We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our yearly September visit to CPO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #80 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I go with my family to CPO every year in January and September. the location of our apartment is superb overlooking the sea and we always have a great time. The staff and the service are always first rate and it is a great place to relax, explore the surrounding area and visit the many restaurants and attractions. This year there was a bit of work going on which meant some of the facilities were not available. This did not affect my enjoyment. The only downside on this visit was that my apartment was a bit jaded. The decor and furnishings need a bit of refurbishment to bring it more up to date and replace broken or defective items, although when things were reported they were dealt with quickly. I believe a partial refurbishment is being done over the next few months although I don't know what this entails. Hopefully it will include some internal redecs. One other thing of note - when using the gym facilities at the associated hotel I noticed a number of pieces of equipment were out of order or defective and a water leak made the floor slippy in places. Hopefully these will be rectified by my next visit. Given these points it is still a great place to go!!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms, although slightly costlier, give you a superb vista and are quieter than the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your visit this year. We are making important changes for the benefit of our guests. We are constantly renovating apartments in our continuing efforts to improve our services and our resorts. Your comments regarding the gym water leak at our other hotel, were forwarded to maintenance and its already being repaired so next time you visit us you could use it without any inconvenient . We hope to welcome you to a refurbished apartment on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,177 - 2,183 of 3,445 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went here for a week through R.C.I. as we have a Time Share in Anfi, Gran Caneria. Although not as luxurious as Anfi, we felt this Time Share was very good. We had a ground floor apartment near to the pool and were very glad we didn't have a higher apartment as the 2 lifts nearby broke down for a day. The apartment was very clean, towels changed every couple of days. The Restuarant for breakfast was superb, we booked for the week and it only cost the equavalent of 5 euros' per day. All you could eat of the buffet, the chef cooked fried eggs, waffles, omelettes and pancakes to order, that's as well as boiled and scrambled eggs and the usual 'english' items, plus continental, fruit, yogurt etc. The Staff were very helpul and very pleasant. The gardens were kept lovely and all the areas were well maintained and clean. We had to pay 18-50Euros's (per week) for the safety deposit box in the room and beach towels, which we use for the sun beds, were not provided. Some people must have been up at the crack of dawn to save their favourite beds, but we always managed to find two for ourselves. The local bus to Albufeira is only a short walk away (get off at the 'old town' not the bus station) and is great for a night out, very lively. There are lots of good cafe's and restuarants nearby for an evening meal. We would definately go again.

Room Tip: If you have poor mobility you definately need a room near to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, your comments and praises about our staff are most appreciated. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we are pleased that you were happy with the customer service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clube Praia da Oura on your next visit to Albufeira.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Best accommodation anywhere .
We go most years when we give it a miss we always regret it.
Beach location , entertainment , bowling green, beach bars and restaurants of variation.
It s not necessary to leave the complex.
Algarve is a short flight so is ideal for families.
We get a transfer on arrival with yellowfishtrasfer from Faro airport to hotel , they are always there never let us down .
Forget to book it one year , were gutted as a taxi from the airport was twice the price , didn't forget since Thats for sure.

Only drawback is there is no air con in apartments its gets hot , they do provide a fan but not the same as A/C but its manageable
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Clube Praia da Oura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Studio rooms are small as other reviews have pointed out. But very adequate for lazing and sleeping. Also often commented is the 80s decor but as a product of the 80s myself I see no complaint there. However these rooms do only have 2 pullout single beds. Not very comfortable.

Great tip was to use the Elevator to floor 9 to cut out the hill. From the top of the hill you can get a bus to the old town. Very easy and cheap.

There is no free wifi in the rooms. But you can get free wifi from lobby. Ask at reception for key.

Unfortunately there isn't nearly enough sun beds at the pool for guests! So you need to get out early to reserve a bed. The no reservation rule is not enforced but I was too British to reserve one. LOL.

Personally found the pool dancers were lame and didn't want to be there. Their hearts just weren't in it. Not worth waiting around for. But the entertainments guy was hilarious.

Rather than eat at the hotel restaurant (Jac's) we often went to the restaurants on the seafront. Walk along the cliff top to the right. Great at sunset. If you walk left and down some wooden steps you find by far the best beach. Soft sand and nice rock-less sea front.

All in all if you just need a base of operations and some where to laze about this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrispieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your informative review. It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests. We ask our guests not to reserve sun beds, unfortunately this is not always the case, and nevertheless we will take your comments regarding the pool for review. Comments about entertainment staff were appreciated by our staff members. Thank you for your good vibration about our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I have just checked out after our 4 night stay at CPO.
I was very nervous about what we were going to be staying in after the influx of poor reviews recently. We arrived early afternoon and our room was not ready (fine) so we left our luggage and explored to the beach. The hotel is in a stunning location right by the beach with lovely grounds. By 3pm our room was ready and we were put in 1306.
The room had enough space for us even with the bed pulled down and was clean which were 2 of our main concerns after reading the reviews. We had a double bed (which we requested but I am sure they are smaller than a standard double.) The mattress and pillows are shocking. We had 3 pillows and didn't want to complain so I slept on 1 and let the fiancé have 2. I have a really bad neck and back after my 4 nights here and 1 night even used my travel pillow to sleep on (that didn't work really)
The room has no air com and a dusty fan. We have been unlucky and have not had hot weather at all so the room wasn't hot to need it.
The lock on our door was an issue. The first time we left the room the door locked fine however it didn't always lock and we spent a lot of time trying different ways to get it to lock (best method that worked was opening he door, putting the key card in and then shutting it, lifting up the handle and praying it locked) but it often took us 5 mins or so. The only reason we didn't complain was because we didn't want to be put in a bad room that I had read about but that needs to be seen to and we told them when we checked out.
Pool area and grounds are gorgeous and reception is nice too. They just need to put more effort into other important things like the beds and pillows, having a bad nights sleep and achey bones is not what you want after a holiday. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sbchannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Saddened to know you felt uncomfortable in your moments of rest during your stay with us. We have no record of complaints during your stay and I am sure that our reception staff would be happy to do their best to minimize the inconvenience you experienced and ensure that your stay was pleasant as possible. We have forwarded your remarks about the mattress and pillows to housekeeping manager to investigation, and they will be swapped for a better ones. We also sent your comments about door lock to Maintenance Manager for investigation and action if needed. We are constantly renovating apartments in our continuing efforts to improve our services and our resorts. We sincerely hope to have the chance of welcoming you again so you can re-evaluate our Hotel and validate our improvements.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been timeshare owners at this resort for about 12 years and have two apartments one for two weeks in last week in June and first in July and one this week in September. We have seen many changes over the years and was pleased to see that the bathroom had been updated. The cleaning does seem to have deteriorated a bit though but we do have clean towels and a change of bedlinen during the week. We were however disappointed that the bowling green had been transferred into the entertainments area, as we used to enjoy sitting down there during happy hour in the early evening and having the odd game of bowls. Both of our apartments overlook the beach and love the area very much. The pool area has been beautifully modernised although previously the pool attendant used to police the reservation of sun beds to stop people putting towels on early and then not returning until much later to claim them. There also used to be many more sunbeds and parasols on the terraces around the resort. However we love this place and hope the renovations will continue as promised.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool or sea view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your review, your comments are most appreciated. This year the new management tried a new approach for entertainment in the bowling green, especially due to the high temperatures that were felt during this summer. Your opinion will be taken into account and reported to our entertainment team. Regarding the pool area, we ask our guests not to reserve sun beds, unfortunately this is not always the case, and nevertheless we will pass your comments regarding the sun beds to Management for review. Hope to welcoming you back to our resort soon.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Used to go there regularly years ago, and although it seems to have got just a little corporate, it's still the best as far as facilities and position in the resort. Bit dull round the area in February, but good price and very relaxing. Unfortunately we got one of the 'unrenovated' rooms, but that's life, so I've dropped it a point. And the best restaurant ever just up the road, The Cockrell Kitchen.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your review. We are constantly renovating apartments in our continuing efforts to improve our services and our resorts. We hope to welcome you to a refurbished apartment on your next visit.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#79 of 152 in Albufeira
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 152 in Albufeira
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 152 in Albufeira
821 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $25 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing