We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #80 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week (5-12 Sept 2013)
Very large complex.
Our room was ok for the amount of time we spent in it.
Only major complaint would be the lack of air-con!! However we knew before hand that there wasn't any but was assured there were fans. In actual fact there was only one freestanding fan that was so filthy I'm sure it wasn't doing the job it was meant to be doing!!!
We stayed on a B&B basis.
We cannot fault the breakfast, Jacs restaurant where we had
it or any of the breakfasting staff. All were superb!!!!
We would definitely stay here again but hopefully when we do all the rooms will have air- con by then. Over all it was a pleasant stay. And only a brisk 20 min walk to the old Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autumncolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear guest,
many thanks for your informative review. Your comments regarding Breakfast will be relayed to our F&B manager. It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future in a refurbished apartment.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,350)
There are newer reviews for Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,105 - 2,111 of 3,350 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We've just returned from a 10 day stay at club Praia having stayed 3 times before in the hotel over the road, Forte de oura. First the good stuff, Praia gardens, aviary location are spot on with impressive views for most rooms but this is a pretty BIG complex which comes with its own pros and cons. Sept is ideal for a couple, still quite hot at times and you do need air con and at this time of the year and is slightly cheaper outside term time, although there's still a number of kids by the pool. Close to everything here, bus stop, taxi rank, shops, cafe and bars, the hotel sits nicely between them and the beach it's a very short walk to anything. And the not so good, the 10 days we were there the maid came in 3 times and although relatively clean I think the maid should check towels etc every other day. We were in the top k block and quite surprised that it was a hike from check in of 200 yards in 80 deg heat up hill, and they hadn't activated the key when we found the room so it was another trip to reception! The pool and sunbeds scenario seems to be the norm in Portugal but the rooms did have a private balcony with beds and brolly, brilliant touch. Air con is a problem and should be fitted even if they do charge extra but the fan was very welcome. On the whole, good value for money with everything at your finger tips!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazzilbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

well.......just arrived back from club praia da oura (been many times before)..I stayed 5th/19th september and on the whole had a very good time.
So lets start with the fact that the complex and the associated hotels are now owned by a company called Infiniti leisure.
So the good stuff first....i stayed in a club studio apartment in block E (662) overlooking the bowling green and the sea. As usual the apartment was clean and tidy and the maid visited every other day.
The grounds are immaculately kept and the staff are friendly.There is now a new "swanky" reception area that is quite impressive compared to the previous.
Also not once did anybody bother me trying to get me to signe up to the points club (timeshare) and part with dosh.....hoorahh.
The main pool has been modernised so that the water level is flush with the area were the sun loungers are......but no under water window in the reception area anymore.
Now for the "gripes"........
There is still no air con in the apartments this is supplied by plug in fans....but as i had a sea view with a sea breeze at night this didn't really bother me (remember BLOCK E....and never never block K).
For those of you who like to go bowling..forget it' the bowling green is recarpeted during the summer months and entertainment is held there most nights until midnight.
For some reason the hotel seems to think that couples who have been allocated/booked a club studio apartment like to spend the whole holiday pushing two single beds together and falling down the gap in the centre.....surely they can find a way/bracket to fit to the beds so this does not happen.
The "dawn chorus".....no not the birds.....the DOGS!!!! there happens to be a few resedential properties were the owners have dogs from the small yappy ones to the big howling ones from what i gather...and this was a constant wake up call unless you closed all the "french windows" at night.
All the apartments have limited satelite tv with very bad reception....but then again you don't go on holiday to watch tv do you?? But when the Daily Mirror is triple the price , half as thick and has constantly got Rhiannas mug in the centre pages.......how do you keep up on the news.
And finaly....and this is not really the hotels fault.
There is within " a stones throw" two beaches......one is large and long and busy ( jet ski hire etc) and a smaller quieter one which i like to frequent with a cafe. This year i noticed on occasion the amounts of cigarette buts lying around on the sand this was quite off putting....but not as off putting as middle aged women lying around topless ( and i have to say the british are the worst offenders...i mean you don't do it at home so why here.....duhhhh).......but on the whole i would recommend Clube Praia da Oura.......for families in the school holidays and definately for grown ups in september.

muito obrigado..chou!!!!

Room Tip: ask for block E (west) F,D,C(not studio)and B (not studio)......never K.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here 7 - 14 September. Went with some apprehension after reading recent reviews but CPO quickly won us over. Arrived at 10.30 in the morning but room not ready until 4.00 pm, but we had anticipated and planned for that. We had booked a one bed appartment and were very suprised and pleased with what we got. The appartment was in a quiet part of the complex, on two levels with a large patio area. Only downside was it did'nt get much sun but there was a nice garden area adjacent which got sun nearly all day. The kitchen was well equiped if you wanted to do your own cooking. We had room service 3 times during our stay.

CPO is a very large complex but it is very clean and the gardens are really well maintained. Shame about the 120 year old tree which came crashing down one night !!

Staff were all friendly and helpful.

I can see why people may not like this place, some of the studios we saw were very small and in noisier locations. As it was out of school holidays there wern't many children about and there was a very relaxing atmoshphere about the place. Yes you do need to reserve your sun bed quite early !! but we always managed to get one on the days we wanted.

There is a good selection of bars on site, we did'nt eat at Jacs,

Situated almost on the beach and about 5 mins from the strip, if that's your sort of thing. If it's not, which was us, then there are numerous bars and good restaurants in the immediate vacinity of CPO - try the Sizzling Stone. The old town is lovely and well worth a few visits. It's a good 20 min walk or get a taxi or the tourist train from the strip.

Overall we had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at CPO.

Room Tip: Book an appartment rather that studio
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike-Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, General Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your visit and for your review. Your comments will be passed on to staff to encourage them giving the best service and experience to our guests. We will be very happy to welcome you next year.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a family holiday from this resort and I don't normally do reviews but I felt people should be warned before handing over their money!

We were here for 11 days and booked via Jet2.com rather than ourselves. We travelled as part of a family (Grandparents and us plus our 2 kids), and on arrival was told that the Gramps' 'studio' room wasn't going to be available until 5pm and as we'd been up since 3 in the morning didn't go down too well. We however went up to our one-bedroomed apartment and got settled in.

This apartment appeared to be a nice little place with good sized bedroom, plenty storage space, first-floor south-facing terrace viewing over the pool and sufficient kitchen area which appeared to be clean, however on closer inspection found a few snags:
-- Firstly, there was a flower bed outside separating the terrace from the walkway, which is ok when the flowers are out, however it also provides an excellent nesting place for ants. If you do end up getting one of these apartments, make sure you store all 'loosely contained' food (ie bread, pastries, breakfast cereal etc etc) in the fridge and don't leave a single crumb of food on the floor outside or inside or the ants will be everywhere within a few hours!
-- Secondly, the doorlock on the inside was low enough for our 3-year old to reach up and unlock - this is definitely a bad thing as we intended to have her sleep in the living room with us in the bed but decided her being able to get out during the night was too much of a risk so I stayed on the sofa with the Mrs in the bed with daughter and the baby in the travel cot (by the way, if you want a travel cot reserve one ahead of arrival - also see if they have high chairs!).
-- Thirdly, the fans were awful - in 25 degrees of heat at its coolest point at night you're going to need the fans on. The ones provided in the bedroom were caked in dust and looked like they'd never been cleaned! We had to complain twice before someone came to clean them - after realising that they'd been making us feel ill for 4 days. The single fan on the wall in the living room was so old the flaps had warped meaning the air didn't move anywhere and so was just switched off. Air con is desperately needed in this place.
-- Fourthly, the bathroom... well the shower in particular. The shower head was loose, wouldn't stay in a good position and 'dribbled' rather than showered. The disabled handrail was falling off the wall in the bath and looked incredibly unsafe as if it would come straight out if you put your hand on it!

After we got settled in we went down to see how the grandparents were getting on and found them having a look round their room, and yes, it was just a room! The studio is very 'pokey', enough room for the pull-out sofa bed, one chair and the kitchen area with a tiny bathroom in the back and that's all you get. Although they had no problem with the ants (as there was no flower bed near the studio apartment) they had the same problem with the fans and the doorlock. They also had a ceiling light without a fitting - just exposed wires - and old damp stains on the ceiling. These kind of problems should be sorted after one person leaves the apartment, not every few months or whenever they get round to it.

The CPO had some good bits though - in particular the pool, bar and the cleaning staff are so friendly and don't give up trying to understand you if they don't speak english - we should really learn Portuguese! The pool was free to use, was a good size for the amount of people staying (probably a little too small when busy during school holidays though) and open all day (until about 8pm) for early morning swim and sunbed reservations! To all the people who moan about that, I say get out of bed earlier!

The location is great too, 5 minutes from the beach, 5 minutes from a good bar and restaurant place (I think someone has already mentioned "Neto" as a must-visit eatery, and the "Oura bar" two doors away from that for drinks afterwards/beforehand/both!) and across the road from there is the taxi rank, a 6-ish Euro taxi fare gets you to 'Old town' Albufeira where you can go to the strip and the square where all the central bars and restaurants are, with lots of stalls selling touristy gifts. There's also a couple of supermarkets and lots of travel ticket shops which sell day-trips on coaches to places (I recommend 'AquaShow' - a water-theme park) within 10 minutes walk.

All the restaurant and bar staff were brilliant, with two young (and screaming most of the time) kids not one of them had a bad attitude towards us, more wanting to interact with the younger ones unlike most bar staff in this country.

Torwards the end of the holiday (second to last day in fact) we received a slip to say what was going to be on at the bar and bowling green for the next week, that would have been useful to have been given to us on arrival so we could have made a decent itinerary and gone to the things we wanted to see like the reptile show. There was also a safe in each room which should be included in the price but you have to rent that from them too.

All in all it was a really nice place but the multiple ant invasions and the fans put a bit of a dampener on it.

Room Tip: Push for Air-con, dont get a room near a flower bed but do try and get one facing the pool!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear guest, t
hank you for your review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time spent with us despite the ants and the issue of the door lock. You could have asked for guidance on reception to try to address this security issue, I am sure that our staff would be happy to help you. Regarding your arrival, many hotels have a standard check-in time after 5 p.m. This is to give the chance to clean the rooms/apartments for new arrivals. Our Reception does offer luggage storage free of charge and our complex offers a variety of facilities while you wait for your apartment to be ready. Refurbishment is an ongoing process and we are doing our best to satisfy all guests, so that they can fully enjoy their accommodations. Your comments have been duly noted, and all compliments transmitted to our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here in Oct and found the complex excellent. We took a shuttle bus from the airport which dropped us at the reception door. The apartment was well equipped but could have be doing with A/C especially in the summer months. Breakfast variety was good, and there was a variety of entertainment each evening in the bar, in fact there were also mid-evening entertainment e.g bingo. There were plenty of excursions from the complex, we took one to rural Portugal and to land's end and also a marathon one to Gibraltar!! We enjoyed our week tremendously and recommended it to friends who have gone to and returned to the complex a few times also. Would easily return.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment with a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we stayed here as part of a two couple family holiday and had a relly good time . the location is superb as it is 2 minutes to the beach and 5 minutes to the "strip". our room was adequate but was in need of an overall . staff were very helpful and the grounds were immaculate . our main gripe was the reserving of sun beds , some were reserved and not used for hours on end . this we felt was very unfair as the pool area was not large enough for the size of the complex . the saving grace to this is that the company who owns this premises also owns oura beach complex which is 3 minutes away and has a much larger pool complex and sun beds are readily available and signs state they cannot be reserverd ,thought this strange as owned by the same people.this fact and the location , along with the pricing of the apartment are the reasons for the 4 star rating. a lot of work to do on room up keep though.

Room Tip: we had a sea view and this was great , pool views look good too
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dazza69Tipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive comments about Club Praia de Oura. We are glad you had a good time at our hotel and were satisfied with our customer service. Regarding the pool sunbends, we have the same policy for all resorts and ask all our guests not to reserve sun beds, unfortunately this is not always the case. We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Albufeira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#86 of 154 in Albufeira
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
786 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
3.7 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $27 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing