We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families but definately not a four star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Ranked #89 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 week stay with our 2 year old daugther and relations.

Stayed in a studio with twin beds, basic but clean and adequate. Cleaners did an excellent job.

Relations had one bedroom apartment which was smarter and of a decent size.

The hotel entertainment for the children was excellent and the team of staff really do give their all.

The food was acceptable, but basic for children, one night they did spag bol and everyone was just about tucking in! Unfortunately the breakfast was poor and not much choice. Please note that for all inclusive you do have the option to dine in the Eva restaurant (Portugese menu) for no extra charge if you book in before 3pm. Great food and waiter service.

Overall a great stay but the hotel could do with a bit of a refurb to warrant a 4-star rating.

Oh and be careful walking round the old town where thay are doing lots of pavement work. My wife fell over requiring hospital treatment, so please do take out insurance!!!! The rep was a great help.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DonnyDave67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,710 - 2,716 of 3,045 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2007

Just back from two weeks in this hotel. It's way over rated at 4 stars. Despite it only being 7 years old the hotel is shabby to say the least. Names scored into the tables in the foyer, couches that wouldn't look out of place in a charity shop, and then there's the rooms.
None of the studio apts have a pool view, which didn't really bother us, but the seagull dropping all over the windows at the side of the glass elevator, less than 3 feet from our balcony did. Rooms look as though they haven't been decorated/maintained since opening. Don't get me wrong, they were really clean, but not waht I'd expect from a four star hotel.
Upsides, it has a good pool area, with a large grass area and a lot of (pay extra) ammenities.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pietersen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We have just returned from the Paraiso after staying for a week. I would say this is a four star but does need a general tidy up to make it feel fresher and more modern. The review below mentioned stained carpets. I first thought this but after close inspection realised that the carpet is patterned but due to the poor lighting in the corridors it looked stained when in actual fact it wasnt. The pool area was excellent. It is fantastic for kids and the play area is brilliant. I wouldnt recommend this hotel for a coupe who want a quiet break away.

We upgraded to all inclusive for three days. I thought the lunch menu and the snack bar was worth it but found the evening meal a little bit too "canteen" feeling. By this I mean it was like a conveyor belt of the same food. I think it would have been nice if it was set out more like the restaurant upstairs. More food choices would have been nice.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and my parents had paid for a studio. Our apartment was amazing but the studios werent as good. I wouldnt personally want to stay in one of these rooms as they overlook the car park but the apartments overlook the pool area and are huge. My parents ended up paying to upgrade and they were more than happy with their room.

I agree that the evening entertainment is a bit poor. It could be alot better.

The hotel shops are very expensive but there is a supermarket just up the road. All in all, it is a brilliant hotel that I would definetley go back to.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katyjackSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We went to the Hotel Paraiso De Albufiera in April 2007 and absolutely loved it! The service was great, staff very helpful and pleasant, food out of this world (lots of lovely fish dishes-watch the bones!), lots of entertainment by the Thomas Cook staff, and there was a top nightclub in the basement for letting our hair down in which you could also bring the kids along to now and again! It also had a massive swimming pool, but nobody went in it much when we were there as it was April and there was a few cloudy days.
The hotel only has All Inclusive meals in April as its usually self catering.
The bedrooms are huge! Lots of room for the young ones to run around and play and the balconies are twice the size that you usually get in any hotel.The beds are lovely and comfy and I could have stayed in them all day. Kitchens are equiped with what you have at home. Bathroom has music switch in so you can listen to tunes whilst you have a bath!
Try and get a sea view, as at the front of the hotel is near a by-pass, not that it bothers anyone anyway, as there is another road before it, but the sea view side is nicer, and sunnier if you want to sit on the balcony and get a tan like I did!
If you want to go into the Old Town you turn left out of the front of the hotel past a few souvenir shops and just keep going and you end up there after about 20 mins walk. If you turn right out of the hotel you end up at The Strip in approx 15 mins walk, so its in the right position for everything.
Its roughly about 40 mins from the airport and we were dropped off first with Thomas Cook so was really pleased about that!
The hotel has a great souvenir shop and mini market shop. And enough sweets, toys and books to keep the kids going.
We would love to go again, but stay for two weeks next time as one was definately not enough!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CheshireBeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

just back from 9night stay at paraiso which actually was our honeymoon! I was really worried after reading the reviews although everything turned out ok! When i informed the receptionist that we were on honey moon we received excellent service! he realised we had booked a studio which in his opinion were low standard but he insured we got one of the best there was, which was more than adequate with 2 single beds (which we pushed together), for all the time we spend in our room! the hotel was really clean and pool area was great with plenty of sunbeds! we were really disapointed with the breakfast nothing i would eat although by how much others were we must be too fussy! if you havent booked yet i would recommend you book 1 bed apartment as none of the studios have pool views and some are on the bottom floor on the car park!

the restaurants out and about are fantastic, do not miss the Sizzling Stone! bottom of the strip and turn left! AMAZING!the steaks are A*. the Bank in the old town i also exceptional quality! overall albufeira is lovely place and i would definitely recommend! we had a brilliant time and do not have complaints regarding the service we received at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KarenNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

Just returned from a two week holiday with my family.
I thought that we payed for a four star hotel and got a three star hotel instead.
This hotel is in need for a refurbishment, the carpets are very stained along the corridors and also down to the restaurant, which was a bit off putting.
I would not recommend staying in a studio as they are very basic, old and shoddy.
We booked this hotel a year ago and asked for a sea view and got a main road instead.
Reception staff found it hard to smile.
The hotel needs some better artists in the bar area, everynight seems to be a organ player over 60yrs singing, comedians would be good for the adults now and again.
On a positive note the reps do a fantastic job day and night, they never seem to stop, i don't know were they get their energy from.
The pool was very nice and also the bar staff were friendly.
I would recommend zoo-marine a great day out and we also enjoyed the portuguese evening.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda5yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

What a lovely relaxing holiday. We have just returned from the algarve and i have to say it's the best family trip to date, we decided to go self-catering at the Paraiso which as it turned out for us was ideal, leaving you free to enjoy the beautiful old town restaraunts at night or the immaculate beaches by day. The hotel overall was excellent, very clean and tidy with friendly and efficient staff for whom nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were quite spacious with maids cleaning them at least three times during a seven night stay. The kids (7 & 10) were dumped on the sofa bed and the pull out below and they didn't grumble once. The swimming pools surrounding area was washed and scrubbed every morning without fail, the pool was a little cool at first but warmed up as the weather did (between 28 & 30 all week). We stopped on the seventh floor facing the pool which had a beautiful sunrise, the room was very quiet for such a large hotel, you could hear the music from here just but it wasn't a problem getting to sleep if the patio doors were shut. The only gripe would be that snacks around the pool were expensive and the beer a little dearer than back home. Entertainment for the kids was spot on. We genarally ate out at night then returned to the relaxing bar Adao to be greeted by friendly bar staff. Would recommend self catering for sure as your'e not tied to the hotel every minute of the day to try and get value for money from all-inclusive deals. Great holiday!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank newc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#92 of 154 in Albufeira
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,725 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Municipio | Lote 31, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $39 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. License No. 843 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Spa, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 3.50 / each at the front desk. Guests with food allergies, food intolerances and/or other special dietary needs must notify the hotel before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card, at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing