We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #83 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I visited here early March with a tour group. Arriving at 10 am we were not expecting reception to be very helpful but we got checked in and most of us got rooms straight away. When I got to my room I found the builders were next door and the constant banging & drilling got to me. I asked at reception about the builders working hours to be told 8 - 8 and when I said there was no way I could cope with that she immediately checked for another room for me and I was allocated one in a quieter part of the resort. The apartments are well kitted out, spotlessly clean and I found mine to be perfectly spacious enough for one person, although I believe some of the apartments were rather smaller and had pull down beds.

My package included breakfast & buffet evening meal and the breakfast looked fine (I didn't eat much in the mornings) and the evening buffet had a great range of food - if you liked the style on the night, eg Chinese, Indian, etc and unfortunately the food did not appeal to me but the hotel can't be blamed for my taste and I managed to fill up on something! There is an a la carte menu but I have no idea what it was like.

The grounds are gorgeous and the resort really is on the beach. There are two sun terraces which probably would not be adequate in peak season but in March it was easy to get a lounger at any time of day. My balcony did not catch the sun so I made use of the terraces although I didn't sit around much as that is not what I go on holidays for. I've seen other reviews talking about using balconies for privacy but not all balconies are private - those on the ground floor are closed but have footpaths in front of them and those on the upper floors are not closed to the front and the other apartment dwellers must pass by to access their own apartments, so if you want total privacy do not take a top floor apartment.

There is free wifi in the reception area and it was adequate for most peoples needs while on holiday. There was also entertainment every evening, certainly not everyone's taste but you can't please everyone.

The best thing about the resort was the staff, having interacted with plenty of them during the stay, I can honestly say that they were all lovely. Nothing was too much trouble, they were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want complete privacy don't take a room on the top floors - people at the end need to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cavanroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clube Praia da Oura, for your recent stay in Algarve.

We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again and hope you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering shortly.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 3,382 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked with Jet2 holidays. One bedroomed apartment for myself and my daughter. Very pleasantly surprised with resort and facilities especially as we got a really good deal with Jet2.
Apartment very clean although a little dated and had everything you could possibly need - but all apartments undergoing refurbishment. Plenty to do, good food in Jacs restaurant, staff friendly and helpful.
Only issue was double bed but as we had booked a one bedroomed apartment there was a pull out bed in the living room.
Location is stunning and we had a sea view, again unexpected. Located at the bottom of the strip so five minutes walk to all the nightlife. Free shuttle bus every morning into old town.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: One bedroomed apartments are spacious and on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Gina,

Thank you for choosing Club Praia da Oura for your recent stay in Algarve. We were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

With a view to improving accommodation and portfolio offerings we are upgrading a number of rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you again and hope you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering shortly.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the size and standard of the accommodation. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our one evening meal was poor but the breakfasts were good. Look forward to next time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank johnjen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we providede great customer service.

We have passed on your remark about the one evening meal to F&B management team.

We look forward to seeing you again at Clube Praia da Oura.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Flew to Faro with Jet2,couldn't fault them either flight out or return. Got to complex early evening, there were no fluent english speaking staff at reception, and this caused minor problems, also during our stay they did not seem to be really worried whether they helped you or not. Waiting staff were generally ok, cleaning staff were the best. Our cleaner was Ukrainian and spoke better english than those on reception!! The major problem at this complex is no air conditioning in the rooms at all. The excellent weather made up for any disappointments with the complex, which is trying to be 5 star but only reaching 3 stars. Would go back to the Algarve, just would not stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henryeighth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel.
We truly value the opinion of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.

With a view to improving accommodation quality we are upgrading a number of rooms.

We hope that you will visit us soon and give us the opportunity to once again serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a second stay at this hotel. This time stayed in small studio apartment with great sea views. At point of online booking we're offered 'room upgrade subject to availability' but on arrival we were told an upgrade was not possible despite the hotel only appearing half full. Had a nice stay overall, despite extensive building work and day-long drilling going on throughout the hotel complex. Would have expected building disruption to have been flagged at time of booking, or at least acknowledged during our stay (which it wasn't). Also disappointed at the hotel management's lack of interest in helping us to keep our apartment clean. We did not expect much, just the waste to be collected regularly but, despite a call to reception to request that our overflowing bin be emptied after a cleaner had not been around for 3 days, we saw no more of the cleaner for the remaining two days of our stay and had to dispose of our rubbish ourselves. In summary, nice holiday in great location, but let down by poor customer service.

Room Tip: Don't believe online booking info it if it promises 'room upgrade subject to availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulglink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay .

It is our aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at CPO. We have addressed the cleanliness issue, and spoken with the housekeeping department.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had due to works on site. All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to client’s holiday.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly. We wish to welcome you back in the new future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

HI i booked a holiday for myself & a disabled lady that i care for. When booking the holiday the hotel was informed the lady was disabled & as me being her carer i would need to be allocated a room next to her. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a very rude member of staff who then informed us that the hotel has gone bust & we needed to pay again & to claim it back on our insurance. I was horrified & all the member of staff could say was he could do nothing & i must pay. I then quickly rang my travel agent who said they had payed again 3 days prior to me arriving & that the hotel was trying to pull a fast one on people. Eventually we were told we could have our rooms, i was given the keys then sent on our way, no directions to where our rooms was, no help with our bags. After finding the apartment through the maze of thousands of rooms we find steps going up to our floor!!! unbelievable they could see i was with a lady with limited mobility. But that was nothing compared to the noise we woke up to the next day drilling, banging from 8am till 7pm everyday. The hole room was shaking it was horrific, they where using big drills pulling down the walls of all the apartments around us. The lady i took away has a acquired brain injury & any loud noise is unbearable to her, even i had headaches from the noise.I asked for us to be moved but i was told there was nothing except for one room available which still had building work being done above but nothing to the extent of the rest of the hotel. I moved my lady down to that room but this would mean i was 5 floors away from her. I was left up in the building site with everyday the noise getting worse with them starting on more rooms, with me running up & down to make sure she was ok. It was a disaster holiday but it could of been so lovely the position of the hotel was perfect, a gorgeous beach on our door step.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingdreadlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment regarding your stay with us.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, due to the noise from the building on site and the distance between your apartment and the one allocated to the disabled lady.
All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust your will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly. We wish to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Currently sat at the Beach cafe writing this review which is a 2 minute stroll from our apartment. We are staying in room 447 which is at the side of the hotel. You get the sun until 2pm each day so we then move down to the beach cafe which is lovely. The view of the beach from,our apartment is amazing.
The rooms are spotless and the building work has not disrupted our holiday at all. It does seems slightly noisier around he main pool area so,if you are coming out shortly, pay extra for the sea view.
Make an effort to go to the Sizzling Stone restaurant, great food & great service.
Can't wait to come back when all the renovations are completed. Well do CPO!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Stephen&Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our aim to offer our guests satisfactory service at Clube Praia da Oura and apologize for any inconvenience due to the works on site.

All efforts are being made to minimize disruption to clients’ holiday enjoyment.

We appreciate your valuable support and trust you will be delighted with the new standard of apartments we will be offering you shortly. We wish to welcome you welcome you back soon in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
476 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $29 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing