We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for a room with a sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Go for a room with a sea view”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked a week here from 4th to 12th April, just a studio apartment.
We smoothly checked in at 1am, and had a treck to our room in block K, which was very nice, clean, plenty of room, nice furnishings and t.v.
Beds not very comfy, but as it was late fell to sleep straight away, but woken up at about 4am by noisy people returning after a night out ( the design of this block is all corridors are open on the inside of the building, so you can here all comings and goings)
So we hot footed to reception in the morning and saw a very nice man who changed our room to one overlooking the sea which was lovely and quiet, with a private balcony and just the sound of the waves crashing in (ok it did cost another 54 euro's, but worth every cent)
Again this room was very clean, with the maids changing towels and cleaning every other day, the balcony was private with two sun beds, and got the sun in the afternoon.
I don't know whether there are apartments with double beds, but both apartments we had were twin beds, which were not very comfy ( think they need to do a bit of mattress replacing)
The pool area was good, the gardens well kept and tidy, and it's in a great location for the beach and walks along the coast ( you can walk right along the coast and beach to the old town)
There are lots of bars and restaurants up the hill from CPO, sol cafe does great toasties and coffee, and there is a supermarket round the corner.
We ate twice at the restaurant on site ( Jac's) and enjoyed both chicken piri piri and chicken kebab, good quality food.
All in all, a good place to go, especially if you can get it at a good price!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking sea and bowling green on floor 4 or 5 (Room 437)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazzaSazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive comments about your stay at the Clube Praia da Oura. We are glad our receptionist resolved your issue to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    1,058
    653
    330
    237
See reviews for
823
1,504
64
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I have just arrived home after an eight week stay here the only problem was that it wasnt long enough.My wife had two knee replacements last year and she says that the walking we have done has helped her to recover so it isnt all hills and steps.The weather wasnt quite as nice as we had hoped for but it was unusual for the Algarve to have had so much rain at this time of the year and we still managed to come home with a tan.We went with the intention of having a quiet relaxing holiday and we did.The studio apartment we had was big enough for the two of us and everything was provided even an iron and ironing board because we had gone for eight weeks we lived as we do at home with my wife making full use of the oven and hob top.The staff in reception were very helpful and friendly and the cleaning staff were great with no shortage of clean towels,even tea towels and the bed was changed every week.There was a full entertainment menu which we didnt use but it seemed popular with other guests.We had a room with a sea view and had our breakfast on the balcony most mornings (when the sun was shining) Would we go back YES tomorrow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasholmes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments . Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we hope you come and stay again perhaps in one of our other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

On arrival I had to give my credit card number so they could charge a: any damages to the room and b: room service etc to me.
We had to wait from arrival at 11am till 5.45pm to get in the room which meant a lot of waiting around but we were offered an alternative room which would be ready sooner (declined as the first room was on the sea front)
Rooms are clean and well equipped for self catering.
They give you a card which you can scan at the local jacs restaurant that charges it to your credit card instead of paying cash if you like.
We had a problem with slow drainage in the bath but an engineer was sent out immediately which was good (although it wasn't solved he did try)
Ask for Portuguese codfish at jacs it's lovely.
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Had apartment number f110 right on see front (f block has the best view of the sea)
Not a lot to do near the apartment however there were a few souvenir shops and restaurants nearby.
I would HIGHLY recommend the 'oriental tea' restaurant which is on the sea front, doesn't look like much but has excellent sea view, brilliant service (ask for Wesley) and fantastic food especially the duck.
Beautiful beaches nearby although choppy sea and quite pebbly.
Albufeira old town is 5 minutes away on the bus and costs 2.80euros return fare with buses at the top of the complex coming every half hour (you need the green bus there and Blue bus back) highly recommend visiting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael23Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your comments. Our normal check-in is from 4pm. This gives our Housekeeping staff time to thoroughly clean the apartments for new arrivals. We are happy you found our staff friendly and helpful as customer service is extremely important to us. We hope to welcome you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

After reading the mixed reviews on here i was very close to cancelling the holiday... But i was brave and to be honest i am glad we went. It was not an ideal place for us to visit and we will not return to Albufiera. It is a nice place, people are very friendly but not nothing to do for teenagers. Too quiet for us. More for the older generation or those that want to totally relax and do nothing but eat and drink as there are plenty of bars and restaurants, all fighting for your custom (although not in a pushy way like they are in Turkey.)
We are a party of three, mother, son 16 and daughter 12, pretty well travelled. We arrived at the hotel and checked in. They scanned my credit card and said £100 would be taken for any damages if need be. I asked if we were not happy with the room,would it be possible to pay for an upgrade, i was informed this was not possible as they were fully booked. A porter showed us to our room, there were only 2 beds? We informed the porter and he arranged for another bed, i didnt know where this bed would be placed as the room was very small. We moved furniture around the bed fitted in but we could not get out the door when all 3 beds were out ( the second bed was a pull out style, it went under the first bed). We asked for pillows 3 times on 3 days and were finally given them on day 5.The beds and pillows were awful, hard and lumpy. This is not the only place we have stayed where this has been an issue. So dont be put off, we all know there is nothing like your own bed. The room was very clean, the maids do a great job and work hard. It was very well equipped with kettle, toaster, microwave, tv, and dvd player. I was very pleasantly surprised.
The CPO is an old, large hotel and has a strange lay out, we were close to the beach but we had to walk up a main road to get to the pool. The reception, restaurant and bars looked like they had been re vamped and were very modern, all very clean including the toilets. Free wi fi available only in the reception and everyone was using it so it is very, very slow. You can pay to have it in your room but most of the time it doesnt work.
The entertainment was poor, the worst i have seen in a while. One man trying to do everything including singing, telling jokes of a kind and d,j ( he would be better sticking to the latter) another 2 flit from hotel to hotel on different nights who are dancers. They really could invest in better entertainment suitable for all ages. Due to this we only sat in the bar on one occasion, you didnt need to go into the bar, you can hear whats going on if you sit in the reception.
My children complained of being bored on this holiday. They didnt make any new friends and i think this is mostly down to the society we live in. Every time we went to sit in the reception,every person old and young were all logged onto their ipads, laptops or phones. This is very sad as this is usually the place where most conversations start and friendships are made. I am a very chatty person and talk to every body,have made some great friendships on all past hoildays but i didnt have one single conversation with another person. This is not the hotels fault, this is just the world as it is today.
We booked the zoo marine for a day out as my daughter is mad on dolphins. The prices varied at each ticket shop average price for us 3 was €100 including travel to and from selected pick up points, with a bit of bartering i managed to get it for €88 with travel. The bus broke down and we waited 1 hour for the next pick up. When we arrived we had missed 1 dolphin show, the 4d cinema was closed, the rides only opened at certain times, the rides were more suitable for 5-8 years with height restrictions ( check these before wasting your money) . There were only about 7 rides in total. We ordered burger and chips and the burgers were pink in the middle no problem when i took them back and they cooked fresh ones but i was already put off by then so we didnt eat them. The dolphin and sea lion shows were great lasted about half hour each. My daughter wanted to swim with the dolphins but the price was extortionate. She had a photo taken instead which cost €20. All in all def not worth the money but this depends on the ages of your children.
Open top bus another waste of money. Most of the journey we had done the day before on the way to the zoo marine, the rest was mostly around the biggest hotel complex i have ever seen. (They must pay the tour bus to take people there in the hope of getting more custom). Pointless and boring. We got off in the old town and had a look around but nothing different there, more bars and cafes all wanting your custom.
Reading back through my review it sounds quite negative but it really wasnt that bad, this is just a true review on our experience, every family are different and enjoy different things. The hotel served good food, it was clean. You just have to make your own fun and its pretty hard to do with the age gap between my children, coz they are looking for different things.
I enjoyed my stay, it was a nice break, the weather wasnt too bad, better than at home. I am chilled out and ready for another busy term at school. Roll on the next holiday.

Room Tip: We were in room 452. This is close to the beach, (lovely view)but furthest away from the pool, shops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyT43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

just back from a good we week away with the misses 3rd to 10th April
1st time in the cpo was not my choice of apartment but you get what you pay for.
we got 641a in the corner was a lovely big double floored apartment 2 balconies down stairs in the shade top one in the sun so you had a choice if it was to warm you could hide in the shade or stay in the sun. it was facing the bottom end of the pool facing the back of jacks bar
the staff were excellent all the time i found the grounds around the hotel to be in tip top condition excellent gardening by all means, wee enjoyed the beach which was attached to the hotel .
there was a bit of building work going on out side are apartment which took the guy about 20 mins to fix then we seen him the next day painting what he had fixed. there was some people having a drink and getting loud but they are holiday too. come on people .
cant wait to go back to the cpo maybe sooner rather than later enjoyed every bit of my week away just wish id went for 10 days , great crack in amandas bar jacs restrant good food lovely grounds around the hotel .really lovely people in the hotel , ok one thing if you dont like walking up hills use the lifts go to the top floor and walk out on the the main road which leads to the shops and the strip, the hotel is built into the side of a mountain thats how big it is and thats what we done we had a great time thanks again

thanks joe gouldie belfast

Room Tip: if you get a room and you dont like it ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Dont let the posh new reception and refurbished outdoor pool fool you - this is all top show. We have noticed a steady decline in the resort and accommodation over the last couple of years. Apartment was very tired looking and desparately in need of updating, although it was well equipped. Didnt appreciate arriving to crumbs on the work surfaces of the kitchen and a rather grubby fridge. Thank goodness for trusty Flash wipes! We had to report several problems with the apartment and also request an apartment change as the electrics were dangerous and the maintenance chap's "dont worry it is low voltage" explanation didn't really install confidence! We had to request a move after three days of no sleep, as it was noisy due to the resorts decision to allow stag and hen parties to stay - you get woken up every time they stagger home from the bars singing and shouting in the early hours, if you arent already being kept awake by the howling/barking dogs 24/7. Worst week's holiday we have had at CPO, even topping last year's nightly all night singing competition by drunken stag party in apartment next door. Wont be visiting CPO again ever!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a quiet location - on the front opposite the beach is a good place if you want a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygirl757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited for a one week break with our 12 year old grandson. Knew in advance that we were in "City view" accommodation (J14) but were disappointed at the specific siting of our accommodation on the ground floor next to a car park. Our one-bedroom apartment itself was very basically furnished and was definitely "tired" and in need of updating and a good deep clean.Oh, and it was the least comfortable bed I've tried to sleep in for long enough. Maybe the new owners are working their way round the complex and just havn't reached there yet!

The pool area and general landscaping are excellent and the on-site restaurant "Jac's" offers a good evening buffet for Euros 16.50 with some evenings being themed speciality dishes. The beach-side location is superb with a little sandy cove right on the doorstep.

The large on-site supermarket is closed "for refurbishment" although there is no sign of any actual work being done nor any suggestion as to when it might re-open. There is another not too far away though..

Beware the invitation from "Guest Services" to a "Welcome Meeting". This isn't your tour rep giving you resort information and selling you some trips; it's a hard sell session trying to get you to advance purchase two years worth of holidays with them! .My advice: unless you really need the bottle of cheap plonk on offer for attending - give it a miss.

Would I go back? maybe to a sea-view apartment provided the price was right and I had some guarantee of a higher standard than that of J14..

Room Tip: Avoid the "J" apartments like the plague!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Clube Praia da Oura, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we would be happy to welcome you back and please note that our Reception staff are always on hand to resolve any issues you may have during your stay. When booking again with us you can make a request for the requirements you wish and we will do our best to meet them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#76 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#71 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Praia da Oura 3*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Oura Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing