We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerfull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Soldoiro
Ranked #92 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Dublin , Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerfull”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have been going to Portugal 2-3 times a year for the past 10 years and always book into Soldoiro . Its location is ideal 2 minutes from the beach and 2 minutes from the strip. The only caveat is that it is not suitable for people with limited mobilty as it is located near top of "cardiac hill" so whiel going down to the beach is fine - the trip back up can be a stuggle , same with going out - getting to the top can be exhauting so I would not book it if you have people in you group with limited mobility , wheelchairs or children with buggies. The apartment themselc are very basic , kepy clean and with increased security locks put on all doors about 2 years ago , it has a safer feel. The real draw I suppose tothis place, as well as its convienent locatin is its price which is very reasonable and can rarely be beaten. The staff are really lovely and friendly and are always helpful.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a sea view when booking - it means you are up on one of the higher floors but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    114
    100
    56
    74
See reviews for
74
177
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

we arrived here on sunday 4th september 2011 as a party of four adults one child and one baby. we booked through travel republic and had reserved two 1 bedroomed apartments with a cot. when we checked in at reception there were two girls on duty and gave us directions to our apartments which we had to find ourselves which we eventually did after about 20 minutes due to no lighting around our apartment. upon entering the apartment which was next to a road we found that their was no bath only a square thing at the bottom of the shower, hardly useful when you have a 7 month old baby and also no cot for her and to top it all their was a dog in the next door apartment even though there is signs in the hotel saying no pets aloud! me and my mum were disgusted with the apartments we were given so went back to the reception only to be greeted by two very unhelpful and rude girls who at first refused to move us as the manager was on vacation! eventually myself and my husband and two children were moved that night after arguing for about 1 hour to a better apartment if you could call it that, and my mum and dad were moved the next morning which was my mum's birthday and totally ruined the start our holiday and my mum's birthday. when we were moved to the other apartment there were no lights around so you couldn't see where you were going and again there was still no cot. again i had to go back up to reception to be told they were trying to get one but to avail and we would not get one until the next morning. so we had to put our 7 month old in bed with us even though when we booked it stated on our invoice that we needed a cot! we requested rooms together, sea view, high floor, and celebrating my mum's birthday and we got none of these but as these were only request's i cannot complain but you would of thought i would of got at least one of them as it wasen't that busy at the soldoiro. also another thing when the two girl's were on duty in the day they would sit at the reception and no one would be serving at the pool bar they would make you wait ages before they would get up and come over to the pool bar and serve you, but when the gentleman was on duty he made you feel very welcome he was always at the pool bar serving and would put on music so you could here it around the pool area. all in all we had a lovely time in albufeira and would come back again just not to the soldoiro because of the state of the accommodation and the unhelpful and rude reception staff. before i booked this hotel i did look on trip advisor and read the reviews but i decided to give them the benefit of the doubt as i did on another hotel in majorca, alcudia but i wish i had listened to the bad reviews and booked elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Sstayed here with my partner in September 11. When we arrived at reception there were two girls on duty who wouldn't work on batteries. They ignored us for first 10 mins then spent half an hour checking us in. They did not show us to our apartment. I payed extra for a sea view room on a high floor, was given a dungeon room with everyone on the street looking in at us. I immediately complained and we were moved to a higher floor. The sea view is above other buildings, not really worth it. The balcony we had was tiny, although a few apartments had bigger. The staff are riduculously poor. I payed for a safe key, they give me the wrong key and when I went back down for the correct one they refused, saying I was wrong. It took a further 2 trips and a handy man to confirm that yes, they had given me the wrong key-no apologies! The rooms have air conditioning which is good, but are very basic. the floors are filthy, and the fridge in our room was broken. I didnt go to the pool, looked small and grotty.
The beach is right beside the apartments, as is the strip, with all the bars and restaurants, no need for taxis. This is the only good thing about these apartments, and the room we had was quiet as it was a high floor, sea facing.

Room Tip: Order sea view, high floor to ensure no noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scotch211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We booked this hotel from the photos on the website. On arrival we asked to look at the rooms prior to paying, we were shown one room which was at basement level and upon the door being opened i thought i was walking into a dungeon, as there were no windows very very very small!

We had booked two rooms, we then told the manager we were not whiling to stay, after ingoring us for a further 15minutes they agreed to upgrade us, showed us a room that wasnt much better so we said we were not going to stay!!

We had to pay 150euro's per room for cancellation, would NOT recommend this to any human!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zoie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldoiro, Manager at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
I'm very sorry for what you had felt a the time. Never the less you were expecting apartments with sea view when you had book for the lowest rate (standard view). The receptionist that had meade your check-in had give you a alternetive to another apartment and unfortunately you did not went to see it. The pictures of the apartments are correct. Please do not expect to a standart apartment because of the lowest price and have a sea view apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here for a week with my partner, read all the bad reviews before going over, and put it down to moany people.
My experience was just ok.. I checked in late at night as flight was delayed, (7september) on arrival, rather than a welcome, the girl was very abrupt about a taxi and demanded I pay... I refused point blank stating I cancelled this 2 weeks before.... she didn't look pleased when I produced an email from them confirming my cancelation from faro as I was taking a bus.. her and her coworker looked sour for most of our stay, and they are the reason I won't return.
The location is great, literally two minutes to a lovely beach, and the strip is just behind the hotel. It's not as loud as people say and old town is only 5euro in a cab.
Overall, if you have stayed in budget accomaditon before, there are little comparisons.. look for actual apartments or hotels in the area, as they have last minute deals..

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinJamieMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel was all ok on arrival... We chose to stay in these apartments because of it's location (right on the strip!!) .. Little did we know!!.. It was full of racists.. Lots of Dutch people.. & FAMILIES that would complain about the simplest of noises!! .. as a group of 5 girls, the amount of space was RIDICULOUS for one apartment... The pool area was TINY.. never a sun lounge available... The maids that APPARENTLY cleaned our rooms, did NOT sweep the floors and made very poor attempts of making the beds.. We stayed for just over a week and the bed sheets were NOT changed once at all!!.. The beds were rock hard, we're all young.. aged 21.. and we were all complaining of back pains within 2nights of staying!! Reception staff are very polite on arrival, until you need them for something and they become completely useless!! NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank young_one21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldoiro, Manager at Apartamentos Soldoiro, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Young Ladies,

We are very sorry for your disappointment. You talk about racism and then you say that it full of Deutsh people, we are sorry, but what is the problem with that? Regarding the linen they are changed every 7 days and cleaning is made every 3 days as you were advised at check-in. One bedroom apartment is ideal for 4 persons, more than this obviously it will be small. Family’s of course had complained due to noise coming from your apartment. We are very sorry that you will never came back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Fantastic apartments 2 minute walk down hill to the beach, 2 minute walk up hill to the strip, staff where friendly, apartments very clean, will stay in these apartments again, great for younger people as it can be quite noisy but we didn't mind as we got in around 2am most nights, the strip was excellent if you are up for partying & also has some lovely restaurants. First time to Portugal will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
1.4 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#116 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach
Golden Beach
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#85 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#46 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Soldoiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Soldoiro

Property: Apartamentos Soldoiro
Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Soldoiro 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soldoiro Apartments, are located in Oura Beach, Albufeira, at the center of Algarve. With a suberb location, our facilities are only at 1 minute walking from the beach, 300 meters from the famous "Strip" (Night life with a lot of Bars and Restaurants) and only 4 km from Albufeira center. Any kind of store and supermarket are a short distance on foot. Regarding all main facilities, Faro International Airport is 24 km away and the train station and also the new bus station are 4 km away. In the extreme southwest of Europe, the confluence of the Mediterranean with the Atlantic and Europe to Africa, the Algarve guard at their folklore, handicrafts, monuments, architecture, cuisine and customs, clear traces of its intense historical to which the Phoenicians, Greeks , Romans and Moors were giving forth their valuable contribution. Its golden beaches, deep blue sea, the transparent sun and mild weather are an irresistible invitation!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apartamentos Soldoiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Soldoiro Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Apartamentos Soldoiro Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing