We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to consider!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Ranked #65 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One to consider!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived at the hotel at approximately 12pm and there were 8 adults and 8 children under the age of 8.

When we arrived, we were told that three of the rooms were not available, one being available at 3pm and the other two at 4.30pm. We were also asked to pay a €100 deposit for any damages which we were not advised of when booking (through an agent). All 16 of us then had to leave our luggage in the friends room which was available which hindered them from getting settled.

Our room was very clean and well equipped as expected of a three star self catering apartment and they even provided an iron and board and washing up liquid and sponge which is rare.

When we first tried to use anything in the apartment, we had no electricity and I had to go down to reception to ask for assistance. We had two maintenance men arrive to sort it out within 10 minutes.

The same day, our friends experienced the same problem and maintenance were also sent to their room.

The following day, the same couple of friend's room which was available on check in suddenly turned into a time share and they were moved to a room on a floor which had no lift access to it. This was not good as my friend was 5 months pregnant and had two children ages 3 and 1.

On the third day, our other friends were broken in to. Their door was forced open with a crow bar and their safe was destroyed. They had all their money and equipment stolen from the safe but the hotel staff and management were very quick to act and ensured them that the safe company insured the hotel and their missing money would be available either the same day or the day after. They were advised by the hotel manager that they could borrow money from reception at any time until the safe company refunded them.

They were robbed on the sunday and it was not until wednesday afternoon that my friend stood in the hotel reception for 4 hours waiting for the safe company to attend the hotel. After 4 hours of waiting, he was then accused of performing the robbery himself because it happened so soon after they left the apartment that morning.

My friend had with him his partner and their three children and I find that to be accused of such an act was disgraceful.

After several hours of my friends being hauled up trying to prove their innocence, the safe company admitted that they thought they were telling the truth and handed them a letter dated two days previously which was signed off the day before with two thirds of the value of their stolen cash and equipment.

My friend was extremely upset and so were her children who had wondered where their parents were for nearly two hours.

Their treatment was absolutely diabolical and they had been pushed to the limit purely to see if they were lying.

On top if that, the rooms were cleaned on the second day of our stay then not cleaned until the fourth day by which time we had no loo roll. The room was then cleaned the day after which was the day before we left. On both occassions, the cleaner left our door unlocked and I went back to the room both times thinking we had been broken into obviously following on from what had happened to our friends.

On the second to last day the children's pool was closed for 'maintenance' and the adult pool was not really suitable for the age of some of the children we had with us. There were also no sun loungers around the childrens pool and we were unable to remove them from other parts of the hotel grounds.

On the second to last evening, one of the waiters in the pool bar was extremely rude when my friend asked for a glass for a drink for his partner. Then proceeded to walk of in a 'huff' and stare at my friend to make him feel uncomfortable. Needless to say, we did not spend much time at the hotel of an evening.

The reception staff were pleasant and the food in the al a carte restaraunt was delicious. The entertainment provided was good and children under 14 were welcome until 11 o'clock.

Other than the above, the hotel was well located and was just minutes from the beach. It was near to quite a few local restaraunts where we ate pretty well.

It is just a shame all the above occured and as we may have considered going again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Berriman9028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    1,070
    662
    339
    247
See reviews for
840
1,530
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (993)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Can I just point out that Clube Praia Oura and Club Praia Ouro are the same place as there seems to be two lots of reviews on this site. So I am leaving this review again. The apartments are very dated. The furniture and especially the bed are very uncomfortable bu the worst thing is the lack of air conditioning which means you can't sleep at night as it is too hot ans if you leave the windows and patio door open you geteaten a live by bugs! The location is good near the beach but I would not go back.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with air con as only a few have .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Algarve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The apartments are very dated with uncomfortable furniture and a hard bed but the worst thing is that there is no air conditioning and this makes it impossible to sleep at night as it is too hot! Leaving the windows and patio door open means you get eaten alive by bugs. The resort is in a good location near the beach and has a good pool but as I didn't get much sleep and couldn't relax I won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algarve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Spent a week here with my boyfriend 21, stayed in a studio appartment which i cannot fault, plenty of room for two, spacious, clean and very good fan (helped alot at night) Hotel is in the centre of everything you need (strip only a 10 minute walk with all bars, restaurants and shops, old town also lovely has the same type of places good for shopping!) Swimming pool area very clean and plenty of sun loungers and staff very friendly help assist you with queries and booking trips and excursions, lots to do something for everyone weather your family with children or couples.

Restaurants and food are lovely would recommend the sizzling stone as seen on the bbc programme "wish you were here" food is extremley yummy and you can have the taste to your liking, would also recommend the el rancho steak house which was great two.

Strip very lively of a night time more suitable for young couples of groups of friend as it gets very loud, lots of older parties still go and enjoy it! old town would be more suitable for families with children or for older couples who want a more quite night, couldnt fault either though!

2 minute walk from the beach which is big and beautiful nice to relax throughout the day and they have pedal boats and jetskies which are great fun!

Overall fantastic holiday would 100% return next year weather was amazing, well worth the money!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Went over with my girlfriend, both 28. Check in was fine and we asked for a seaside apartment which after a bit of shuffling around the receptionist was able to provide us. I would definitely recommend trying this.

The facilities were excellent. The swimming pool area was always clean and it was very handy having a reasonable priced shop on site to pick up a few items along the way.

The Staff were excellent throughout the week with the help in organising trips and any questions we had.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CMac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

cant fault this place for value and spot on for close to beach/shops/restaurants just got back from long weekend and most helpful staff /clean /resonable prices no wonder it was nearly full and this is a big complex but plenty of room and swimming pool is huge deff go back happy days

Room Tip: the bigger the group the better room and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was our first holiday abroad with our 2 year old daughter, so finding the right hotel and location was really important. And we were not let down. After reading the reviews we saw that some people had commented that the apartments were very small, so we booked a 1 bed apartment to be safe.

The apartment was much bigger than we expected and very well kitted out. We had a large double bedroom with enough space to put the travel cot they supplied, a large living room that opened out onto a small balcony and a kitchen which had a cooker, fridge/freezer and all the pot. pans, plates and cutlery you could possibly need.

We had a sea view even though we didn't ask for one and the apartment was a short walk away from the hotel bar, pools and the beach.

The pools are great. There is a large pool more suitable for adult and another pool area with slides and a childrens pool which we spent a lot of time at.

The staff were helpful and friendly at all times and went out of the way to make sure we had everything we needed.

On the negative side, the only things i can think of are:

Bar prices in the hotel can be quite expensive, but i think they are the same as pretty much every other bar in the area (pretty expensive!).

The evening entertainment wasn't great. A mixture of bingo, cabaret acts and talent competitions. But our daughter loved the kids disco that was on 8-9 every night.

Overall we thought this hotel was perfect, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Just make sure you book a 1 bed apartment instead of a studio as from what we heard they are much, much better than the studio apartments.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyBoy_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
434 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clube Praia da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clube Praia da Oura

Property: Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins, Albufeira 8201-911, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#42 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Clube Praia da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive resort is located in Praia da Oura in Albufeira and features 2 renovated outdoor swimming pools, tropical gardens and a bowling green. It offers direct access to Praia da Oura beach, less than 200 meters away.The property is a great family destination but also perfect for couples or groups looking for an entertaining and lively beach holiday.All apartments at the Clube Praia da Oura have a private furnished balcony which have views over either the Atlantic Ocean, swimming pools & gardens or the resort.The apartments feature a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom with hairdryer and a seating and dining area with satellite TV.With a 24-hour completely renovated reception and lobby bar/café, the multilingual reception staff can book tours, airport transfers and the hotel shuttle service to the centre of Albufeira. There is also a Golf desk available where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked.Jac’s Restaurant serves an à la carte menu of a variety of international and national dishes. Guests can relax and have a drink at our Ocean Bar with views over the ocean or Bowling Green or enjoy the Pool bar. There is a daily entertainment program available and evening entertainment options include theme nights, live music and karaoke.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The main entertainment area of Albufeira is a 5 minute walk away.Clube Praia da Oura is 40 minutes’ drive from Faro Airport and just over 3 km from the old town centre of Albufeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Clube Praia da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Praia Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira
Oura Albufeira
Muthu Clube Praia Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing