We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great honetmoon, george and bar staff great crac”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed August 12, 2008

it was our honeymoon and we loved the stay here. great location just 10 mins walk to old town or the strip but we preferd the old town.nice restraunts and bars. Jorge and the rest of the bar staff were great we really enjoyed Jorges company.the hotel surprised us with champers to our room which was nice, definately be back again. thanks

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DerryClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,056 - 2,062 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

We (couple, late twenties) stayed here for a week this summer.

We were impressed from the outset by this hotel.
-It was very clean
-The staff were very friendly. I noticed that they all took pride in their jobs and all were very well presented
-Also the previous reviewer didn't like the staff talking to each other and sharing a joke-how ridiculous!- it was really nice to see that the staff got on with each other and obviously enjoyed theirjobs. Also, they always looked after the guests promptly and were in no way unprofessional ever.

-I'm glad there is no smoking in any of the restaurant or bar area- its disgusting in any area where food is being served and deserves to be banned. Smoking is bad for you anyway!!
-also in other hotels I have seen guests robbing food for later from breakfast buffets because they are to mean to pay for ther own lunch- this is why you can only have your food in the restaurant and rightly so.
-There are plently sun loungers available- as long as you don't stay in bed all day!!! Anyway the beach is great.
-We found the walk down to the beach and old town not at all long, very refreshing. The path down was perfectly safe and well lit at night.
-The gym in the hotel is excellent and only 5 euro to use. Staff there very helpful and friendly.
-food in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast top notch and had evening meal two nights, great value, great food and great selection.
In fact, I couldn't fault a thing about this hotel. I don't usually write reviews and while I know everybody is entitled to an opinion, I really dislike somebody criticising hard working staff at this hotel.

The staff and management have worked hard to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Obrigado guys, I hope I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Waterford2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2008

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and encouraging comments.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the facilities and especially the service provided. We will pass your comments to our team and would like to thank you on behalf of them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

just back and would go back again.rooms well kept,bathrooms large enough, though i do think there should be a frige /mini-bar in the room,had to hire one at 5 euros a day.argree the females on reception during the day are a bit "up themselves" but night staff could'nt be more helpful phoning taxi's etc..ate once in hotel was ok value and was good quality but this thing they do re the free drink, the night we ate it was a friut shot,as i wasn't on a stag/hen night we declined(think a glass of wine or somthing would have been more apt) round the pool during the day is quite enough no loud binge drinkers throwing each other into the pool so all the young kids can swin happily enough and your not getting hit with a 'sumani' every two minutes. the hotel is just the right distance from old town and "the strip" 4 euros each way in a taxi,good that drivers dont rip you off, same price every time..

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank still-smokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2008

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay in our Hotel.
We noted your suggestion to include other beverages than a shot in the special Buffet offer and assume that if there must have been a misunderstanding, since guests can choose from drinks of our selection, which include house wine, water, soft drinks and beer. We regret it this was not expressed clearly and will assure that this won’t happen again in the future.
We hope that despite of this we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the hotel. I was pretty unimpressed with the outside of the hotel on arrival, but my mind was put at ease when we got inside. The receiption area is quite impressive, clean and cool. The receiption staff were not great - no smiling or information about where breakfast is served etc. They were pretty miserable throughout our entire stay in fact.

The rooms themselves, although small, are very clean and although we didn't have a great view we were quite happy. There was a maid service every day and must say they did a good job.

Breakfast was really very good, although if you go down after 9am it does get extremely busy and there will be a queue for the toaster, so would advise you go down nice and early.

We always managed to get a sun lounger, although I know there were huge problems - basically there are nowhere near enough for the size of the hotel. They do have the space (maybe just invest in a few more loungers). The staff did start locking us in til 9am which stopped people going down at the crack of dawn to claim their spot. Although this did work, it did make everyone feel like they were in a prison - we are on holiday and we liked to go down early to read for while before breakfast but we couldn't when they started locking the door. Also - beware your towels will be taken off if you leave them for a long time.

The Bellavista area is quite residential and there is not much round about the hotel itself but if you walk about 15-20 minutes you will hit an abundance of shops, bars and restaurants.

On the whole we had a fab holiday and although I wouldn't go out my way to book this hotel again, if it was a last minute deal and I landed there I wouldn't mind too much.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2008

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA.

We regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at our Hotel. We also would like to apologize if the service and friendliness of the reception staff did not correspond to our usual standards, especially since the service and courtesy of our collaborators are usually appreciated by our guests. Our Reception Manager will be informed and we will do our utmost to improve the quality of our service.
As we explained in our response to the previous review, our staff has the instruction to remove the towels if the chair is not being used for more than 30 minutes. With this procedure we want to discourage the habit of reserving the lounger for several hours with a towel, when it is not effectively being used. Also, as we verified that the pool, apart from laying towels on the loungers and leaving, was hardly ever used in the early morning, we decided to establish the referred opening times. It helped us reduce significantly the number of complaints, as many guests felt disturbed by the habit of reserving loungers, and improved the overall conditions of the pool, since we can dedicate more time and attention to the maintenance and cleaning of the pool. We also noted your comment regarding the lack of loungers. We think that the quantity of loungers available is enough for the number of guests using the pool and, since we were able to reduce the problem with the reserved chairs, we hardly received any comment about the lack of loungers. However, we will stay attentive to this situation and, if justifiable, will acquire more.

Thank you once again for your constructive comments.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Just returned from 10 day stay at the Bellavista, Hotel was nice and clean but the staff spoiled it with all their petty rules.
My husband and i are both smokers and enjoy a ciggy with a cup of coffee after breakfast as the restaurant is no smoking we thought that we would have a coffee at one of the tables on the terrace less than 5 feet from the restaurant door were smoking was permitted, this was not allowed as they have 2 members of staff ( Bouncers) on the door at all times checking all guests do not take food or drink out of the restaurant, our coffee was confiscated from us, i was so embarressed and when i asked staff why there were no tables put outside for breakfast to give us smokers the option to enjoy our breakfast it was meet with a shrug of the shoulders and a reply of well we only have seating inside and that is the rules. Mr Manager maybe if you read this please keep us smokers in mind and set up some tables outside in the morning.

The pool area is clean and tidy but there are no where near enough loungers for the amount of people in the hotel and if like me you get up early to have a couple of hours by the pool reading before the rush starts FORGET IT!!!!!!! you are not allowed out to the pool until the WAIT for it !!!!!!door is UNLOCKED at 9am, this is the first hotel i have been in that you have been locked in.
At 9am all guests then make a rush for the beds creating more of a problem as then when you are at breakfast the staff remove towels from beds, Please do not leave your lounger at any time as this happened to us twice once at breakfast and once when we were having lunch at the pool bar when we complained regarding this we were told that we could not leave our loungers unattened at any time so we were just waiting on the arm and leg shackles being fitted to them. There seems to be alot of space around the pool were at least another 40/50 beds could go which would solve the problems.

There is not alot going on in the hotel with regards to day time entertainment, our 12 year old son was boared out of his brain as there was no activitys for his age group what so ever. they have a kids club but it seems to be for the very young. There animations staff did not have alot to do as there were not that many kids using the facility so maybe the could start thinking of activities that the slightly older kids can participate in as the have a fantastic Volleyball area that we used by ourselves and the hotel could use it to play tournements, the Ping pong table was never used and this area could hold 2 more tables and a pool table ( Just a few ideas Mr Manager).

Found the reception staff to be very unhelpfull and very stand offish and beware they will charge you 5% commission to cash travellers cheques even Euro ones, there are at least 4/5 staff at reception at all times but the only time you see them smile is when they are having a laugh and joke with each other . When we were checking out from the hotel we were not even asked if we had enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is 15mins walk to either the strip or the old town it is in a very residental area which is not very clean or well maintained, the pavements are very broken and uneven so take care.
plenty of bars and restaurants once you pass roundabout with watch on it. turn right at the bottom pass the supermarket and you will come to a restaurant called Florenca this was a fantastic coffee shop with cakes and pastries to die for at a very reasonable price. 80 cents for a large coffee and between 1/2 euro for the biggest slice of cake you will ever see, the staff in here were fantastic

We had a fantastic holiday but i think that there are better hotels with more going on and in a better location with more freindly and welcolming staff.

will return to Portugal next year as we really enjoy our time there but we will be at another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lashalouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2008

Dear guest,

Thank you for your constructive comments about your experience in the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA.
We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay and read your thoughts and suggestions carefully. In fact, we do not have tables outside the restaurant for breakfast. We surely do not want to discriminate smokers, but so far none of our guests had made a similar suggestion and we were not aware that this would represent a problem, as we have tables and chairs in our Bar were people can smoke. However, we will have your suggestion in consideration and will verify if we can put some tables and chairs outside the restaurant to allow our guests to enjoy their coffee and cigarettes at breakfast. We would just like to note that we do not have bouncers outside the restaurant to control our guests. Of course, guests are not allowed to take things out of the restaurant but no one specifically controls the guest. The person standing at the door was most probably our head waiter, who is there to welcome our guests and assist them with the seating.
Regarding the removed towels of the loungers, our staff has the instruction to remove the towels if the chair is not being used for more than 30 minutes. With this procedure we want to discourage the habit of reserving the lounger for several hours with a towel, when it is not effectively being used, just to prevent other guests from using it, a situation that has been criticized often by our guests and which this procedure helped to improve.
We regret that you were not satisfied with our entertainment and activities program. We agree that the children’s club, as it is mostly used by smaller children, might be less attractive for older children, but, nevertheless ,our entertainment program offers still a good choice for older children and adults. However, we thank you for your suggestion to organize tournaments and, although we experienced that most of the guests are not willing to participate, will pass your suggestion to our animation Manager.
We would like to apologize if the service provided by our reception staff was not as attentive and friendly as you could expect it to be. Usually the service provided by our reception and staff in general is highly appreciated by our guests and the described attitude does certainly not correspond to our standards of service. Our Reception and Rooms Division Manager will be informed and we will do our utmost to avoid similar attitudes in the future. In regards to the commission charged to cash Travellers Cheques, this is a common practice of hotels, as the bank also charges a commission to us when cashing back the cheques.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. We continuously work in enhancing the quality of our service and therefore take your comments very seriously. We assure you that we will use your suggestions and comments to improve in all the necessary and justifiable points.
Kind regards

Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Today we returned from a wonderful 7 day holiday at Real Bellavista. From arrival to departure all hotel staff was very professional & attentive.
On our arrival, the reception staff processed the formalities very quickly and we were in our room within 7 minutes, with our suitcases being delivered just behind us.
The room was spotless and remained the same throughout the stay (thank you Fatima!). Ample supply of towels & toiletries and were replaced daily. Piping hot water was always available, regardless what time of the day it was. The aircon was very efficient. We had 7 very hot days (+ 23 C) but never felt hot and bothered whilst in the room, day or night.
The breakfast buffet selection was endless, from fruit, cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts, croissants, cheeses, ham, cooked eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, baked beans, toast, rolls etc. etc. (I feel I have not done justice in describing what was available). All being replenished very regularly by the very large number of restaurant staff, Dirty plates/cutlery are whisked away nearly immediately by the staff but they did not hover around. From 8.30 -10.00 (breakfast peak period) the Restaurant Manager meets the guests and then allocates the table. It was nice to know you not are wandering the around trying to find a table, when there is not available.
We were on Bed & Breakfast basis but did have the Evening Meal several times. An excellent selection available in a buffet style, at a price of 19.95 Euros per head (this includes a bottle of good quality wine between the two of us).
The main bar, outside swimming pool and grounds retained the high standard of cleanliness. The poolside bar provides the much required liquid intake and snacks for the serious sun worshippers at a fair price.
Unfortunately we did not take advantage of the Spa facilities but on the initial tour of the hotel, the Spa personnel were very friendly and informative.
A free hotel shuttle bus can transport you to Old Town, New Town (The Strip) and the Bellavista “sister 5 Star Hotel” (in that order) nearly hourly. Due to position of the hotel it is possible to walk the old /new in about 20/25 minutes although there is an incline from the main road up to the hotel.
There is quite a large supermarket about 6 minutes walk away from the Bellavista in case of those forgotten essentials. There some smaller ones slightly nearer.
As a cautionary note please be advised, at present, there are building works being carried out at the rear of the hotel on some spare land. Although it did not affect us in way it might make an impact in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tr3v0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2008

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of our Hotel and facilities.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially, the service provided by our staff.
Regarding the mentioned constructions, we wanted to assure our guests that we do not expect any inconveniences or disturbances caused by the ongoing works, as it is not a major construction site, but only renovation works on a street, which is still at a distance to our Hotel. At least, we haven’t received any complaint or heard any noise so far and since the works will remain at the same dimension, it should have no impact on our Hotel.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa soon and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I stayed in the Hotel Real Bella Vista in the last week of June.It is by far the the best hotel I have stayed in when I was abroad.

The rooms were excellent .They were air conditioned,had loads of TV channels that showed English programs like scrubs etc.The maids were also very good and they cleaned the room everyday.

The pool was brilliant.No shortage of sunbeds and most times I had the indoor and Outdoor pool to myself.The pool bar had very nice food and it was reasonable also.I would recommend the chicken baguette.

The buffet everynight was very tasty and it was also reasonable.There was a theme everynight.On the Thursday night there was a barbecue and the staff put tables outside so everyone could eat around the pool.

The bar was good but it was very quite most nights..There would be a singer there everynight..It was good.The bar staff were brilliant especially Rui who would come and talk to us each night.

The reception staff were also very nice.They phoned a doctor for us when we required one and they also left me stay on the internet for as long as I wanted even though I only payed for 30 mins:).

The hotel is located about 5 mins walk to the town center where you will find the pingo doce supermarket and the Modello shopping center.We used to get a taxi to the strip and the old town.The taxi are very cheap,they only cost around €4.Be prepared to queue for a taxi when leaving old town.

Overall I loved this hotel and next year I will return for a 2 week stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ronanole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2008

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice feedback on the Real Bellavista Hotel & SPA.
It is always motivating to hear that our guests are satisfied with the Hotel and with the quality of our service and friendliness of our staff.
We look forward in welcoming you back next year for another relaxing and enjoyable holiday at the Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa. Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
1,736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
0.7 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#31 of 154 in Albufeira
486 reviews
3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. do Estadio, Albufeira 8200-127, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#16 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $58 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Bellavista Hotel Albufeira
Real Bellavista Hotel And Spa
Hotel Real Bellavista
Real Bellavista Albufeira
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing