We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hotel ever stayed in!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sao Rafael Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sao Rafael Suites
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever stayed in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just returned from our weeks holiday in this hotel and just had to express what a excellent place to stay. From the moment we arrived the staff were so pleasant and welcoming and could not do enough for us. The room was spacious and clean with every amenity. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and the sweets were particularly good. We ate in the a la carte restaurant one night included in our all inclusive package and this too was worth a visit as too was the poolside restaurant newly opened at night the week we stayed.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area with not much around only a supermarket and a few bars and restaurants but we didn't need anymore as the hotel provided all we wanted. There are two beaches about ten minutes walk away which are beautiful and so clean so would recommend a visit to these. The hotel also provides a courtesy bus into Albufeira which is also good to visit.
All in all we had a really enjoyable holiday and to top it all the weather was perfect!

Room Tip: Second or third floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hammond_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guests,

Your satisfaction is very important for us as well as all your suggestions.
Reading your review made us proud of our work and happy to know that you have a great time!
We look forward to welcome you again.
Thank you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    248
    105
    36
    31
See reviews for
290
240
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IPSWICH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just back,June24th, after spending eight days here.First of all let me say this is not 5star,however,it is a very good 4star.We were upgraded to a suite,( we booked in January) room 102 not only had an walk in wardrobe as it was on an end of a corridor it also had an extra side terrace with sun loungers as well as a balcony with chairs, the bed was the biggest we have slept in and very comfortable,sheets changed on request, towels daily and kept very clean.In fact the whole hotel all areas were very clean and tidy. The adult pool properly had 70 sun beds round it with enough umbrellas and we were lucky enough to go to the pool at 9-30 ish and found between 2 and 8 people there so plenty of choice,the kiddies pool was however busy most days but from what I thought were portugese children. All staff,reception,waiters,cleaners and bar persons were all very good with nothing being a problem.Only two moans,the first being our own for not researching beforehand was apart from a Chinese a bar across the road there was not a lot nearby so additional entertainment was an €8 euro taxi into Albufeira town.Secondly was the food, somedays selection was limited,any hot food,breakfast,lunch or dinner available in the heated silver salvers were hot but the chips,pizza tomatoes under the heated lights were always lukewarm and the absence of ice cream altogether was unusual.
We were allowed two bookable a la carte evening meals which were ok but some olives,bread and oils as a starter would have been nice as would cheese and biscuits to finish.

Room Tip: There seemed to be only two views from the hotel,front overlooking nothing or rear being poolside so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing São Rafael Suite hotel, your presence made us very proud.
We appreciate a lot your review and we will be attentive to all the details you have mentioned in order to provide a better service and feel our guests satisfaction.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This complex is beautiful and modern, with big rooms, three lovely pools and good food/drinks. There was constantly something happening for the children we travelled with, the staff were lovely, the kids were busy having fun but were never far away and could come and go as they pleased. The only thing I didnt like was that the wifi was only in the reception but other than that cannot fault! Good for couples too as there is a deeper adults pool so less kids around if thats what you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CC9261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your feedback made us feel very happy, thank you!
It was a pleasure to welcome you in São Rafael Suite Hotel and realise that you have enjoyed your stay made us very proud.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future and have the chance to provide you another good time in Algarve.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Lovely holiday , lovely staff, lovely food excellent all round . There was entertainment every nights food was absolutely delicious and varied every day . Bread, salads and puddings were too nice! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Joanna,

Thank you so much for the time you spent to give your opinion about our hotel.
We really appreciate your preference and we feel very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at São Rafael Suite hotel.
There is nothing better than have our guests satisfied, it make us so proud!
It was a pleasure to welcome you here and we hope to have the chance to do it again.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned (23.6.2014) we spent 7 nights on this wonderful hotel, we were with 6 other friends who are all of the same opinion, fantastic. We have been doing AI FOR 20+ years! this trip was the best of the lot. Staff were fantastic, friendly, happy and always extremely helpful. Food was brilliant with good, varied choices. Rooms, like the rest of the hotel very clean and spacious. Pools great for adults and kids alike. Drinks in General were excellent it's just that the beer was sometimes a little flat, mixers, spirits and soft drinks very, very good. Guess what... The entertain em was really good with different acts each night we all thoroughly enjoyed it. We will all be going back, take it from someone who has done dozens of these breaks, they don't come much better than this!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Was a great pleasure to welcome you all in São Rafael Suite Hotel.
You feedback made us feel very happy, thank you!
The satisfaction of our guests will always be our priority and we work everyday trying to improve our services in order to exceed their expectations.
Will be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope you have another great time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We found the hotel excellent. The rooms were clean well maintained and very spacious. We stayed in a family suite, each room had an ensuite bathroom plus there was a separate smaller shower room off the corridor to the lounge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was good and had healthy choices. The only problem was that some of the hot food was only warm and by the time you had sat down it was cold. The pools were a good size and there were plenty of beds for all ( although some people still went out early to put towels on them) the hotel should stop this! We would recommend this hotel to families friends however, if you are looking for a romantic break there may be more children than you bargained for,especially during school holiday times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar area if you do not like too much noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1soupdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your preference for São Rafael Suite Hotel.
It was a pleasure to welcome you here and also a pleasure to read your review.
We feel happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be proud to welcome you again in the future. If you prefer an hotel not so busy with children, we have also Atlantic hotel, just a few meters away, very close to the beach, that is a great option for couples.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Rooms in this hotel are lovely, the staff in the restaurant/bar are wonderful and the spa is great.

However, the food is a little repetitive, it's pretty much the same thing every day and the all inclusive drinks selection is quite poor.

I was staying here in a group of 4 young 20-something women. On our last night a drunk man managed to get access to our room at about 230am. We had both keys in our possession so we have no idea how this could have happened. Security didn't really do much and we received nothing in the way of an explanation or apology from the hotel the next morning. I have since tried to contact the manager via email twice and have received no reply.

A very sour end to what would have otherwise been a great holiday. Not impressed at all by the level of security or service we received after this very serious incident. You would expect more from a 5 star resort. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 2 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
2.4 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#17 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
6.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#19 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 2 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sao Rafael Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Rafael Suites

Property: Sao Rafael Suites
Address: Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal (Formerly São Rafael Suite Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sao Rafael Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sao Rafael Suites is located in central Algarve, close to the Sao Rafael beach and the popular town of Albufeira. The hotel suites offer spacious accommodation for families and couples, with separate living and sleeping areas, dining area and balcony.Five star facilities include a Relax Spa Centre, Kids Club, two large outdoor pools and a Golf Putting Green. With excellent rates, this is an affordable five star resort for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sao Rafael Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Sao Rafael Hotel Albufeira
Sao Rafael Suites Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cs Sao Rafael Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing