We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great value, friendly staff - Ideal for young groups going to party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Soldoiro
Ranked #96 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Northampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great value, friendly staff - Ideal for young groups going to party”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I’m not sure what’s going on here with the negative reviews? Maybe this place is slightly more suited to young people and parties rather than families? Or the staff have now read the reviews and pulled their socks up?

I stayed here with 17 other guys on a stag do (aged 30-ish). I suppose we were a little bit loud at times but don’t think we disturbed any of the other guests as everyone was very nice and seemed to laugh along with our silly pranks.
After reading some of the other reviews I was worried how the staff would be with us when we got there… Well they could not have been nicer! – From the girls on reception to the bar girl and bar guy. They were always happy to help us, have a laugh with us and just be very pleasant indeed.
Pool: There was plenty of room around the pool area for all guests + everyone was pretty respectful of each other (There was another stag party + a couple of young Spanish and Portuguese groups with the odd couple here and there also staying whilst we were there).
Drink: The bar was very reasonable priced at €2 a pint then €1 a pint at happy hour (7.30-9.30pm).
Food: I only had a cheese toasty from the bar while I was there which was nice enough.
Rooms: As a group we were spread over 5 rooms which they grouped pretty close to each other.
They were clean, spacious enough (for 4 guys in each), had a little kitchen area, the aircon was good (available with deposit), there was a safe in the main bedroom (available with deposit).
Location: The hotel is perfectly located just a 5min walk downhill to the beach, or a 10 min walk up-hill to the main strip.

Checkout was at 11am but our flight was not until midnight but the staff were happy to lock our bags up in a storage cupboard for us to come and go as we pleased for the day until our transfers arrived at night.

Deposit: They did try to sting us for a load of towels and duvets (we wore body-paint out the night before and to be fair to them, it made a bit of a mess). We assured them that it was machine washable paint and if they were going to charge us for new towels and duvets, then we wanted to keep the old ones …we then got our money back ;-)

After my experience on this stag do I would definitely go back to Albufeira and would stay at the Soldoiro again either with a group or even with my wife and baby. It is probably “geared” slightly towards younger people, but I don’t see why anyone would not stay here unless you’re after 5-star bells and whistles hotel. For the money and with its superb location I really don’t think you can get much better.

In summary:
If you’re thinking of going to Albufeira on a stag do or group holiday – Do it!
If you’re thinking of staying at the Soldoiro – Do it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyBoyMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldoiro T, General Manager at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your stay at Soldoiro as well your comment. We are doing all our best to satisfy our customers. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    114
    102
    57
    76
See reviews for
75
180
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have just returned home from a ten night stay at Soldoiro Apartments and I cannot put into words what a disappointing complex this place turned out to be - a nightmare!

First of all, on day three, having been told that all our towels were damaged with fake-tan, we were asked to pay 125 EURO for TOWELS!!. These towels were under no circumstances damaged and very easily washed. No doubt, we refused to pay this ridiculous price. After refusing to pay, the receptionist threatened to lock us out of our apartment when we returned that night. Furthermore, as we refused to pay this scandalous price for towels, they then got the police involved. As you could imagine, me and my friend (who are both 19) got quite alarmed and a major downer was placed on our holiday in Albufeira. After two days of constant harassment from the reception staff, they then informed us that we would now have to pay 62.50. The price further dropped to 49.00 euro after we questioned them on this figure. We regret paying this price but at the time we were simply scared after they brought the police into the situation. Please note also that they refused to show us the damaged towels (apart from one). It is clear that the complex targeted us as we were two young girls travelling without adults.

Having payed an extra 46 euro each to receive breakfast every morning, we were disappointed to find out that our breakfast consisted of bread - only bread. There was no fruit, no cereal, no yogurts or even toast. Overall, we payed 92 EURO for bread. It was appalling.

In addition, the hygiene around the pool area was atrocious. The pool was clearly not cleaned everyday as there was constantly dead bugs and plasters floating around. Because of this, we spent all of our time on the beach which was just beautiful. I asked reception about the hygiene in the pool and I was informed that the pool was cleaned every evening (clearly not).

Inside the apartments, they were basic but acceptable. However, often the smell of sewage from the water was highly unpleasant. The only positive about this complex is simply its location. The beach and the strip are extremely close which is ideal as everything is in walking distance.

All I can say is, that if you want to make the most out of your holiday in Albufeira - avoid these apartments or if you do decide to book here, please consider what I have said about towels, pool etc. At the same time, Albufeira itself was fantastic and would recommend this area for any age-group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KL8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

After staying with my girlfriend for 4 days this is my review of the hotel. First of all I'd rate it as a two star hotel, however I guess the location has bumpted it up to a three star hotel.

Ill briefly bullet point my feedback.

Pros:
-fantastic location, 5 minutes walk to the beach and the strip
-English channels on the TV
-nice pool area.

Cons:
-poor room quality. A double bed which had two single beds of different heights pushed together!
-drainage smell in the room when doors were closed and AC was off.
-very noisy at night. They mentioned in their info that noise comes from outside however it's the internal noise that you need to be worried about from other guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Okay I will start off with the negatives. If you are a young family or older couple looking for a quiet apartment stay then STAY AWAY. Second night, music blaring, I asked the Young lads to turn it down and in fairness to them they did. Im young meself and like a bitta fun but I like my sleep. Another night stag arrived, music blaring, rang reception and music stopped, final night group of students, loud loud loud. Anyway reception are very good in sorting them out. So second last day, got a phone call during the day from reception. They said our bath towels were not in great condition and we owe 14 euro, now I know they were stained but I thought this is ridiculous. So I went down to reception and asked could I see the towels. They couldn't show me and fair enough the 14 euro was waved. So question if they are charging you for extra and make sure you leave your room in the state you found it as they will charge you.

Positives
Well we had the dungeon room upon arrrival and I have read up about the apartments on trip advisor so we asked if we could have something else. It cost us 40 euro but it was worth it. Rooms were spacious and clean, shower was great, loads a mirrors and closet space. Cant comment on the bar food because we ate out but the bar area n food area is nice. Drinks are cheap. Pool is small I thought it was ideal. Reception are very friendly and take their time with all their clients. Apartment is 1 min from beach. Nice places to eat along beach, we went o the old town a lot, 6 euro in taxi. Very nice restaurants and plenty of nightlife in old town as well as the strip in Albufeira.

Room Tip: This ideal for anyone looking for a party time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mssmiley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment upon arrival. Had a nice sea view from the balcony and living room. The location is great, beach is 2 minutes down the hill, supermarket as well. Also a big supermarket about 10 minutes walk. The strip is 2 minutes up the hill, loads of bars and restaurants. The old town is a 25 minute walk but worth the stroll for nice restaurants and bars, cab back is only about 6 euros. Pool was great, could always get a lounger and umbrella. Bar was cheap and all the staff very very helpful. Was clean and tidy, kitchen perfect to knock up breakfast or a evening meal. Had Tv and air con in both rooms too! Really an ideal place to stay, would definitely recommend. I'd book a 1 bedroom apartment, otherwise i think you get like smaller sofa beds in the studios. only thing that would be good is some washing up liquid in the kitchens.

Room Tip: Book a 1 bedroom apartment if you want a better double bed, also sea view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NdrSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldoiro T, General Manager at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay at Soldoiro as well your comment. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were 9 people in the age 3 to 53. Hotel check-in starts 16:00. Not so much fun if your plane lands 9:00, and you have to wait the whole day. We booked 3 rooms, thought we booked together our rooms were far away from eachother. One of the apartments were even in another building. The floor and walls were full of black hair and the refrigerator was dirty. I washed the floor after room service was there, and my mop got black because of all the dirt on the floor. I had my shoes on the entire stay. The only place you can get wi-fi is in the "bar", and you have to pay 3 euro for 1 hour, the connection is not so good either. Almost every time i was in the bar surfing, drunk and loud people sat there. The pool was ok, but the area could have been cleaner. The beds are a bit hard. You also have to pay 10 euro in depositium to get the remote to the ac and really small tv. There was also something weird with the showers in all 3 rooms, the pressure was low and mostly cold water. The reseptions were nice and friendly though, and the location is good. But i would not recommend this hotel if you want to sleep and want a clean room.

Room Tip: Room 88 has a good view, 11 & 18 has not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susann86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family stayed in the Soldoiro apartments in May of this year (2013) Great location, staff were ok , on our 4th night there whilst we were asleep our apartment was robbed... when we called the police they confirmed along with the hotels caretaker that they entered our apartment using a key card.... when we went to reception the following morning at 9am to notify them of the incident they didnt ask if we were ok they didnt really seem to be bothered we had to ask if we could be moved to another apartment as we did not feel safe in the current one they did accomadate us on that request but other than that they were no help at all.... pls be aware it is not safe to stay here!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ogormane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#111 of 154 in Albufeira
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#64 of 154 in Albufeira
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Soldoiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Soldoiro

Property: Apartamentos Soldoiro
Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Soldoiro 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soldoiro Apartments, are located in Oura Beach, Albufeira, at the center of Algarve. With a suberb location, our facilities are only at 1 minute walking from the beach, 300 meters from the famous "Strip" (Night life with a lot of Bars and Restaurants) and only 4 km from Albufeira center. Any kind of store and supermarket are a short distance on foot. Regarding all main facilities, Faro International Airport is 24 km away and the train station and also the new bus station are 4 km away. In the extreme southwest of Europe, the confluence of the Mediterranean with the Atlantic and Europe to Africa, the Algarve guard at their folklore, handicrafts, monuments, architecture, cuisine and customs, clear traces of its intense historical to which the Phoenicians, Greeks , Romans and Moors were giving forth their valuable contribution. Its golden beaches, deep blue sea, the transparent sun and mild weather are an irresistible invitation!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Soldoiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Soldoiro Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Apartamentos Soldoiro Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing