We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, superb staff and pleasant surroundings”
Review of Bayside Salgados

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayside Salgados
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, superb staff and pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A very relaxing holiday. I took the reviews from others on this hotel and wasn't disappointed. Quiet area, value for money apartments, a little "tired" but great value. Staff are excellent. I'd definitely go again. Nicely located between Albufeira and Portimao. Salgados beach is about 10 - 15 minute walk but worth it. Supermarket is 5 minutes walk and is sufficient for your needs. There aren't many restaurants that near but a 15 - 25 minute walk gets you around.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine. They're basic, one long room with a tiny galley kitchen and bathroom. Not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    167
    101
    29
    28
See reviews for
147
157
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a really nice hotel. We stayed there a few weeks ago and had a nice time, with lovely beaches nearby and a nice easily accessible supermarket around the corner.
Ignore the older reviews here as ownership has changed and things are now brilliant.

The only down side we had was the blonde woman from the hotel parking her car on an entrance to the roundabout and blithely brushing her hair with an amazing lack of awareness of the ppeople stuck behind wanting to get out and about ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bloakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in a self catering, low economy apartment and fully enjoyed our stay. Very friendly staff and all speak very good English. Our apartment had 2 single beds (did ask for double but was happy enough to just push beds together), a fridge, 2 circular hobs, tv, mirrored wardrobe and basic bathroom. There were no cleaning products (maids cleaned every 7 days and changed towels and toilet paper every 3 days) so we had to buy washing up liquid and sponge in order to keep the pots tidy but if you are planning to eat out most the time you'll be fine. The resort itself is well laid out with good facilities, you get what you pay for. The airport wasn't too far away, about 40 minutes away with other drop offs, we used "green bus". The Salgados beach was only a 10 minute walk, it is quite secluded and quiet. We managed to walk along the beach to a small town which was quite pretty with little side streets. There's also a supermarket that is half way from the resort and the beach, it also has a cafe attached to it. There's a tiny cute snack bar just up the street from the resort too, i recommend their croissants! There is a shuttle bus from the resort to the Old Town of Alberfeira at 9:45 and brings you back at 3:00 or you can catch the 3:00 into town but will have to get a taxi back. Taxis are around 8-13 euros. The New Town is also a taxi drive away, about the same price. The Resort is Quite far out but still a few things going on near by so i'd definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JavaBibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We decided on a short break, nothing too fancy, and booked into Bayside for a three nighter, and I have to say it was three wonderful nights.

Bayside has had some terrible reviews, but anything before mid-2012 can be discounted as the place was a tip run by morons. Bayside is now managed and run by some of the nicest, kindest folks you could meet. It's being progressively re-furbished so all the horror stories you've read are obsolete now.

We arrived Sunday, last stop on a drop off trip that saw us get in to the hotel after 11pm. We were starving and, take note other places, we still got a proper meal, off the main menu, and it was served with a smile. John on reception looked after us like we were family and we felt instantly at ease.

A short walk saw us at our apartment (it's an apartment/chalet style place). Small thing but to watch for. There is a narrow spiral staircase leading up to the 1st floor. If you have big cases you'll need to be careful.

Loads of space for everything, a well appointed dining area where you can cook if you want to. Big fridge and a table to sit at least three, four if you keep your elbows in. Very sizable balcony where you can sit and watch the sun, lie in it or sit and sample some local wines. Beds were comfy and sleep isn't a problem (unless you have noisy neighbors). There are baths and the shower was powerful and hot. There is a TV and AC as well.

Short walk to the pool area where there is a refurbished pool that is clean and cold with lots of sun beds to use. There is also a Jacuzzi and a kids play area. In season there's a snack bar available. The pool goes from around 1m to 1m60 and it's long enough for a swim rather than a paddle. It can also be covered in inclement weather.

The bar/reception/restaurant area is clean and light. There is an old Cadillac sofa that has seen better days but still looks kinda funky. Wide variety of drinks available and a tad cheaper than local taverns too. They sell a watery lager too that'll take a while to get you drunk but it's cold and lovely after you've been in the sun a while. Food is fantastic (Caution: remember you're in three star accommodation here, so the presentation is 'normal') and not that expensive. Portions are good and there is absolutely nothing to moan about.

There is transport to Albufiera for a coupla Euros or you can get your own taxi. If you have a car/bike then you're golden. There is a Supermarket and cafe within walking distance and a mini-mercados literally next door. A couple of bars/restaurants are also withing walking distance.

Now i did mention that this place has a three star rating, which means it's not a fancy place. If you want a fancy, pampered holiday don't go here. If you want a good holiday that is inexpensive, great value for money, hugely friendly and enjoyable and sits under exactly the same sun more expensive places sit under, then this is a prize to be had. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Special thanks to Joseph, John and Christina who made us feel so welcome and even thanked us for being nice guests!!!!

Room Tip: As the place is under re-furb things will change, but chalets further from the bar are quieter, rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tjz1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

From reading previous reviews , and not knowing what to expect we arrived at bayside 11.30PM.
To be greeted with a warm smile from the lovely Christina on reception who gave us all the information that was needed. Christina was kind enough to offer us a cheese and ham toasty and drinks (must of heard our tummies rumbling lol. Given our keys remote controls for tv and air con.
The stairs are spiral so best wear flat shoes (steep).Or better still let hubby take the cases up.)
( TIP. Take small key that switches power on, off key-ring before locking you're door or you will have to move like USAIN BLOT to turn power on and lock door at same time. Tv is small has only 2 English channels but didn't bother us in the slightest .you had sky news to keep you up to date.

1st impressions of room basic but clean (didn't pay for 5 star, 2 ring cooker and kettle was adequate, as we didn't want to cook a roast LOL) extra quilt in wardrobe. needed them as night time was chilly. After long day in the sun
.Beds very comfortable and clean , great night sleep .
Went to reception in the morning and was given all information about the shuttle bus which is 1.75 euros one way per person .Albufeira,the old town. Pick up outside bayside 10am also
The HOP on and Off tour bus showed you most of Albufeira which cost 6.25 euros pp. which gives u 2 days of usage.
Plenty of shops and restaurant's to choose from in old town . Always some entertainment going on in the square which adds to the lovely atmosphere. (WOW a must to see at night.)

The beaches are a short walk (there's always a short cut go exploring) if you want to just relax the Pool is perfect and Jacuzzi is ideal (cleaned every day) The grounds and gardens are well tended everyday.
Bar is well stocked thanks Sergio you make a great black Russian drink lol . Restaurant menu is sufficient for the small complex .Great food cooked well,
Breakfast is continental and you can have a cooked breakfast of whatever you want. No problem for joseph who cooks a mean ENGLISH breakfast .Service is next to none ,staff are always willing to help. (Lewis thanks for the lift) .A quick mention to the cleaners thank you for you're attention to our needs, nothing was to much trouble for them , greeted with a hello and a lovely smile every morning. We could not fault Bayside SO TO ALL THE BAD REVIEWS I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE YOU WERE IN YOURE HEAD. THIS SMALL FAMILY HOME FROM HOME WAS PERFECT . The staff made our holiday memorable we will definitely be going back
THANK YOU BAYSIDE STAFF. from mick and Anita xx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank 19anita61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our second trip to bayside and it didnt disappoint. Although we went just before the start of season so the appartments where not very full the staff made there best efforts once again to make sure everyones visit was special. The appartments and hotel facilities where spotlessly clean and tidy. This place is perfect if your looking for a quiet relaxing holiday. The beach is a short walk away and the old town is just a short bus ride away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank gazdeb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My partner Jane and I stayed here from the 23rd May to the 30th. I have never written a review before but after reading a couple of bad reviews about Bayside then I had to. From the minute we walked in to the time we left I have never felt as well looked after by such attentive staff and I have stayed in 5 star resorts around the world. Ok, it's a 3 star at most for décor etc but is says that when you book it. The hotel itself, gardens, pool, rooms are spotless. Ok, it's not in town, but it also says that when you book it and it costs 3.5 euros return to go into Albufeira by minibus. It costs more than that return where we live! We went one day just for shopping and the old town is beautiful and well worth a visit. Loads of restaurants, bars, shopping of course and the lush 'fishermans beach'. Have a coffee and brandy at the restaurant to the right under the tunnel and watch the world go by.
The hotel is made up of small 2 storey blocks of 8 rooms in each block. None of the rooms are more than 2 minutes walk from the separate reception building that also houses the bar and the restaurant. The rooms are perfectly adequate, the shower is very powerful, towels and sheets changed every 2 days except at the weekend. You have a fridge, a small cooking top, toaster and kettle but we never once used any of this as we ate in the restaurant every day(more of that later). We did use the fridge but only for keeping beer and water cold. The tv only has sky news but to be honest if you go on holiday to watch Eastenders go to Benidorm. The pool area is spotless and there are loads of sunbeds as well as some cushions to go on them. There is also a whirlpool , funny egg chairs , swings and hammocks. 5 minutes away is a supermarket that is very reasonable, has an extraordinary wine and food selection and sells British newspapers. Just turn right at the little café on the corner and if you have the nous use the cut through that saves you 5 minutes walking. This is also the best way to the beach. Get to the top of the track turn right and the down the back of the golf resort houses and your there. It's rightly said that the beaches in Portugal are the finest in Europe and I can only conclude with that.
The little café attached to the supermarket does an expresso and a cake for 1 euro, unbelievable. The little café by the hotel is also excellent for coffee, cakes etc and the best beer in Portugal, Superbok. We went there every afternoon and love just chilling out there.
Ok, back to the Salgados. The bar staff are all excellent. Costs of drinks are reasonable. Hotel has sky sports in the bar and you can get free Wi-Fi but only in the bar area.
We booked room only as we had read on here you can pay half board when you arrive. We enquired and got half board for each of us for 140 euros. For this we got breakfast which was cereals, juice, coffee or tea, continental, croissants, pastries, different breads, fruit, as well as a full English cooked to order. We ordered the full English the first day but to be honest, 3 sausages, 4 bacon, beans and scrambled eggs was too much for me. For dinner it was always 3 courses. We were offered a choice of starter and mains everyday followed by different puddings or fruit. Everything was cooked to order, nothing was warmed up. We normally had fish one day then meat the next. I can't remember all the starters but prawn cocktail, sardines, garlic mushrooms, chicken and avocado salad. For mains, salmon steaks, steak, tuna steaks, lamb chops, chicken stroganoff. The food was absolutely perfect. Dare I say it but they also included 2 free drinks each with our dinner plus coffee and chucked the safe deposit key in for nothing.
To summarise, if you want a hotel that is spotless, quiet, has fantastic staff (Joe, Sergio and all), excellent food and drink then you have found the right place.
We're going back in October and can't wait.

Room Tip: Book half-board when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
4.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
756 reviews
5.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#63 of 154 in Albufeira
421 reviews
8.0 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
137 reviews
5.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Salgados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Salgados

Property: Bayside Salgados
Address: Herdade dos Salgados, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Salgados 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayside Salgados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Salgados Hotel Albufeira
Bayside Salgados Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Bayside Salgados Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing