We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy Holidays”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

After reading recent reviews on this hotel, I feel for the first time, that I have to give my views. We have been coming to this hotel twice a year for about 5 years. The staff ( from the reception to the cleaners) have always been as helpful and courteous as possible. Perhaps if you address them politely you will find the same, so no complaints. They are not magicians, and cannot give you what is not available. Next, the rooms. If you only pay for a studio apartment , then expect to get just that - because that is what you have booked. If, like us, you need a bit more space and comfort, then book a one bedroom apartment, and you will not be disappointed . We have always found the rooms to be a bit dated and tired, but very clean, with lots of bed changes and clean towels. The cleaners work very hard to keep things nice, and try not to be too intrusive. Next, the building renovations - this hotel is in a brilliant location for both beach, bars, and supermarket, but has been badly in need of updating . This cannot happen without some disruption. This hotel is a business , and obviously needs to keep up and running to finance this. The builders have been as careful as they can realistically be, but noise and dust cannot be avoided. We found this acceptable because having peeped into some of the almost done rooms, the changes are amazing. Can't wait till October when we return, when who knows - we might get to go in a beautifully renovated room. I hope so.....My advice would be don't let the bad reviews put you off going here...pay for the right size room for you...enjoy the beach and bars if the building works get you down (it's not often constant)...and treat all the staff with some respect, and they will respond likewise. Have a happy holiday as we just have...relax and enjoy all the things that are located so near to this lovely hotel. We have been going on holidays for years, as we are older, and have done the Far East , most of Europe, and the Carribean. This hotel is reasonably priced and in a great location....enjoy...

Room Tip: Look at what you are offered...pay for the right room for you...don't pay for cheapest studio th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    1,060
    657
    332
    239
See reviews for
826
1,515
64
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a great stay in this apartemen. 5 minutes to the beach, supermarket and the strip. Many restaurant nearby, close to bus stop. excellent stay esp with young children.
There is swimming pool, restaurant, bar and cafe in the apartemen complex.
there was building work while we were there however luckily we werent affected

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

HI
my wife and i have been going to the CPO for 7 years now and here is my review of this april visit
i emailed Petchy to tell them we were arriving a day early ( saturday 19th ) at 11.00 and to see if we could get into are room before 17.00, the lady at reception said they were not aware of any email sent
we got into are room at 13.00 in S block, room was abit dated but perfectly clean, and plenty of room if were were a family of 4 so good for just a couple
put are cases in and went for something to eat
Sunday we went to reception to see what time are room would be ready for and because i asked the day before if we could have it ready early would be good customer care, told it will not be ready until 17.00, we are time shere owners and thought we could get in a bit earlier but NO, so we were able to keep are room in S block until the 17.00 check in
arived at 16.45 and was told room will not be ready until 18.00 not a happy camper! acctualy got in at 18.15, unpacked are bags, got showered and dressed and went out for are evening meal 20.00
we are in D block and are on the very top floor above the pool with the bridge, so great views of the sea and grounds, get the sun from 12.00 large balcony with 4 sun beds 4 chairs and table with sun brolly, small flat screen TV that the reception was a bit dodgy at times, but we only had the TV on at night when we got home
Now for the building work being done
as the crane is in a central position directy over the pool are but not over the pool it is a bit of a eye sore if you are by the pool, as i work in the oil supply industry i thought the crane work was dangerous to anyone near it as anything on the crane was not secured to it so 1 mistake and items may have fallen off and injured anyone
the work starts at 08.00 and we were quite far from the work being done but you could still here ethe drilling vibrating through the building,
this did not bother my wife and me as we tend to have a coffee in the morning and then have a walk through the afternoon and get something to eat, go back to are room and then out again
the olny time we were in was when it rained so not to long
there is some disruption but not enought to put us off
as per previous comments the upgraded room will be for the Infinity points persons as we were told this by one of the sales persons who we talked to at a meeting
thought they would make changes to all rooms as it is in a prime location and would attract more customers, maybe not if the rooms are just a 3 star and a bit dated
the strip in my eyes has went down hill, places we used to go to for a snack and drink are now either shut or changed to a British disco bar, plenty to do for the hen shines and staggers but not a lot for the say over 40s, i am 50ish and still can party but will not go into a bar/club where you cannot hear what the person next to you is saying, and paying double the price for drinks while doing so
hope this reviews dos not put anyone off going to CPO or Albuferia
best wishes David and Jennifer

Room Tip: ask for D block over the pool with the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shed137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Next year i know this apartment hotel will be wonderful. This year, our first overseas holiday in 7 years was spoilt, jet 2 said "there is minor building work, it wont affect your holiday". Not true it is MAJOR. Choose another hotel, as even earplugs, I Pod wont stop the noise. The whole point of self catering was to eat in. We ate out everyday to get away from the noise. The hotel staff offered another room across the street, in a room that had no other view than a wall. The gardens are beautiful, lovely bar areas, bowling green.The apartment was good.View over the sea fantastic from our balcony room 841, 72 steps from floor to room, so not for anyone with walking difficulties.Downside fridge,kettle, hairdryer didn't work the first day, pillows very lumpy from being washed. We ended up using the cushions from the sofa.Everyday we saw people at the reception desk asking to be moved. The trouble is, the noise is everywhere you go. There are builders walking about with wheelbarrows, there is a huge crane over the swimming pool.Try to move to another destination. Save this for next year.If you have to go, the restaurants on the beach front are all as good as each other. We didnt have one bad meal here during the day or night.Food was wonderful.Bars, restaurants were being erected as we left.Chemist is nr Oura da Praira hotel at the back of this hotel, up the lift next to the pool to the 9th floor, turn left, walk past the small play area, turn right, two mins walk you are there. Shops, cafes,bakeries and supermarket all close by here.

Room Tip: If you do still go, they allocate your room as you arrive. So be fussy.Have a wander about first. Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

newquay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

just returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel and what value for money i was very surprised as recent reveiws dont do it justice. A warm welcome at reception and by the weather as well, we were shown to our apartment which was clean and very well equiped hairdryers etc .The area outside has sun loungers, tables and chairs if you wish to just chill, the pool area was very well kept with pool bar and plenty of loungers or shaded areas with comfy seating YES! the comments on building noise just let them do their job and we as guest will benifit in the long run.The beach is a stones throw from the hotel with many resturaunts all reasonably priced the icecream stand is a must as all my party will tell you. To get around and about there is a Free bus that takes you to the old town for shopping or dinner( try the Three Crowns typical Portugese good food) well done CPO hope to return soon Happy Guest.

Room Tip: just try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a studio on top of the hill closest to the main through road in the resort. Parts of this hotel are lovely like the reception and piano bar area but in our experience that's where it ends.
On arrival we we're met by rude, uncooperative staff yet seemingly overworked so we let this go. The polite and friendly porter showed us to our studio (8 min walk from reception-no exaggeration) and our first reaction was it's ok. On further inspection it was very old and shabby in every way, lights not working, no aircon (30 degrees when we arrived) so we we're not particularly happy so I walked to reception to ask for a room change or offer to pay for another room, the reception area had quietened down but was still greeted by the same rudeness and arrogance that we had at check in. Anyway they told me I could not change room unless we paid €330 for a simple upgrade to a one bedroom apartment. Obviously I refused and walked again back to the room (I'm now ready for bed after all this walking). We decided to stick with the studio and start our holiday and got ready for an evening out.
The following day and after a disrupted sleep due to the ridiculously noisy fridge in our studio we decided to explore the rest of the hotel, the pool area is nice with it's lovely surrounding landscape gardens but we never even got close to the pool area as it was always rammed with all sunbeds gone everyday by 10am, the sheer size of this place means there is no where near enough space around the pool to fit all holidaymakers in.
As already mentioned areas of this hotel are lovely and in addition to the reception and piano bar I can say all the grounds and gardens are immaculate but as we we're in the block at the very top of this hotel we never got to experience these enough.
Clube praia da oura is part of a group of hotels in the area operated by Petchey leisure and it's sister hotel Oura Praia hotel was situated directly across the road from our studio block so that hotel was actually closer to us than ours and because it's part of the same chain you can use the facilities of this one as part of your stay. Well thank god we could, more space by the pool, better staff etc etc we ate here in the day and spent all of our days by there pool instead of ours and could see our balcony from the poolside.
Oura is a small resort in itself offering a few decent yet unspectacular places to eat and the beach area is very nice.
SUMMARY..........
If you are wanting to stay at Clube praia don't have a studio there awful.
Don't expect to get anywhere near the pool.
Don't expect the staff to be nice.
Workmen everywhere.
Stay at the Oura Praia.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We arrived for a MONTH.... To find the complex a construction site with 150 + workers working working on apts all over the complex, we were not advised of any renovations, we have workers working with hammer drills 7.45 till 8 most nights, we complained to reception, housekeeper s, workers etc about the rubbish outside of our apt, boxes piled high, tilesetc...for over a week, apts above had water leaking for over a week, reception, will look into it....people moving a pts every day?????.. The staff doing nothing about complains....The crane is operational over the pool The crane is every day, a very major health and safety issue.... the construction workers are taking every available car space by 8.00every day,.. I am a club la costa member and won't to go home...Have appt with manager Mon.... Watch this space. Won't to go home.....sad a.

Room Tip: Don't go to cpo
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Chappell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#70 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 3*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing