We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Value but one or two concerns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Enjoyable break, the hotel is clean, well appointed and staff are profesional at all times. Bar/Pool Bar prices are on the high side compared to other bars in Albufeira, but only to be expected for a hotel of this standard.
We had classic double room which was well appointed, the bathroom in particular was spacious and whilst comments have been made about the beds, we found them fine.
The pool area is a little small and gets crowded late afternoon but we always managed to get sunbeds.
I only have 2 areas of concern, the location is a long way off the beaten track and you can walk to the Old Town but it is at least 25/30 minutes there and uphill all the way back!
Whilst taxis are only 4/5 Euros, at times (around 7/8 p.m.) reception were unable to arrange taxis, on one occasion a couple were desperately trying to get a taxi to the airport at 8 p.m. and only just managed to get one in time to (hopefully) make their flight.
The other concern is that the hotel appears to be focusing on all-inclusive breaks, to be honest I don't think the pool area is big enough to accomodate this. When we were there I estimate 50% of guests were all-inclusive and it did get crowded round the pool - if this figure rises I envisage that the situation would become uncomfortable.
Despite this it is a nice hotel, good value with professional staff and I would probably return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggieboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the facilities of the Hotel and service provided. We would also like to thank you for sharing your concerns with us. This is the first year that we offer not All-inclusive, but F&B plus packages that include beverages, at our Hotel so it is all still new for us. We already were confronted with some situations that were unexpected or not completely defined and certainly will react and adapt our packages if we should continue to offer F&B plus holidays. The pool, so far, has not been a problem, since compared to last years, the number of guests at the pool has not increased significantly. Of course, this could become an issue if we were exclusively an all inclusive Hotel. However, we do not focus on F&B plus holidays, which is just an additional option to already available meal plans like Bed and Breakfast and Half Board, and furthermore is only available through a limited number of tour operators. Therefore the number of guests with F&B plus packages has not, and probably will never be, very high. We also verified that many guests, as the above comment confirms, even if staying with F&B plus, do not pass the whole holiday in the Hotel, but like to explore the area and enjoy the beautiful beaches of the Algarve.
We regret that you were not satisfied with the location of the Hotel. The Hotel is conveniently located in a quiet area between the Old Town and the Oura, the so called strip or new Town. Most of our guests like this location, since it is close to the busier parts of the town, but still quiet enough to spend a relaxing holiday, which is not possible if staying directly in the center. It is also easy accessible and provides a shuttle bus service to some points of interest as beaches and the town centers. Getting a taxi usually is not a problem and takes approximately 5 minutes, but, you can expect longer waiting times during the summer, especially July and August, the dinner time being the most complicated period, as everyone is heading to and from restaurants. Therefore, we recommend to book taxis in advance, especially if the taxi is required for the dinner period.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
There are newer reviews for Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,828 - 1,834 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

Perfect holiday - the hotel is situated 5 mins walk from the busier parts, the strip and the old town just a stroll away but there is a courtesy bus that takes you. The hotel is very relaxing, clean and quiet in the rooms which are very comfortable and spacious. We thought the food was very good always hot and very tasty. All the staff were very friendly. We had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiganlaticsmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always nice and rewarding to read such positive comments and we will pass them on to our whole team. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA for, hopefully, another enjoyable stay.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Travelled with Thomson Holidays as part of a half board package holiday and was generally pleasantly surprised by the standard of this hotel.
RECEPTION - Welcoming,friendly,very competent and helpful on all occasions that the staff were approached. We asked for a kettle and were told that we could have one for a 25 euro deposit. (refundable) I did not have 25 euros at that point but the receptionist gave me one anyway without hesitation.
ROOM (223) - Very clean and tidy. Beds a bit firm as other correspondents have stated. All the toiletries that you need (and more) are supplied. Good sized wardrobe with a reasonable number of hangers provided (never enough for women of course) Plenty drawer space. Furniture in very good condition. Our room was carpeted which made it more comfortable. Air conditioned. Balcony small but adequate and secure. Rooms serviced on a daily basis.
FOOD - My wife and I are not great fans of buffet meals as we enjoy, when in a restaurant, taking our time between courses and being served. The quality of the meals on offer were of a reasonably good quality. There was usually a choice of about 5 main courses plus salads. Good quality soups and choice of 4 or 5 sweets. The only criticism was that on many occasions the food could have been hotter. It is possible that the kitchen facilities or the hotplates are not adequate for the volume of traffic. Dishes are not lying out in huge quantities and are replenished on a regular basis.
Breakfasts offer plenty choice of hot and cold food. Staff remove plates immediately you have finished each course and your table is clear to return to with your next course. Perhaps food was a bit repetitive for a 2 week stay. Staff competent and efficient in their roles.
Plus point you can swap dinner for lunch at the pool bar if going on a trip or just out for an evening. Early departures can also receive a very good packed lunch if too early for breakfast.
GENERAL AREAS - Clean,tidy many carpeted. Good open appearance and pleasant ambience.
SPA - Looks good! Lots of fitness equipment for those of that persuasion.
BARS - Let down by the prices which are excessive in terms of what you pay outside in most bars. Double what you pay at nearby local bar and about half the spirit measure.
As a result we rarely drank in the hotel.
GENERAL POINTS - Entertainment very low key. Guests friendly and mix well. Hotel has introduced all inclusive and is still getting its act together on this. You pay a premium price for this facility but each to their own. At this stage the hotel is not, in the main, attracting the type of person that drinks themselves silly throughout the day as seen in our one and only experience of an all inclusive hotel in Majorca. I hope for the hotels reputation and standard that it does not degenerate to that level. The tourist industry in Portugal is suffering from the recession and I think hotels are trying to compensate for this by offering all inclusive. This has a price for the cafes and restaurants and it was noticeable that quite a number appeared to be struggling to survive.
To Steve and Lorraine. Sorry we didn't see you before you left. At time of writing still waiting for our glorious moment in this world cup!! Shouldn't be long now!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and detailed description of the Real Bellavista, its facilities and services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with most of our services. We regret if the bar prices were not as expected. It is true, that the prices for our drinks might be slightly higher than the prices in some local bars, but we always try to offer a superior service and therefore only work with selected products, which, unfortunately, are more expensive and thus reflects in the price of our drinks. However, the prices are comparable to the ones in other bars in Hotels of a similar category. Furthermore, we offer an Happy Hour during which drinks are available at reduced prices.
Thank you also for sharing your concerns regarding the All-inclusive holidays with us. We are aware that all-inclusive packages, or in our case, F&B plus packages, might encourage excessive or abusive drinking, but we think that this applies more to a younger age group, for which our hotel usually is not very attractive. And, so far, we can affirm that we feel no change in the drinking habits or the behavior of our guests and we are confident that the Hotel will keep up its high standard. Nevertheless, we are not planning to become an exclusive F&B plus Resort and if we should feel that the F&B plus packages should have a negative influence on the standard of the Hotel or the guests’ experiences, we would discontinue the F&B plus packages as soon as possible.
Should you ever return to the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA, please do contact us before your arrival. As you stated that the beds were a bit uncomfortable for you, we would like to prepare your bed with mattress toppers, in order to provide you a more enjoyable stay at our Hotel.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back and would like to thank you once again for your constructive comments.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

This was the second time that we have been to this hotel, and it is a bit like going home, as all the staff are friendly and willing to help. I can understand the concerns about the food as on our first night, not the best, but from then on, no problems at all. We were looked after in the restaurant by Vera and in the bar by Jorge, and both are a credit to the hotel.
The beds are a bit hard, so come prepared. Other than that, loved it, the location - five minutes from the main road, but you can take the shuttle bus or taxi. The walk to the old town will take around twenty miutes at a strolling pace. The cleanliness was certainly better than most hotels I've been to.
If you're looking for a cup of coffee on the main road, try Florenca near to pindo the supermarket, their cakes are tremendous for a couple of euros.
Will we be back next year? Yes!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newport_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having stayed again at the Real Bellavista Hotel and for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
Sometimes a second visit can be disappointing for guests as it is usually linked to higher expectations, but we are glad that we were able to fulfill them and hope that we will also succeed on your third visit to the Real Bellavista. As you commented that the beds were not comfortable for you, we would like to prepare your bed with mattress toppers for your next visit and would therefore appreciate if you could contact us before your arrival.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Just arrived home from a weeks stay at the real bellavista. The first day we arrived we were really looking forward to our evening buffet after being awake for almost 30 hours and hardly eating anything. We were very disappointed when we entered the restaurant to see hardly any chice of food, and what was there was cold. Fish and turkey that had just been bought from the kitchen wasn't hot. The choice of food was very poor and you couldn't make a meal from it. After speaking with the manager and our rep we decided to have a refund on our evening meal. We were told by out rep that the food had been turned around but thats not what other guests told us. Our room was very clean and towels were changed often. The hotel staff were very plesant and helpful. The hotel has a lovely, clean outdoor pool and live music in the bar 3 times a week. Situated about 20-30 mins walk from the strip, we didn't walk as there was a free courtesy bus up until 6pm and a taxi only cost 3 euros 90. Locsatin quiet and great fro relaxing. Lovely hotel overall just a shame we were disappinted with the food, which was not what we expected compared to other 4* hotels we have previously stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review about the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of our food. Thanks to your feedback and the feedback of some other guests, we have made some changes to our Dinner Buffet since your stay in May and are pleased to inform you that, since then, the feedback has been very positive, as you can confirm through the reviews submitted in the last few weeks. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Bellavista, in order to prove you that improvements have been made and would like to thank you for your constructive feedback.


Kind regards




Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Thisis now our 2nd visit to real bellavista . Hotel is spottlessly clean , breakfast adequate . staff are v helpfull , rooms lovely ,altho beds are a bit hard . Swimming pool freezing ,thankfully theres an indoor one. U will go a long way to find a cleaner hotel in albufeira.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TENERIFE-TWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your feedback is really appreciated and since you were particularly impressed with the cleanliness of our Hotel, we will pass your comments to our Housekeeper, who will be more than pleased with it. We regret that you were not satisfied with the temperature of the outdoor pool and the comfort of our beds. The temperature of our pool depends a lot on the outside temperature and as the weather in May has been very unsteady, this influenced the water temperature. Regarding the comfort of the beds, if you ever return to our hotel, which we hope, please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival in order to request some mattress toppers, which will make your bed, and ultimately your stay, more comfortable.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Just arrived back from a memorable weeks holiday at the Real Bellavista Hotel.
Upon arrival we where welcomed by Nuno Lisboa who informed us that we where the first couple on all inclusive the hotel has and asked for your feedback at the end of our stay, here we go, the one and only let down was the first nights dinner which was warm on the hotplates and did not help with cold plates, after polite discussions with the management this was rectified and could not ask for better food.
Carlos the restaurant manager and other members of staffs are a credit to the hotel and not forgetting Jorge the barman.
Many thanks to all for a unforgettable stay and will be seeing you all again next year

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill_MaggieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are especially pleased that you, as our first guests on F&B plus, enjoyed your stay and that, after the initial problem has been solved, everything corresponded to your expectations. We would not only like to thank you for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor, but also for the feedback given upon arrival and during your stay. By giving us a better understanding of the specific expectations and needs of our F&B plus holiday guests, you helped us greatly to implement the F&B plus board, define the future strategy and also to identify and correct some weak points.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.


Kind regards




Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
1,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,025 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. do Estadio, Albufeira 8200-127, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $43 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Bellavista Hotel Albufeira
Real Bellavista Hotel And Spa
Hotel Real Bellavista
Real Bellavista Albufeira
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing