We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,504)
Filter reviews
3,504 results
Traveler rating
898
1,150
750
385
321
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
1,150
750
385
321
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling greenjacs restaurantself cateringsea viewold townpraia da ourastudio apartmentlarge complexpull out bedgreat holidaysun loungersbars and restaurantsevery other dayfree buswashing up liquidhotel groundsoverlooking the beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,217 - 2,222 of 3,504 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel in located in a central location, however if you struggle with steps n hills it's hard going. The hotel staff are a mixed bunch, the cleaning staff especially lucia - sorry if that's not correct spelling (8th floor) who is fantastic nothing is too much trouble for her,however the restaurant staff have varied from fantastic and absolute rubbish the man who hugs the till in the restaurant is too busy messing with other staff instead of giving the paying customer his full attention and he's is really rude! sometimes older people don't just quite get it so explain it more! The hotel is clean, centrally located with fantastic view of the bay, I would go back tomorrow but not have the half board offer as it's confusing and I believe in my own opinion not good value for money, however it's early days yet so it can only get better. The hotel has a new owner who seems to be sorting out previous issues. Don't write this hotel off as it's lovely and I would return tomorrow. The top floor is the place to stay as you get sun all day and it's quite so you do not get other guest walking passed your room at all hours. The only negative point is the constant dog barking from the residential area next to the hotel which the resort seems unable to sort out, it can be during the day or at 4.00am in the morning it doesn't matter as their response is they will call the police - fat lot they will do about it, however if you can filter this out - which can be hard- it's a lovely place to stay which seems to cater for all ages. It has entertainment each night which tries to cater to everyone both young and old. I think that perhaps that the internet access is limited to the reception area is a mistake as it makes this area a bit noisy with people talking and messaging family, when providing this service to each Room,would free up this area and keep this area computer free! However, this is my own opinion and it's all about our own choice, so try and see for your self. It's a safe family fun place that is trying to cater for everyone!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank FamilyH0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, your praises about our staff was most appreciated. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, so your comments about the restaurant were forwarded to our F&B manager to consideration. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again to Clube Praia da Oura on your next visit to Albufeira.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice hotel with great location, good hotel restaurants, average service. The room was simply horrible, with a constant sour smell, extremely uncomfortable single camp beds and very tired overall look.
The balconies are somewhat like a small town motel, with everybody circulating in front of our room while taking a peek.
There was absolutely no Air conditioning, as it was hot & stuffy days & nights even with fans blowing. The kitchenette was very basic, without even a single grain of salt, pepper or sugar. There is no coffee machine, not even a Mellita filter cup. There is no daily maid service (3 times a week).
Forget about Wifi internet access ($$) as it is slower that a dialup hookup.

2 Chairs and an umbrella is 12 Euro, each beach towel is a 10 Euros deposit and they give you back 5 euros when you return them. The towels are so small, tired and thin, that it may be suitable for a small children. I honestly do not think the towels even worth 5 euros.

Free parking is next to impossible to get, and you will wind up paying 15 euros per day to park your car.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Saddened to know you were not pleased with your room during your stay. Your comments have been taken onboard as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests. We are a resort, so we don´t have daily maid services as normally happens in a hotel service. We are constantly renovating apartments and really hope to welcome you to a refurbished apartment on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Have been going to cpo for many years and the attraction for us was the bowling green. Over the years we have made many friends at the green and the ocean bar a lot of whom are like us, returning guests. This year however due to new management the green was turned into a party area with seating and music, but we were told that it would be operational by the time we were going over. Sadly when we got there this was not the case. The seats and disco unit was still on the green but were covered up and not being used but the management have decided that they are not going to open the green back up either. They don't seem to care that a lot of retired people go over year after year to play in the winter competitions and league and that they have either already arrived or have flights and accommodation booked for the winter months but now have no bowling green to play on! There was no advance warning of this and the bowling green is still being advertised on their website. During our 10 day stay we say only a handful of people sitting at the ocean bar having a drink as the green was closed. Usually at this time of year there are loads of people playing bowls daily and many others sitting on the terrace watching and enjoying the play. I cannot understand why the management would want to turn all these paying customers away and lose the income from the bowling fees and the bar? They are also driving away many long term frequent visitors to the area over the winter months when I would have they would have been welcoming them. Shame on you. Without the bowling green we and many others will not be back!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank scatcat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your review, your comments are most appreciated. This year the new management tried a new approach for entertainment in the bowling green, especially due to the high temperatures that were felt during this summer. Your opinion will be taken into account and your comments regarding customer services were forwarded so they can reply. We really hope to welcoming you back to our resort soon and to toast with the usual quality of services which we are very proud to offer our guests at Clube Praia da Oura.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If any bowlers are looking to play bowls at cpo forget it. the managemet have in their wisdom decided to scrap that and have the entertainment down there. no problem with that in high season but in September and October lots of regular visitors come especially to play and were very dissapointed. it was a social meeting place and this has now gone. we were regular visitors there for over 5 years going twice a year but to be honest will think twice about going next year. when we spoke wth customer service never came back to us re this also we complained in March re carvery in Jacs and had no feed back what so ever so as to these new owners would not say that they have improved anything.

Room Tip: studio apartments are bigger away from the swimming pool. the apartments round the pool are very dated and need updating alot
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Delphine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Have had numerous holidays at this complex lovely views over the atlantic. Entertainment nightly very professional bowling green tennis courts and great swimming pools great holiday planning to return next june. Campbell@ jan

Room Tip: Sea view apartments are fantastic
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews