We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Soldoiro
Ranked #96 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Bangor county down n.i.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We also read the reviews, but different people look for different things. All we wanted was somewhere to put our heads down after walking, shopping and eating, and a place that was clean and friendly, and that's what we got at a good price. We had an excellent view, clean linen on beds and towels changed. Yes it is basic but we knew that, we didnt need anything more than what we got. The area is brilliant, plenty of places to eat and the old town within walking distance, although the strip was only at the top of the hill, and we have read reviews that its a noisey place, we found it the opposite, we actually didnt hear anything loud and slept very well. People also mention the apartments are on a hill, they are only less than half way up and we are in our late 50's and we did not find this awkward, take your time whats the rush!!! Your on holiday. We will be back again and we will ask for the same room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    114
    102
    57
    76
See reviews for
75
180
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Reading all the mixed reviews about this place I feel the need to join in only to make myself feel as if I've addressed the balance. Yes it's cheap - you knew that as you booked. Location - I have paid significantly more than this and not had such a good location, less than 1 min to beach, 2 mins to strip ( if that's your thing). Cleanliness - it is clean but slightly tired, in our 7 day stay room cleaned & towels changed twice we knew this before we left and were cool with it. Staff - really nice & helpful really attentive absolutely no complaints at all. Room - 46 had a fantastic view down to the beach great for sitting on the balcony and just people watching. The resort - "lively" bit of an eye opener for me but just got on with it yes it's full of stags and hens but some nicer quiet locations if your happy to search them out e.g. Beach Caffe to the left of the beach had a great lunch there but even better dinner one of the best of the holiday, BJ's at the bottom of the hill for lunch, burgers and snacks staff are really great. In Albufeira itself the Atrium was a fabulous meal out in the old town at the original town hall (I think) with its own theatre stage. We were lucky enough to be there whilst a traditional Portuguese group were on and we had a fantastic evening. All in all research what your booking and embrace it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Mixed reviews about this hotel, although to be honest if I was the manager of this hotel I would be ashamed.

The hotel is in a perfect location near a beautiful beach and nightlife. However when we arrived at the apartments they put us in musty smelling damp dark rooms, to be fair on the staff, the reception staff were excellent and moved us to better rooms. Also we paid for bed and breakfast, to be honest I wouldn't bother, its a 'continental' breakfast but coffee was cold, there was hardly anything to eat and very poor to be totally honest.

The pool area is basic, clean (ish) but needs much more attention.
The reception in the hotel is fine but the staff need to be given new ironed uniforms, they look a mess its not there fault its just the hotel standards overall very poor.

Bedrooms were ok, settee sofa bed in lounge was dirty and the rooms only get cleaned once a week, beds cleaned once a week and towels were changed twice in a weeks stay, so again not great.

Overall the cleanliness again was ok, basic.

Food and drink in the hotel was reasonable to buy, however, again, the staff wasn't always great at preparing it and came undercooked at times.

Hotel gets roudy more at a weekend as it attracts young groups as near the main strip of bars.

Its ok for a short basic break, we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel as we was out a lot with a wedding party that was in a different hotel which was the purpose of our holiday.

Everything we complained about was sorted so cannot fault the staff but the hotel overall needs some attention.

Room Tip: If you get a bad room, tell the staff before you get settled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My sister lives in Albufeira so we visit the area regularly. I last stayed in Soldoiro in June 2013. I paid for a studio with a sea view. I recommend going for the sea view option. It's worth the extra €20 or so for the week.

The studio was airy and bright. There was a lovely balcony that could be locked and secured for when you're out. Kitchen had everything you need for the small amount of time you spend in the room and it's on a different level to where you sleep which is great!

The biggest thing about Soldoiro is the location. Is it class!! It is on a road just down from the bustling strip and the same road leads directly down to Praia d'Aura. 5 minutes walk at most to either spot. Just brilliant. For the location and the perfectly adequate room and it's facilities it is a total bargain! It was about €220 for a weeks stay including flights from Dublin last year. We have booked for 8 nights this year at the end of April/beginning of May and it was just €180 for the same room including flights from Dublin again.

If you're on a budget and you want a gem, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Go for a studio with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank OllieTheDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Location was good but preferred the old town which was only a 6 euro taxi journey down the road (where I would stay if to return)

Reception - on our arrival (April 1st) one girl was very rude and unhelpful weather was terrible and didn't want to venture far for food so asked about food at the bar, she was so unhelpful and looked as if it was a pain for her to serve us food so we left.

This put us off using the hotel for any other services as the service was bad.

Rooms were fine, clean and fresh towels were left for us to use as didn't spend much time in room can't really complain about it.

If booking to stay in albufiera have a look at hotels in old town. Much more worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have already reviewed the other two places we stayed at on this 5 week long stay, Club Humbria and Vilanova resort so now we were on part 3 of our stay.
We arrived early and were allowed to check in to our room straight away by the lovely Liliana on reception.

We stayed at the Soldoiro in 2006 in apartment 28, this time we were in 26 which had the same fantastic sea view. Everthing was as I remembered but since our last stay the apartments have had new double glazing and air conditioning units added . The air con is used for heating in the cooler months. The room was well equiped for a self catering stay although there isn't an oven.

There is a fee laundry onsite but if you just want to iron something you can borrow an iron from reception for free for a deposit of 10 Euros .

Out of the three places we stayed at Soldoiro was the only one providing free Wifi onsite albeit only in the reception/bar area but at least it was FREE.

The two minimarkets at the bottom of the hill have unfortunately closed down now but the bakery is still there . If you need a supermarket there is an Alisuper opposite Mirage bar , turn left at the top of the hill. A larger supermarket is the Intermarche underneath the Oura Praia hotel, turn right at the top of the hill and walk for about 10-15 minutes.

Soldoiro is not luxury but for the price you cannot go wrong, the staff on reception are lovely and friendly, the location is excellent , so close to the beach and great restaurants/ bars.
They have a lot of repeat guests and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank swintontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldoiro T, Gerente geral at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and preference for Soldoiro once again.
We hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for the second time in October and had a sneaky wee 11 day in January theses apartments are clean,close to the beach and strip but far enough away so you are not bothered with noise. Going back again in October only thing I miss is internet in the rooms you can only have internet access in the reception area :( . Staff are very friendly and always make you feel welcome. looking for a cheap,clean,quite holiday stay at the Soldoiro.

Room Tip: Top floor seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank walkeri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldoiro T, General Manager at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Walker,

Thank you for you visit again to Soldoiro. We are doing all our best to try to have WI-FI in the rooms, for now just at reception and Bar as you know. Due to the buildings structure it’s not easy. Probably before this summer we will have it, but for sure that we will let you know.
See you in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#111 of 154 in Albufeira
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#64 of 154 in Albufeira
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Soldoiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Soldoiro

Property: Apartamentos Soldoiro
Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Soldoiro 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soldoiro Apartments, are located in Oura Beach, Albufeira, at the center of Algarve. With a suberb location, our facilities are only at 1 minute walking from the beach, 300 meters from the famous "Strip" (Night life with a lot of Bars and Restaurants) and only 4 km from Albufeira center. Any kind of store and supermarket are a short distance on foot. Regarding all main facilities, Faro International Airport is 24 km away and the train station and also the new bus station are 4 km away. In the extreme southwest of Europe, the confluence of the Mediterranean with the Atlantic and Europe to Africa, the Algarve guard at their folklore, handicrafts, monuments, architecture, cuisine and customs, clear traces of its intense historical to which the Phoenicians, Greeks , Romans and Moors were giving forth their valuable contribution. Its golden beaches, deep blue sea, the transparent sun and mild weather are an irresistible invitation!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Soldoiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Soldoiro Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Apartamentos Soldoiro Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing