We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some things were good, some things were not so good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #83 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a half board basis in the month of October. It is a very large hotel of 550 bedrooms based a 5 minute walk from the strip & approx 3 kilometers from the main town Albufeira. It is well located as it is within easy reach of a number of beaches, bars, restaurants, & late night disco bars. There is a supermarket 5 minutes from the hotel, a bus stop for the old town directly behind the hotel & only a ten minute walk to the bus stop for Faro as well as several other destinations. You can also book various bus trips & other activities from booking offices close by.

The room i was given was good sized with 2 single beds [somewhat on the narrow size & a little firm] each supplied with only one pillow. It had its own kitchenette which was well kitted out.The en suite was adequate but was lacking in toiletries.I approached a cleaning staff member who supplied me extra toiletries without any fuss.The room had a good quality flat screen TV which included a decent selection of English channels & a bonus of a DVD player,The room had a fine balcony with table & chairs.Minus bits were having to share the room with tiny ants & no air conditioning.

Te hotel has a fine swimming pool which was kept spotless & situated next to the bar/restaurant area.

They also had a fine restaurant which served a excellent breakfast with a good selection of goodies.Unfortunately the included dinner which was served buffet style did not match up. The 1st night had a Indian theme which was good but the quality of the food for the remainder of the week somewhat deteriorated. One thing that was very annoying was the desk at the enterance of the restaurant which was manned by only one person which often meant there was often a wait of 5 to 10 minutes for people both entering & leaving the restaurant.The restaurant staff were excellent.They were hard working & did their best to sort any issues that arose.

In the evenings they usually had music in the bar area & the bar staff always had a smile for their costumers.The price of drinks at the hotel is generally more expensive than the surrounding bars especially during the day as most bars reduced their prices during this period.

There may be some minus points but there are a lot of good points to this hotel.Generally it is well maintained with a pleasant hard working staff.They state that they are upgrading the hotel which is good to hear.Would I stay here again & the answer probably would be yes but I would prefer to try & get a hotel in the main town Albufeira.

Room Tip: Try & get a room with a sea view to enjoy from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimBobJoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your constructive comments were greatly appreciated, the feedback from guests such, as yourselves are invaluable in assisting us, and encouraging us to meet our guests needs and expectations.
Your compliments were forwarded to our staff and highly appreciated. Once again, many thanks for your kind words, and we look forward to have the opportunity again to welcoming you at Clube Praia da Oura in a near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,097 - 2,103 of 3,382 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here in July and had a fabulous time. We have visited 5 years in a row and it is perfect for us and our family. We are always really lucky with the apartments we get, always near the sea with beautiful views of the grounds. Pools are busy but it doesnt bother us, we always manage to find 5 loungers. There was entertainment in the shape of a pool party atmosphere from 4.00 to 6.00pm this year, we loved it, although I can understand it may not be everyone's idea of relaxation,. Nearby beach is lovely, and there are lots of watersports available. There are a number of restaurants right on the beach front.

Strip of bars and restaurants nearby, so plenty of choices of food and entertainment, with plenty of shops to buy gifts etc.

Cant wait to go back again in July and meet up with the many friends we have made over the years.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time on this review.
We are glad you had a good time at our hotel and were satisfied with our customer service. Your review encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.
All the Clube Praia da Oura staff look forward for your next visit so we can provide you once again, with great quality holidays.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My family and I visited back in feb this year ( only just joined trip advisor) we had a fab time the beach is fantastic, we used to stay in the crowne plaza villamoura but found the cpo much more relaxed and fun for our little girl who is six. Some fab local places to eat and a wonderful way to escape the grey sky's of blighty. We have re booked for feb 2014. The only thing I would love to see change is the outdoor pool, far to cold in the winter if this could be heated to any degree of usability then it would be fab for the children as when the sun is shining they get very frustrated that the water is so cold.we tried the indoor pool at sister hotel ,we were surprised to have to pay , unfortunately it is one depth so my little one could not stand up anywhere which made her a little scared to return. Overall a fantastic place to visit and we look forward to bringing my family back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Argentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our resort and that we have provided you with great customer services.
As part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests, your remarks regarding the swimming pool were passed to our Resort Management for attention.
All the Clube Praia da Oura staff look forward for your next visit so we can provide you once again, with great quality holidays.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Club praia da oura is a super resort and great location , but it is being spoilt now by the recent management take over .
Away with the bowling green where we spent long afternoons overlooking the sea. It's now a chill,out bar area?????
The reception has been renovated although I must say this is a benefit .
Skanty clad Brazilian dancers great round the pool area In front of families , it's not appropriate entertainment for daytime entertainment.
The food has changed its a menu suited to those with more exotic tastes, not traditional to Portugal anymore .
Prices on the complex have risen .
The staff many who we have known for years are not happy in their work as they used to be.
The transfer they used to provide for us is one with another company who are a shuttle service and go everywhere before they get to the hotel. They used to use yelloww fishtaxis who are brilliant took you straight there no hassle now I suppose for the management at clubs praia da oura a shuttle is cheaper .
From now on we only book a private transfer with yellowfishttransfer .it's possible to do it online and it's well priced and direct with a free gift and free wifi

I think there will continue to be a lot of unhappy regulars at cpo , I hope that's the last of the changes for now .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your constructive comments are invaluable in assisting us, and encouraging us to meet our guests needs and expectations.
Bowling green was closed during the summer due to the high temperatures, as well for one of our new approaches of the outdoor entertainment program. This initiative has been appreciated by most of our guests, and the feedback received has been positive in most cases, however, the bowling green is now open again, for the pleasure of all our guests that are fan of this game.
Hotel management transitions are very complex affairs that involve managers, staff and our valued customers, so we can only appreciate our guest´s comprehension on this matter, assuring you of our best intentions at all this process.

In fact, the recent management has made some important changes for the benefit of our guests. As you noted, reception as already benefit from the refurbishing process that we started. As per information received from the administration, improvements inside the apartments will start this winter, it is planned to have the apartments upgraded, modernized and fitted so we are able to achieve our guest requests.
As part of our continuing efforts to improve our services your comments had been passed to our management team and have been highly appreciated by our entertainment staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in Clube Praia da Oura and hope to be able to please you.
Our Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a great holiday - this is the place to be. Returning in 10 weeks for another helping! Have returned home having made 2 new friends with the resident Sax player and Cristiano from the entertainment team. 5/5 for everything

Room Tip: The one bed apts above the swimming pool are simply the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobleroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided great customer service. Your compliments to our staff were forwarded and highly appreciated. This kind attention from customers like you, will only help us improve further for all our Guest.
We look forward to welcoming you back after those 10 weeks and provide you once again, with great quality holidays.
Our Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice now, and have booked for a third visit next year. I stayed in a studio this year which was clean and well presented. The kitchen had all the things you need to cook simple meals and had ample room to prepare food. The bed was very comfortable and the linen clean.
Staff all over the resort were helpful and friendly and by the second day knew what drink i wanted so poured it as he saw me walking in.
All in all it was a wonderful stay. Very much looking forward to coming back next year.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank AdamOfBrum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided great customer service. We thank you for your comments which will help us improve further for all our Guest.
We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira on your next visit, so we can provide you once again with great quality holidays.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

M y wife Janet and I have just had a lovely holiday in albufeira,we stayed at the clube Praia da oura our apartment was overlooking the beach and we had superb views.i would advise anyone to take a vacation here there is plenty to do and plenty of great restaurants and bars close by.there are shows nightly in Amanda's bar and karaoke every Wednesday evening.great food in macs restaurant and reasonably priced.they also have a bowling green and other activities like archery and pool.cant wait to return in January.(been here 9 times can't stay away grat holiday every time.)

Room Tip: One bedroomed apartments with sea views I think are the best and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keithcccc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your enthusiastic comments. We are glad you had a good time at our hotel and were satisfied with our customer service. Your review encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.
All the Clube Praia da Oura staff look forward for your next visit so we can provide you once again, with great quality holidays.

Our Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#88 of 154 in Albufeira
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
476 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $29 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing