We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big but friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Ranked #90 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Having read other reviews about this hotel we went with slight trepidation but were pleasantly surprised. The reception staff greeted us warmly and were very helpful. The public areas were very clean and tidy as there seemed to be an army of cleaners at work nearly all day.
Our apartment was very spacious and well equiped. The furniture was a bit dated and the beds were firm but comfortable.
We were half board but swapping our evening meal for lunch was not a problem. This allowed us to go out and sample the local cuisine in the nearby restaurants of which there were many. The evening buffet meal in the hotel was not to our taste as the restaurant was extremely busy and the food was not very hot.
We did feel that the drinks in the hotel were a little expensive compared to other places. It was as though we were paying for the all-inclusive people!
One small gripe we had was that many items that come as standard in other hotels (such as TV control and sunbed mattresses) had to be hired.
The other thing to note about Portugal is that they do not have the smoking restrictions that we have in Britain. As non-smokers, it made some of our meals out very unpleasant and we could not enjoy a drink in the hotel bar for the smoke.
This would not however stop us from returning to Portugal as we found everything and everyone very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glad2behome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,673 - 2,679 of 3,039 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2007

Me and my partner with our three kids went at the end of june for one week all inclusive and i have to say we had a fantastic time.........food was excellent with so much too choose from as well!

The kids entertainment really isnt for the Adults a bit tacky however we chose this place for the kids and it was a giggle and the kids loved it......they have a big games room for the kids which our 3 were often in! There is another bar which is like a chill room, however again the entertainment is very old and is a singer with his one man band...........

Yes the place is massive but the view is really lovely and the grounds was kept very clean and tidy, there is plenty of room for everyone to sunbathe which was a first for me as you normally feel very suffocated by other sun bathers!

The place could do with a lick of paint but really dont feel this spoilt the look of the hotel because of how clean and tidy it is kept! The rooms are a lovely size and did not feel over crowded and were very clean and tidy!

All in all we have booked this hotel for next year for 2 weeks because we could not fault it and had a fantastic time!

This is really a holiday for familys!!

Recommend the Aqua Water Park and the Marine life with the Dolphins and Sea lion shows.............We had such a good time!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

This hotel is good for families, or couples. The reception and front are impressive, yet the apartments/rooms are dated and could do with some modernisation, although i must say they are really clean. There was a mixed response from the hotel staff with some going out of their way to help, while others were quite rude - especially to younger children who were wanting to be served around the pool bar area. The food was fabulous, with loads of choice. THe pool area was constantly getting cleaned, and the reception areas were also immaculate. The entertainment was typical "hotel" stuff. Would definitely go again, but don't feel this is a 4*, more like a 3* .

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juedurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Spent a fortune on this holiday 2 weeks all inclusive and it has to be one of the worst holidays I have ever had - hotel huge like a giant maze my parents were in the other side of hotel even though requested rooms next to each other...tough!!!! The view was like sitting in my office busy street out the front...nice not!!!! Food very average hotel staff all bar one cute guy behind reception and the cleaners all need personality transplants - pool area dangerous broken tiles wet lawns all day slipped over Oh and in peak season if you want a subed at all then you best be up at 7am yes 7am because by 81.15am they are all gone.....and no germans. Felt sorry for the Thomas cook reps having to do the entertainement in a dark basement when there was a lovely airy caberet bar area upstairs. Kids club for the hotel they were nice. Good location. Wouldnt recommend this hotel at all and certainly wouldnt go back finally watch for the weirdo's who enter the hotel and randomly take photos of your kids!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topbirdSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We have just returned from the aparthotel Paraiso Albufeira,and were scepticle before going, after reading other travellers reviews,but is was a late deal for us, and we hoped it would be relaxing.
The apartments are more than generous on space and in the main are very clean,but on closer examination you find that some of the furnishings are in need of replacement,and the upholstery is a bit grubby.
The hotel itself is again in the main very clean, and always being cleaned,but some high traffic areas of carpet require replacing.
The garden area and outside pool area are spotless,and again always being swept and hosed down,but this area becomes swamped by families with children,and the pool is fairly small for the number of guests.If you are hoping for some secluded little corner away from the children ;Forget it!.
The restaurants are spotless,but the food needs to be hotter,especially at breakfast.Here again unless you go to the A La Carte restaurant, you will be surrounded by noisy and sometimes unruly children.Best advice is to have your meal at 19;00 hrs,as soon as restaurant opens.
We went on All Inclusive basis,and glad we did,as it appeared to be non stop spending for others.Having said this not everything was included for us[no surprise there].There was a charge for the hire of sunbed mattresses,cray golf clubs, tennis rackets,slush puppie ice drinks,and our room safe, to name a few.[Parasols in short supply]
Beware the showmanship of the reps!,it will lull you into a false sense of security.The welcome meeting left us believing they were great.The truth is some had no idea of distances, when asked for directions,and gave the impression [Am I Bothered?]and no-one ever ensured their clients were on the correct coach for a trip,or gave us any clues as to timings.
Finally, beware the check in desks at Faro.Ours dealt with three different destinations, and joy of joys, one of our suitcases ended up somewhere completely different!,Which by the way one of the reps had told us in a previous request for a luggage label[Which they no longer use]would never happen!!
To summerise;We could see why it suited families,but we don't recommend it for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dawn77Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Just got back from the paraiso (27/09/07). Was rather worried after reading some of the reviews, but there really is nothing to worry about. The reception desk is open 24hours and staff were always helpful. Stayed in a studio appartment which was nice and spacious. The room and bathroom were very clean, and we got new sheets and towels six days out of seven.

We decided to go all inclusive which was a great decision.didnt spend a penny whilst in the hotel, although only get free drinks until 11pm. Food was varied and and always lots of choice, although i can imagine in peak of summer season it can get hectic.

Entertainment is aimed at the children and can be slightly irritating around the pool during the day. There is always lots going on and a large games room.

We ate at both restaurants in the hotel both of which were nice and also ate out in the old town which was lovely. Old town full of good restaurants and bars, but the strip/new town was slightly tacky and after visiting in the day decided not to visit at night.

We took two trips, one to the zoomarine which was great and we had a brilliant day!shows on throughout the day and 4D cinema great.Its definately a must do. Second trip was to algarve shopping centre which was nice to have a look round for an hour or so but not enought there for a full day. Then after shopping visited 'Fiesa' which was sand sculptures and was really nice to look around but again not a full day and as we visited at the end of the season there was limited things to do there.

We had a great holiday and were sad to come home. Would recommend the paraiso and go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bex000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Yet again the Paraiso did not disapoint. Have now been to the Paraiso 5 times and the standard has not slipped, yeh it could do with a lick of paint, but doesnt every hotel coming up to the end of the summer season, but its a very clean hotel and has so much going on for all ages.


Great Idea this year of only allowing inflatables in one area of the swimming pool as it was becoming ridiculous in previous years with them taking over the whole pool. And the life guards do a great job of sorting out anyone who ignores the pools rules :)

Right in the centre of Albufeira you are only 15 mins from the strip and the old town, so caters for all tastes.

Staff as usual were very friendly big shouts to Luis, Joel and Bruno in the bar, hilarious as usual.

Bring on the next visit cannot wait.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kerry85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#19 of 154 in Albufeira
698 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Balaia Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
3,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira

Address: Rua do Municipio | Lote 31, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal (Formerly BlueBay Paraíso de Albufeira)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $46 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira is a family resort located in the heart of Albufeira. License No. 843 The use of some services such as Fitness Centre, Spa, Games Camps has an additional cost. The use of swimming cap in the indoor pool is mandatory. Customers can buy caps at € 3.50 / each at the front desk. Guests with food allergies, food intolerances and/or other special dietary needs must notify the hotel before arrival. For groups of young guests and/or stag/hen parties, a security deposit of EUR 250 per person will be requested, in cash or by charging the amount on a valid credit or debit card, at the time of check-in. If the guest refuses to pay this security deposit, the entrance in the property will be denied. This security deposit will be refunded if no damages are made to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso De Albufeira Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso De Hotel Albufeira
Paraiso Albufeira
Paraiso Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Paraiso De Hotel
Aparthotel Paraiso De Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso De Albufeira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing