We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fair review by a well travelled ex Holiday Rep who worked in Albufeira!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Ranked #89 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well, we too read the reviews on here and thought oh dear what have we booked!
I'm now wondering if the days of holiday reviews have had their time?

We had a great holiday!!!
I'm not taking anything away from all the other experiences that have been shared on here but I can only speak as I find.

We booked a week at half term for 5 people in 2 one bedroom apartments on all inclusive.
We had apartments 620 and 621 facing the garden and pool with a seaview in the distance.

The apartments are HUGE and very spacious and have everything you need to be self catering. The decor is circa 2001 with swags and tails over the bed and matching style pictures BUT it was clean and well maintained.

The balcony covers the length of your bedroom and lounge area with a maiden for drying clothes, 4 seats and a table so in other words, plenty of room!

The public areas are lovely, marble, well laid out and spacious.

Our 3 teenage girls LOVED the games room downstairs which was more like an arcade with video games, table tennis, air hockey etc it was like an in house youth club, supervised by an attendant and open till midnight but with most kids up to their rooms around 11pm.

The hotel has an indoor pool which was having work done to it the day after we arrived and I was concerned we would be without the use of an indoor pool if the weather changed BUT there is another pool in the gym downstairs!!!!
So with all the intentions of using that along with the sauna, steam room and gym.......we never went near the place as the weather was nice enough to stay outdoors and we decided to give the gym a miss for a week while we were on holiday. (you need a swimming cap to enter all the indoor pools and this can be purchased for 3 euros if you haven't your own to take with you)

The pool outside is MASSIVE and at half term we had plenty of sunbeds and space to sunbathe but I would be the first to admit that when this complex is fully booked in the height of summer, I imagine this would not be the case.
Although there would be plenty of space to put your towel on the grassed areas, sunbeds I could well imagine are in short supply.

When you are on all inclusive, you receive a towel card (adults only) for fresh towels to be used by the pool each day which was a god send. You also get sun mattresses for the loungers which I believe you pay for when self catering?

I too read all the reports on here slagging off the pool attendant and poolside bar staff etc etc and all I can say is behavior breeds behavior and if you let them do their job and take into account that while you're relaxing by the pool, they have to put up with 100s of kids running round and acting the goat for 9hrs a day :-) give them a break.
Same can be said of the reception staff, the place is huge and the kids are constantly running up to the desk to ask for things so just bare with them as I'm quite sure if this was a hotel in the UK we wouldn't be quite so patient?

Right then......the food!
After reading the reports on here I was prepared to be in a back room eating slop and thought never mind at least my waist line will benefit.
But the food during half term was BRILLIANT!
We didn't have 1 bad meal the whole time we were there. Breakfast had everything you needed juices, cereal, cooked items, fruit, waffles, coffee, breads etc etc

Lunches and dinner had soup, salads, various hot dishes, fruit, cakes, ice cream and plenty more.

The food from the pool side bar consisted of baguettes, hot dogs, onion rings, wedges, chips and ice cream so the kids bloody loved it.

Location of this hotel as stated is excellent, between the strip and old town.
I always hire a car from Auto Jardim as I used them when I worked as a Rep in Albufeira in 1992. I would strongly recommend you book on line as I saved 50 euros on a Ford Focus for 3 days by booking on line with Auto Jardim rather than going into the resort office in Town (even though we collected the car from there, they couldn't price match their on line prices face to face)

Now then I saved the best till last.......The Entertainment.
This wasn't supplied by the hotel this was courtesy of the Thomas Cook Team who were brilliant.
They arranged activities throughout the afternoon such as giant jenga, pub quiz, killer pool, 5 a side footie and rounded the kids up and had them jumping in the pool to see who won the daily "biggest splash"
Then in the evenings they gave out certificates, played games and entertained the younger ones from 7-9.30pm
At 10pm each night they put on a show of some sort which could be anything from Sounds of the 80s, Queen tribute to Mr and Mrs Paraiso.
After being a Rep myself, believe me this team are not just a bunch of reps covering the evening shift, they are trained entertainers who can sing, dance and compere with great comedy.
They worked hard and made this hotel great in the evenings and as an independent traveler with Travel Republic, I'd like to say Thank You Thomas Cook :-)

Many things make a holiday and all of the above certainly helped but make your own holiday experience and make your own mind up too......don't always rely on other peoples reviews :-)

Dee
X

Room Tip: High floor garden rooms are great for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank dee_gee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Dee

Thank you for your very complete, candid and yet positive review of your holiday experience with us.

I very much enjoyed reading your contribution and look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

PS - the entertainment that Thomas Cook provides throughout the season is charged to the hotel, but has certainly been a good investment this year.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,834 - 1,840 of 3,006 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Been come to albufeira for years now and seen this hotel many times, so when it popped up at this price on booking.com I jumped at the chance. For me and my mrs it was a bed and somewhere to change so at the price we paid was great, however it is dated and in need of renovation, under staffed at the bar but good staff, it's in a perfect location for the strip and old town. It's a 2-3 star place and at the price I paid its fair anymore no

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesharvey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear James

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor.

We regret that on this occasion, not all our services lived up to your expectations. The hotel is currently undergoing a partial renovation of the apartments, and we hope this will add to guest's enjoyment of the hotel in the future.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In the restaurant they only give us the same food over and over again , some of the staff were not friendly as well. The rooms in the hotel needed upgrading because the beds were very uncomfortable. it was not safe for the children cause they had a broken glass in the window what could fall out any time and the bathroom needed to be proper scrubbed down . The indoor swimming pool was very nice and the most activities what we did were very enjoyable. and the whole thing needed a little bit of cleaning.



BESIDES THAT HAD A VERY GOOD TIME !!!!

Room Tip: Going near the park is a lot better "if you have kids".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Brian

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion, not all our services lived up to your expectations and that you did not enjoy the food service selections.

The broken glass door panel at the hotel's entrance has to be made especially and brought in from Spain and should be arriving any day now to be installed.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed here for a week in april all inclusive and have just got back from a 9 night stay self catering in october. i would go back again next year aswell but self catering again as the food was not the best and as i dont drink and my partner not a big drinker it worked out better self catering we have 3 kids 16, 6 + 5. we went to the supermarket 2 minutes from the hotel and bought loads of drinks for them and took them down to the pool of a day and bought drinks at the bar at night. we got loads of nice food from there aswell and cooked in the room a few nights as the kitchen is very well equipt. the rooms were spotless and a maid came in daily and made the beds,brushed and moped right through. the entertainment was excellent the thomas cook team were great with the kids and the adults they got everyone involved day and night they worked tirelessly to keep people happy and they could not have done a better job of it. dont listen to the moaners who want 5* quality but are not prepared to pay for it! if you want a fun but relaxing family holiday with excellent value for money stay here, your 15 mins walk from the strip and 15 mins walk from the old town. we had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool have a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Lyns

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We are very happy to learn that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the service personnel involved in making your visit a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Paraiso in the near future.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just stayed for half term AL .Hotel appears pleasant and welcoming, but lift the lid and hotel is set in the 70's, hotel is in need of desperate upgrade to rooms, which include, broken tables, door handles and electrics that are totally unsafe for family use. Stayed in room 537, total let down, total waste of money. As for the food, the worst that we have had on numerous AL holidays, no choice, cold and of school dinners standard, pizza served at lunch and dinner for both adults and children, pasta served with no sauce of any sort, numerous guests coming down with virus. Staff unhelpful at times and no interested in working but chatting amongst themselves rather than been helpful to the holiday makers. Chamber maids help themselves to you duty free, did not find out till arrival back in UK, would of complained but hotel policy states that any no in the smallest safe in the wold is not covered for insurance purposes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Nigel

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret that on this occasion the food service did not live up to your expectations. Regarding the maintenance issues you have brought to our attention for apartment 537, we shall pass this on to maintenance to have checked.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for 1 week AI. Hotel itself fine, apartments a great size. Reception staff helpful and friendly, dining room staff some ok some should stay at home! But the worst of all has to be the tall blond with glasses at the snack bar. How rude she is, with plenty of attitude. Have seen a few comments on here about her and also while in the hotel. What I wonder is, if management read these remarks why dosen't someone have a stern word in her ear! Top marks to Thomas cook staff. Worked their butts off. Rained a few days but they where always about with a cheery word and games etc. Food was short on choice but edible and enjoyable. Not a resort for disabled.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Chris

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor. Your insight and comments are extremely valuable to us and motivate us to continue striving to improve our services.

We regret to learn that you had a less than positive experience in the pool snack-bar with a member of staff. We do read all guest comments and look to remedy/correct anything that is not up to standard, and this matter is no exception.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just back from this hotel
We have stayed at many many hotels and hardly ever feel the need to put a negative review so here goes!!!!
What an outside underdog as a Pre Paid all Inclusive guest you ar made to feel like!!!
Queues ar the bars are formed in an orderly line until a guest or visitor wanders to the front flashes their money and are served before the other waiting guest!!! One answer was they are paying guests!!! Err excuse me us mere all inclusive guests probably paid twice as much as these people paying as they purchased only we paid up front!!
One night table service was offered as it was very busy with visiting dancers following an act I assume!! When the waiter was asked could we order drinks please the answer was no you go and queue at the bar and when cialkenged why the answer was you are all inclusive you have to wait these people are paying guests!!!
All of our group and plenty others who were all inclusive were disgusted by this to say the least
This hotel is no where near a 4* I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels and this is in my bottom 3 at least.
The food in the restaurant is very limited in choice with hardly anything aimed towards children. Aside the Chips and pasta as no way we were eating at the snack bar as described below,
The outside snack bar is covered in ants crawling all over the counter next to and were the food is!!!
Some staff are a credit to the place and do smile but these are a minority as most are grumpy and don't smile at all!!!
The rooms are basic and the corridors leading to rooms are dirty and were not cleaned once during our stay!!! Same leaves and bits of dirt along the corridors all the time we were there!!
The hotel In a whole looks like it Is in need of a full refurb inside and out!!! Dirty walls outside with large dirty water marks etc
Would never stay again as can get better 4* at cheaper prices for a much more enjoyable stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdkPrestonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neale F, General Manager at Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your contribution to TripAdvisor.

We regret that on this occasion, not all our services lived up to your expectations. The questions raised regrading the bar service will be looked into, as what you describe is certainly not our policy. All guests should receive the same level of high service, wthout any sort of discrimination.

Kind Regards
N. French
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,795 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
0.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
1,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#18 of 154 in Albufeira
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Municipio | Lote 31, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $36 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. License No. 843 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Spa, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 3.50 / each at the front desk. Guests with food allergies, food intolerances and/or other special dietary needs must notify the hotel before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card, at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing