We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Ranked #87 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went on hen party for 3 nights only. Thank god we did not go for longer. Potatoes and veg left in water they were cooked in. All food was cold or luke warm. Lighting in corridors and washrooms was inadequate, could not see to apply make up had we wanted to. The curtains in our bedroom did not keep out the light and everything seemed really dirty. Cleaning staff on our floor were as miserable as sin and to cap it all we could not get a seat in bar on Saturday night as all the local people came into the hotel for dancing. It was horrendous and I will not be going back needless to say. I would give this hotel no more than 2 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,775 - 1,781 of 3,062 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

i travel frequently.rooms about 20 years old in need of refurb.no way 4*
bad points .single uncomfortable beds pillows with rocks inside,rooms not cleaned properly.toiletries not replaced ridiculous for supposed 4* 2 euros for pool lounger cushions free for all inclusive poor considering hotel earns more profit from normal guests as you buy drinks and food.hotel caters really for all inclusive hen/stag parties.25 euro deposit for a hair dryer!very noisy at night.
good points.reception polite and helpful pool area good plenty of sunbeds and space entertainment team friendly
summary.not 4* and would not return again

Room Tip: reception told us all rooms are same qualityie poor ecept different sizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjmkam36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just in addition to my good review above I have to post about the restaurant as it lets the complex down very badly.
We tried it the other night and sadly this is what we experienced
1. After waiting a while for starter we finally got soup Luke warm
2. Asked for no onions twice and got regardless
3. Had to get vinegar and ask for water and they didnt give us glasses so had to get own glasses
4. Wasn't asked till the end of the meal was everything ok and when mentioned the onions etc got no apology and a Tskk from the waiter with a shrug of his shoulders
Very Bad inattentive service! All small issues but in one restaurant on the one night is disappointing as other restaurants in the region fight for your business and great service with none of the above issues ;(

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davedarave00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

As this is my first review I wish that it were a positive one, however, if you are intending on travelling to Albufeira I would stay clear of the Paraiso. In summary, the apartments are badly in need of refurbishment and repair, there are problems with pest control (cockroaches) and the overall comfort factor is at the bottom end of the scale. So the negatives and positives... (we booked on a last minute deal...)

Negatives:
- On arrival we were greeted in an old complex style (early 90's) reception and given a ground floor apartment as requested (we were travelling with our 6 month old baby). Having travelled down what can old be described as "hostel like" hallways we entered our apartment. The first thing we noticed was that the balcony doors in both the living area and bedroom were broken. We requested reception to fix and they duly obliged. However, they are not the most secure and this should be a minimum requirement on the ground floor.
- The apartments are old and pretty run down and not very clean (for example cob webs in corners, skirting boards dirty etc... - the apartment floors are mopped everyday by cleaners however).
- There are no double beds in the apartments. However they pushed the two twin beds together for us. The beds are small, hard and uncomfortable (hostel quality beds - very narrow and hard). One of our beds was broken and they had to get it repaired (not replaced!).
- The bathroom was run down and the shower head was broken so we had to endure one continuous drip for a shower...
- On the 3rd day of our holiday we returned from a walk in the town to see that a tile had been smashed on our little patio. On querying reception we were told that the cleaners had reported it and they did not now what happened. However it was obvious that someone had dropped something from one of the 8 stories. We did not go out on the patio with our six month old again. The tile was replaced two days later, whilst we had to endure a building site sign on our patio around the broken tile.
- On the fourth day we noted cockroaches all over the ground floor of the complex. We noticed these in our rooms also and complained. We were told that it was the towns problem and not the hotels and they have someone once a month come in for pest control.
- By the 5th day we had had enough and explained all our issues to management. They offered us another apartment which had been recently refurbished. We had not realised that they had another standard. This apartment was marginally better in comparison to the first, newly painted, pictures on the wall and a good shower head :) However, there was no hot water. We were told it would be fixed within a half hour, however, the night and morning of checkout passed with no hot water...
- You do not get a remote for the television without a 25 euro deposit. We were told it works fine manually.
- WIFI is extremely expensive.
- Everything costs you unless you are on an all inclusive package. Use of the gym on the ground floor which is not affiliated with the hotel is 16 euro per day.
- Sunbed cushions cost 2 euro per day.
- This is a working class resort and I do not mean that in a snobby way. It caters for groups of men and women on hen and stag nights as well as groups who are generally on a "party all night" holiday. 90% of the clientele appear to be English/Irish. The staff all speak English even if you want to speak Portuguese.
- Breakfast costs 19 euro for two people. This is a rip off considering the quality and type of food you can get for half the price in the near by cafes ( and I mean twice the quality at half the price - no exaggeration). Do not eat at this place if you have the misfortune of staying here!!!!!

Positives:
- Staff are friendly and polite, we were even offered a basket of fruit and a bottle of wine for our troubles the night before we left (and believe me we have never complained anywhere before, we are not the type and left our complaints until we could take no more two days before we were due to check out).
- The rest of the positives relate to the town. The old town is a 15 minute max walk away. However, you will be told it is too far and to take a taxi... The new town or "strip" is only 10 minutes away. The old town is very pretty with loads of options for food and cafes and beaches... the new town is also worth a stroll through but unless you want to mingle with all the hens and stags I would aim to be out of there around 7pm...

Overall our experience of the Algarve in general would make us want to return. My wife is from Brazil and loved the local people, the food and climate. Next time we would ensure to stay somewhere more suitable and perhaps further afield than Albufeira although it is well worth a visit. I would recommend staying in a nice hotel down in the old town if coming here but please please stay well clear of the Paraiso.

Room Tip: To avoid cockroaches request a room on the upper floors (better chance of avoiding at least!). Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BPSSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

stunning looking hotel when you arrive at night with lights etc and we had a 1 bedroom self catering apartment which is great as its a full/half board hotel as well with restaurant /bar onsite. Facilities are good with poolside bar , huge pool, with tennis and basketball pool side, however you have to pay for (eg €10 for tennis for an hour) Indoor pool is nice but is usually full with kids and toddlers, also this was kinda sold as an adult only hotel but its certainly not as theres kids entertainment a lot of the time which is good if your travelling with kids but not good if your a couple who doesn't like noisy kids.. the gym incidentally costs 16€ a visit if your self catering so a tad expensive. Beds are huge but a little hard if anything.
all in all great location with a 10 minute walk to the new town(livelier younger crowd) and 15 min walk to the old town (more restaurants and slightly older crowd)
Cant fault the hotel staff they are great with cleaning most days and plenty of clean towels etc...
would definitely recommend for a sun break, not as mad as magaluff or san Antonio holidays but not as quiet as butlins in September but a nice mix and you have the choice to visit either town. Ciao!

Room Tip: look for pool facing as the city view doesn't get sun till 5pm-ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davedarave000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked the Paraiso on the recommendation of a friend. There was myself, my husband and 3 kids 10, 9 and 4. We arrived on the 2nd of May for a week. Our 1st impressions of the hotel were great it was huge and our apartement was very big too but unfortunately we were under the bar and it was very noisy at night so i asked to move and there was no problem. We found the staff at reception very friendly and there was plenty for the kids to do. Unfortunately the outdoor pool is very cold this time of year so we used the indoor one. There is a big games room for the older kids and my kids loved playing pool the entertainment at night was good and the kids loved watching it in the bar. Overall we really enjoyed the holiday and the hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the Old Town, Strip and the beach. Our transfers from the airport to the hotel were great too and i would recommend Yellowfish Transfers as we had a hassle free holiday and their service just started it off the right way. JoMayo, Ireland.

Room Tip: If your a young family stay away from apartement 219 on the 2nd floor as its under the bar we were m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoBMayoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went to this hotel with my wife for a fortnight from 1st May.We arranged this as a cheap break booked through a national newspaper advert.The total cost for the whole holiday,flights,hotel,transfers and free parking at Prestwick Airport was only £550 all in.
As we had paid such a small sum for this holiday I was prepared to kind of " slum it" for a couple of weeks.What a pleasant surprise therefore when we arrived at the Paraiso and found it to be very nice.
The room we had was classed as a studio but there was plenty room and cooking facilities were good (we were self catering but ate out most nights)
The beds were not the best but we coped,they were qiute hard and very narrow.
There is an option to go all inclusive at this hotel and people we spoke to who were all inclusive said it was good also although I think the extra costs for this were high.
All inclusive entitles you to free cushions and towels for the sunbeds at poolside,we had to pay 2 euros per cushion per day and use our own towels.
This hotel also has a daft rule that you must wear a swimming cap if you are using the indoor pool.Not very convenient if you are a lady who just wants to have a quick dip without getting your hairdo wet !! like my wife !!
The large outdoor pool was very cold so the indoor pool was tempting.
There is loads of space around the outdoor pool with tiled and grass areas and plenty sunbeds.
The hotel is in a central location in Albufeira equi-distant between the old town and the strip with about a leisurely 10 minute walk to each.
Overall we had a nice relaxing holiday,the weather was good also and the hotel was one we would consider returning to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frasthebishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 153 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#90 of 153 in Albufeira
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 153 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#40 of 153 in Albufeira
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#25 of 153 in Albufeira
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Municipio | Lote 31, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $41 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. License No. 843 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Spa, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 3.50 / each at the front desk. Guests with food allergies, food intolerances and/or other special dietary needs must notify the hotel before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card, at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing