We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clube Praia da Oura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Edenderry, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week here with two young kids! We absolutely loved every minute of it! I understand some of the rooms are in need of repair/updating but this is ongoing so hopefully by nxt year they will all be finished. The staff were so friendly, both in bar and reception! Our room was cleaned twice during the stay and we got fresh towels and loo roll 3 times! After reading some of the reviews I feel sometimes people have little to be doing and just look for silly things to complain about rather than make the most of a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The sun lounger situation at pool is the same in every hotel I've ever stayed in! We stuck to the rules and had 4 beds every day we needed them! My only problem was that both kiddies soft drinks and alcohol was too expensive compared to some bars nearby! We paid almost €15 for two beers and two orange juices at the ocean bar :-(. But in saying that it won't turn us off, this was our 5th time to stay and we already have two weeks booked for nxt summer :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.

Your kind words will definitely be passed on to the staff.

We look forward to your return visit next summer.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    891
    541
    273
    196
See reviews for
673
1,253
45
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I really find it hard to see all these bad reviews, my girlfriend and I stayed here 3 weeks ago for 5 nights.
We had a fantastic room, self catered with a fantastic sea view! I would advise to have the sea view, we heard the waves crashing in as we were playing cards on the balcony with a bottle of rose!!
The location is perfect, a few minutes walk to the strip where all the resturants and bars are.
The beach is seconds away from the hotel, stunning views, great beach, You can walk all along the coast to other coastlines.

I am not sue why so many people are complaining, I couldn't see why. We had breakfast every morning at Jacks, great food and set us up for the day :)

The room was so clean, the maid was fantastic and took a long time.

Lovely stay, would book again.

Room Tip: Sea view, and go for he one above basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.

Your kind words will definitely be passed on to the maid that cleaned your room.

We wish to welcome you back very soon in the near future.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As we cannot edit a review we have had to do a separate one, but would like to reply to the manager's response about distance to the beach from our apartment. See below:

"We are glad that you remark the on the wonderful hotel facilities and restaurants and apologise that your apartment was not up to your expectations. A hotel the size of Clube Praia da Oura and on the beach front, is unique, thus it is obvious that not all apartments will be facing the sea but all apartments are close to reception and 1 to 4 minute walk to the beach"

We were in room 1303 which was as far way from the beach as was possible at this resort. We had a short walk to a lift which went down 4 floors.(1 minute plus 1 minute wait) We then had to walk down a cobbled path to the second lift (2 minutes with an excessive wait for the lift), and through a corridor to the pool (30 seconds to the pool), a further minute past the pool to the reception. A further 4 minutes from reception to the steps leading to the beach. At best 10 minutes. The first lift only held 4 people, and the second only held 6 people with no luggage of course. The small lift was the only one on that side of the hotel, serving loads of rooms. Very often we had to wait for 2 lots of people to use the lift before we could use it.
Whilst I think the beach end of the hotel could possibly be 4 star (although we don't know), there is no way our room justified even a 1 star. The price we paid I feel was far too much for a very poor room.
I noted that you referred to an entertainment department. I am not sure if this exists as the standard was very poor. Wifi was dreadful. It was supposedly free in reception but never worked. You could pay for it in your room and that did work but was extra.
A four star hotel should be 4 star throughout, not one half good and the other half awful.
This was not a cheap holiday and we expected better.

Room Tip: As the room had no aircon we had no choice but to leave open the patio doors. The noise from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your second review.

Your comments have been taken onboard as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests.

You mention air conditioning and, this is the main commodity being placed in our units, along with luxurious and elegant furnishings.

We wish to inform that the distance to the beach from to Block K, is approximately 140m. Also, Clube Praia da Oura is a 3 star hotel.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Myself, husband and my 3 year old arrived around 5pm. I tried to cancel my "room" before our arrival as I knew the studios were bad from reviews but didn't expect them to be this bad! The "studio" was an actual box. 1 single bed With a drawer underneath like a coffin ( my bed!) then an extra bed which I had to pay €50 for - this was for my little girl. It had splinters sticking out the side which I hurt my knee on twice. There was no room to move. No air con - it was an absolute nightmare! We never slept all night. I went to reception twice through the night to try get moved but no luck I was told until 9.30am in the morning. We were awake all night- it was awful. Just too hot and the sheets were soaking.

The next day after 3 hours of viewing various rooms with no air con I had to pay the €260 for an upgrade- it was either that or go home- the studio was that bad. I can't believe people can stay In them. It was more like a jail cell. No balcony either! Bloody awful! I used to work in a 1 star hotel years ago as a holiday rep and this was 100% worse.

Anyway our next studio was ok. Had air con - still no beds- but a huge soda bed which was better than before.

The location is great although the Luna across the road has lots of stag parties in it so if your at the back of the hotel prepare up be woken 4am-6am with the noise.

The drinks are a joke.€4.50 for a glass of coke. €6 for a glass of watered down sangria- great value!

The towel on the sunbed rule is crazy and changes all the time. the guy who controls the "system" takes it very serious so wouldn't cross him or he chucks your towel off your bed after being up since 8am to our a towel down! Absolute nutter.

The reception staff were ok. Bar staff also ok. The free bus to the old town is good value. Location is great on the beach and grounds are well looked after.
If you are booking Never ever book a studio room- they should be illegal!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

It is our aim to offer our guests entirely satisfactory service at Clube Praia da Oura and apologise that the allocation of your unit did not meet with your expectations.

You mention air conditioning; this is the main commodity being placed in our units, along with luxurious and elegant furnishings.

We are glad you mention the good value of the fee bus to the old town and the great location of the hotel as well as the well looked after grounds.

We wish to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My friend and I booked at 24 hours notice, due to having to switch our holiday from Israel, so did not have as much time to select our accommodation as we usually do. On the whole the hotel was clean and the service we received was good, i must however say that the studio room size was far too small far how much we paid and the view of a wall was....well.....less than inspiring!

This is also the first place I have ever been to where the beach is actually closer to my room than the hotel pool. Oh - the pool. I have sen it mentioned a few times on here, how can you possibly have one real pool (the little kiddie one does not count) catering for the huge amount of rooms and visitors that you expect? The loungers were permanently all in use, unless you got there after 5pm, or queued up at 8am to put your towels down - which i may add was against the old cliche that its always the Germans who put their towels down at that time - mainly Brits. Think about building another pool and then you can have one for families etc and one for the people who would like it a bit livelier.

The restaurant food was quite nice and in the grand scheme of things, not ridiculously pricey, however the free WiFi was pretty hit and miss

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mumrah37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review.
We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

With regards to the Sunbeds this is a worldwide problem and we are no exception, people will not obey the rules displayed on boards.

We do have a bigger pool for children further down in the garden.

We wish to welcome you back very soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just come back from Clube Praia da Oura - this hotel was ok - cleaning staff/maids were excellent - the reception staff were truly awful - waited at least 20 mins each time to see them - when finally seen - they did not apologise for a wait - I also think that they need to go on a course in people management skills!

Room Tip: We booked a 1 bedroom apartment and a studio apartment - the 1 bedroom apartment was good - but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay at our Hotel.

We apologize for your long wait at reception but due to the size of our Hotel, the queues this time of the year are longer than usual. Our staff our normally very friendly and polite and go beyond the call of duty to help guests, however there is a lot of pressure to express the check-ins and this formality may have slipped, for which we again truly apologize.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity once again to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

When myself and partner first arrived to our studio rooms we where extremely disappointed. The room was very small and our view was terrible. We ended up paying an extra 300 euros To get upgraded to a one bed apartment. Apart from this (and having no aircon), everything else about the hotel is brilliant. The breakfast is amazing and the grounds of the hotel are gorgeous. I don't know if I would return here as the one bedroom apartment is expensive, however it will be hard to beat!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Bwt583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and honest feedback regarding your stay at Clube Praia da Oura.

We apologize that the size of our studios was smaller than expected them to be. However, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and remark the amazing grounds of our hotel

You mention air conditioning and, this is the main commodity being placed in our units, along with luxurious and elegant furnishings.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of serving you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Oura Praia Hotel
Oura Praia Hotel
#73 of 161 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#83 of 161 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
0.7 mi away
MGM Muthu Forte Da Oura
MGM Muthu Forte Da Oura
#89 of 161 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#35 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Praia da Oura 3*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Oura Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing