We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
central
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel for the money”
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Excellent 4* hotel, booked late and requested a room on an upper floor that was non-smoking, got room 422 on top floor very spacious with a double balcony - lovely and quiet, but take a travel kettle etc as the algarve don't seem to go for the kettle in room thing, however we had a mini bar.

The breakfast was also great with hot buffet, cold meats, great selection of pastries, bread, cereals, yogurts etc - if you like strong tea make sure you use 2 teabags per pot.

The staff were inobtrusive but there if you needed them, which is what we like.

We did not use the gym or sauna, which was 5 euros each per visit or use the pool, though we looked around and the facilities looked excellent.

We love walking and found ourselves in the old town within 20 minutes, which had a great selection of restaurants, many still open for this time of year. We always walked across the beach to get to the strip, though if you have problems with mobility its not recommended as climbing rocks etc is involved. However you can catch the road train from the brisa sol hotel which runs to the strip and the old town in a loop for 3 euros each per day or 2 euros per trip. The strip we found to be eerily quiet and lacking the ambience of the old town, though in season you can see it would be a typical Kavos, playa de las americas type night spot.

Eating out in the old town was good but you get harrassed as you try to look at menus, snoopys was good for sangria and toastie snacks and was also beachfront.

We hired a car but did not use it other than to get to from the airport (as it was the same cost as an airport transfer) If we had been there for more than 4 days we would have gone exploring, We had our last few hours in Faro, which could have been better served with a full day, as there seemed a lot to see.

My only critisism would be that you get used to the UK for being non-smoking in enclosed areas, you do have to walk through some smoky areas to get to the hotel restaurant, which thankfully is non-smoking, smokers can go outside.

All in all a cheap flight, fab hotel and great weather made this a lovely 4 day break.

  • Liked — great room and lovely breakfast
  • Disliked — allowed smoking in public areas
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank razbolch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    763
    459
    147
    76
See reviews for
561
777
35
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Needed a mum & daughter 'girlie' getaway for pool and pampering at short notice. Was offered the Real Bella Vista & Spa and thought we would try Portugal for the first time. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the service was courteous. The rooms were of a generous size with a well equipped bathroom including hairdryer, so we needn't have bothered taking our own. A balcony with table and chairs and a sea view (just). A sofa- which could be made into a third bed if needed.
Have to admit, it would be a good idea if every member of staff slept on one of their beds for a night. I think they would soon do something about them. I actually like a firm bed but these are only marginally better than sleeping on the floor! As a previous reviewer said, fold up the spare blankets and put them under the bottom sheet- it does make it slightly more comfortable. I had the most excruciating neck ache each morning so it was just as well that the reason for our break was to experience some pampering so we did have a massage to help. Perhaps every guest should be treated to a free back massage until they replace the beds! That said it was nice to have space in and around the beds.
TV had a good selection (although had to watch the Rugby final on a French channel and the F1 final didn't feature anywhere at all, but loads of football (yawn)- if you like it) . Had taken our own kettle having seen previous reviews- ok so long as you don't need fresh milk for the chosen hot drink. Mind you the weather was so pleasantly warm for the end of October, we drank mainly cold drinks- bought at the well stocked supermarket in the shopping centre near the clock roundabout.
Hotel food was ok. Buffet breakfast provided enough choice but don't expect the bacon to be like English bacon, it is rather thin and processed. Beware of the garlic lurking in the mushrooms. Fine for lunch/ dinner but not really suitable for breakfast. We ate in only one evening but didn't really enjoy the concept of the buffet so went to the old town all the other nights.
Being the end of the season, the hotel was quiet- just what we wanted, and we had the pool virtually to ourselves. Was just the right temperature for some pleasant swimming prior to relaxing in the jacuzzi. Yes, only one seat with decent bubbles though.
Took the three day pampering option- I think the spa was open just for us- it was great. I don't have any other spa experiences to compare it with but we found It so relaxing and the staff helpful. It was great to try some different treatments. We both really enjoyed the Vichy shower- now was that due to the treatment or the fact we had a nice young man stripped to the waist massaging our backs?!!
So,
the spa was great.
cleanliness, great.
facilities, pretty good.
pool, pretty good.
ambiance, pretty good.
food, ok.
bed comfort, TERRIBLE.

but overall for us it fulfilled our requirements and could generally recommend the hotel. However, Albufeira is not our type of resort and I don't think I will be rushing back to Portugal, but that is our personal choice.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliceBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Fantastic hotel - well worth the 4 stars. We (boyfriend 30 and I 24) booked last min, having stayed in Albufeira before we knew the places we wanted to be close to and visit - mainly The Old Town and beach, i wanted a hotel as close to The Old Town as poss but was willing to stay further out as this hotel looked lovely and had great reviews compared to accommodation closer to the beach. We stayed on BB basis - breakfast was amazing!!! Weather was lovely - at the end of October, approx 25 degrees, staff friendly, hotel very clean, room nice.
As we only need a place to rest at the end of a busy day, we weren’t particularly bothered about hotel services/entertainment. Swimming pool was very nice as was bar area.
We walked through The New Town the one day and on to the beach and this took approx 15/20 mins to reach and then a further walk on to the beach. Everyday we would take taxis to and fro the Old Town twice a day as they only cost 4 euros each way. We could have walked - was told it was approx a 20 min walk.
The Old Town is beautiful, the beach is gorgeous, the sun is shining and the locals are friendly, couldn’t ask for more and cant recommend the area or hotel enough!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rorometro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We recently stayed at the Hotel Real Bellavista in Albufeira to celebrate my father's 80th birthday and if you want an excellent breakfast then you need look no further.

The evening meal was also very good with an excellent buffet service.We decided to go half board as my parents didn't fancy trekking down to the town every evening and we weren't disappointed.

We were also struck by the cleanliness of the hotel and the efficiency of the staff.

Given the large number of English tourists, some of whom were elderly, a nice touch would have been to have the room itself supplied with tea and coffee-making facilities.We discovered later that it was in fact possible to hire a kettle from reception.Balconies were supplied with table and chairs, but given the extreme heat at times, a parasol would have made all the difference for those who find it difficult to sit in the full sun.

The bar staff were friendly but one felt that there weren't enough of them and there were often long queues at the bar.

Evening entertainment was generally of a good standard but lacked variety.

All in all, we had a good stay and I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — not enough bar staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

We got back from our holiday staying at the Real Bellavista Hotel last week. The hotel was very clean, Friendly and comfortable which made the holiday one of the best that we have had.

Other reviews have commented on the location being less than ideal but we found it great as it was a bit away from the town which meant that it was peaceful and quiet!

The hotel is a 15 minute walk to the Old Town (Fishermans Beach) and 20 min+ walk to the Strip. However the bus that the hotel provides is excellent which we used every day taking you to the Old Town, Strip and Beach.

Overal the hotel was a great place to stay, offering a clean relaxing environment along with a plesant indoor/outdoor pool to enjoy.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

We stayed here for a week in September 2007, it's a good 4 star class hotel, room was really clean with air con and balcony. Breakfast was a good selection, didn't try the buffet restaurant for evening meal. The staff were pretty helpful too. The bar area was ok but got pretty smokey, there wasn't much ventilation. The pool area was one thing that let the hotel down, it was pretty small for the size of the hotel.

Theres an indoor pool, joined to the main pool, so not heated. You have to pay to use the gym too. It's about a 15-20 min walk to the old town, all downhill.

Theres a free mini-bus but it stops at 6pm! Taxi's are only 4 euro's one way to the old town though, although the que can get a little big on the way back.

All in all, nice hotel, nice staff, good holiday.

  • Liked — Standard of hotel in general
  • Disliked — Small pool area
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Great Hotel.

Everything you need , good breakfast spacious clean rooms, peacfull location, pool area small but not packed. Gym is well equiped.

Only a 20-minute walk to the Old Town or short taxi ride.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#59 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
0.9 mi away
Auramar Beach Resort
Auramar Beach Resort
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa

Property: Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Address: Av. do Estadio, Albufeira 8200-127, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#30 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#31 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Bellavista Hotel And Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Real Bellavista
Real Bellavista Albufeira
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing