jackie’s bar was nextdoor to reception and would deliver food to your room if you ordered by phone. They also held family entertainment evenings.

There was no air-conditioning, but there were floor fans in the bedroom and livingroom.

The gardens were exceptionally well kept, as were the pools. As far as I could tell, there wasn’t the usual early morning fights for sunbeds as the beach was so near people would much rather spend their time by the sea.

Access for people with mobility difficulties was fantastic. There was a lift to help people get to the higher floors, and ramps at every turn.

Well, I’ve rambled for long enough. Even if you’re still not convinced that Clube Praia da Oura is worth your money, maybe the pictures I posted will help make up your mind.

I hope you have a fantastic holiday and enjoy your stay at Clube Praia da Oura.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Auburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#87 of 154 in Albufeira
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
469 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $28 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing