We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOW NO ENGLISH TV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #81 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Have used the resort for over ten years.Units clean resort staff / reception staff helpful. MATTRESSES UNCOMFORTABLE I AM PERSONALLY VERY DISAPPOINTED AT THE NEGATIVE CHANGES TO THE ENJOYMENT OF MY HOLIDAY AT THE RESORT. Would not recommend to-buy buy regular holiday timeshare accommodation or points there again...No aircondioning in rooms we used so very hot at night in warm weather.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room,or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BostonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments placed on Trip Advisor.

The satellite signals in Europe have been altered to only cover the United Kingdom. This is not a situation we can change and we know that our UK members do love to watch their favorite UK programmes even though they are on holiday. The ex pats that live in Portugal are using filmon.tv through their computers as this web site has a live stream to watch the UK TV.

The resort is currently undergoing a complete refurbishment and it is a great pity you did not enjoy this vacation, as you mention that you have used the resort for over ten years! The reception staffs are always helpful and I am sure they would have suggested an alternative mattress or indeed a different apartment. It is not easy to satisfy all of the people all of the time, and we are continually doing our best to make improvements to modernize our facilities. You mention air conditioning and this is the main commodity being placed in our units.

Our majority of Infiniti members have expressed their delight, in seeing major work being carried out and with the introduction of the luxurious garden furniture that is spread throughout the lush gardens, they are more than pleased to relax in comfort.

We hope that you take another visit to us in the not so distant future, especially when the refurbishment has been completed.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 3,425 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is quite a gem. The efficiencies are well appointed if not a little small. Ours had an ocean view which is a must for the small additional charge. The hotel is very clean with staff working on it constantly. The pool area is lovely and well kept. You have access directly to the beach for an ocean swim. The "strip" is a 10 minute walk and old town is about a 30 minute stroll. The only negative is the hotel restaurant. Service is brutal. We waited 45 minutes to get a drink and after an 1.5 hours we left as our food never arrived nor did an explanation. Besides you can a far better priced meal at the many many surrounding establishments. Will definitely return to this hotel

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Bolte59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at our hotel Clube Praia da Oura.

We are sorry to hear that you had reasons to complain while staying in our Hotel. We are sorry that the service in our restaurant was delayed and no follow up given. We have addressed this issue with the restaurant manager.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have been to CPO twice and loved it so much that we are bringing friends ,arriving the 25th April under White party praying it's not as bad as reviews are saying .it was great resort and the south facing apartments on to sea were wonderful .

Room Tip: Loved the sea view we had but we were also on the main path down from reception which was great aswe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynnstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Clube Praia da Oura and that the noise from works did not bother you.

It was nice to have you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 1303 in the annexed building facing the main road.Room adequate & well equipped kitchen .Traffic noise was bad all night & drunks shouting on their way home from the strip woke me up every night between 04:00 & 05:30.
Mattress was uncomfortable but had worse.
We had a slight Ant problem in the kitchen area & the TV positioning / reception wasn't great.
Pool,bars,Jac's Restaurant for Breakfast ,Staff Service & Beach were all fantastic.
The Beach Cafe / Restaurant us superb - we are their on two nights.
Walked to Albuferia one night - took about 39 mins - came back on the Tourist Train after an hour as it's a bit 'scrubby'.
Overall a good trip apart from the rain storms on Easter Sunday & good value for money.
Even the builders refurbishing 50% of the rooms around the pool wouldn't put us off returning one day - noisy but 'No mess - No progress.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBSmith15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and honest feedback.

We apologize due to the noise from the traffic in the street but this is beyond our control. However, we would have allocated you another apartment if this was brought to our knowledge. All the other issues were addressed with the respective departments, and were dealt with immediately.

We appreciate your valuable support and hope you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Having just returned from a one week stay in the CPO and read the reviews I am surprised at the number of negative comments. We have been coming to the CPO for the past five years and yes the facilities did need updating but where always clean and well maintained. The building works currently being undertaken are extensive and I was a little disappointed that we where not informed at the time of booking, however the staff are doing everything possible to facilitate everyone in difficult circumstances and should be commended on their professionalism and as always pleasant helpful service which is one of the reasons for our returning visits. We asked if their where any room options at check in and where given the choice of two apartments. There is building work from 8 till 8 however the noise is kept to a minimum as is the disruption all the major work is completed with all works complete by early June we where told by the staff.
This is a fantastic location and value for money (even with the disruption) for many years there has been complains about lack of air con and the need for updating now we are complaining about it being carried out. Some people have been unlucky and been disrupted but the majority are happy with the CPO.
We will be returning and are looking forward to the new facilities.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clube Praia de Oura for your holidays. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them as our guests satisfaction is our main priority.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had due to the noise from the work on site. All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Why o why do we put up with this upheaval on holiday this management obviously puts its shareholder firmly before its customers. Having complained to their "Customer relations" very sympathetic man. Who offered us nothing but his complete understanding I can only offer my story as testament. We had 10 days here in april where I met up with two other members of my family it started of reasonable"distant noise" but by day 4 we were surrounded by builders drilling and shouting from 8 till 8 even swimming pool has a monster crane hanging over it mess everywhere as we where near each other we tried to put up with all the disruption as the hotel is in a great position its only positive . Why couldnt they just cut of a section of hotel instead of trying to do the complete place . Very greedy I thought I pity the next lot of guests go somewhere else

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank william037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at Clube Praia da Oura and for mentioning our great position.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the noise from the works close to your apartments. All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment. Complaints made on site are being dealt with by dedicated Customer Care Staff and clients are being allocated to our sister resorts in the same area.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Hotel from Hell!! Booked a 3 day package in February. Booked in and was pointed in direction of rooms (large complex) without help. Found room after struggle. It was a studio timeshare ( Hotel was quite empty so why put us in this?) Opened door a small 'camp bed was in view. For 2 people ? On investigation found a second camp bed was packed underneath. pulled the apart and found thin mattresses to put on them. Next problem was space or lack of it. Found on an arrangement for beds with space to get through front door and about a foot of space on either side to get out at night. Found some duvets and pillows packed away, made our own beds. Not much space in wardrobes !Paid extra for safe. Tried to get into bathroom. door only opened past washbasin about a foot. Good job my wife and myself were not larger. Stop on floor to prevent door hitting toilet! No space for toiletries near washbasin. Toilet behind door to allow for very poor bidet- not worth putting such a one in . Hairdryer was broken at back and dangerous electrically! Apparently no rubbish bin in main room but did find one next day hidden away in cupboard below brooms etc!!. No lights near beds at night so could not read in bed!. Whole front of apartment was glass with net curtains and heavy night curtains. Because of proximity to walkway needed to have them drawn at night for privacy but then no air ( no air con!!) Even in middle of winter it was too hot! with a little window above door only fresh air ( no heating on). Sleep quality very poor! Only way out to main entrance was through corridor which flooded when it rained ( and it did several times in 3 days). Had to carry suitcases ourselves through this water. Restaurant approached from our side only up steep steps , OK for us as able bodied, but nightmare for people with disabilities!.Slippy when wet! Food very average with little choice sometimes if you did not eat meat! Drinks charged to our bill twice which we did not have! (understaffed?) Could have been serious problem on our early checkout but sorted out night before when restaurant open.
Ran a bus service to other sister hotels and town from 10-30AM to about 7-30pm (open top d. decker), tried to catch it at 10-30 but very full so would wait for later one (every 15 mins) Asked desk about next to town due -yes . difficult to get service or attention from hotel desk!. Caught bus it seemed to go round other hotels and the arrived back at Clube.Thought it would then go to town but went round the again. bus driver queried why we were still on it. It only went to the town at 10-30AM but spent the next 9 hours going round the 3 sister Hotels!! What a pointless service. On examining bus advert very small unclear print could be interpreted in this way but why did the desk not tell us? Very unhelpful reception. Very noisy with building work. Advert for hotel showed nice room and undoubtedly they do have better ones which were empty so why put us in room from hell. In the summer it must be unbearable there!
Worst Hotel have stayed in for more than 40 years.(and I have travelled with my job!) never want to go back!

Room Tip: Dont Go!! Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank galawales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Clube Praia da Oura.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had due to the noise from the works on site and for the allocation of your unit not being to your liking, your comment was passed on to the reservations department. All other issues mentioned were reported and we have addressed them with the respective departments.

It is our aim to offer guests an entirely satisfactory service at our Clube Praia da Oura and always try to meet with their requests.

We once again apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#87 of 154 in Albufeira
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $29 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing