We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayside Salgados
Nearby Hotels
$149
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$378
$320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$142
$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
$184
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$275
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Joya(Gale)
$603
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Beach by 3HB(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
$178
$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
132
187
107
31
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
187
107
31
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprima pastamin walkbig johnself cateringold townrelaxing holidayshuttle busnature reservefabulous beachshort cutlocal supermarketplenty of hot waterstudio apartmentgale beachflat screen tvpeace and quietnice pool
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 485 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived 1st May, pre season. The rooms were clean and of a reasonable size. Plenty of facillities for self catering and only 5 - 10 minutes walk to the local supermarket. The hotel staff were very riendly and helpful and they had a free minibus to get into town in the mornings and another to collect you in the late afternoon. The hotel restaurant does very good food including many extremely tasty Portugese dishes. The Hotel is quite a way from the main hustle and bustle of Albufeira so may not suit everybody. The beach is really nice and does not get as packed as the ones closer to town and it is only about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. There is a very nice 'tea room' for want of a better phrase, just at the end of the road going left from the hotel access road. There are several little restaurants and bars within 15 minutes walk from the hotel where you can have a drink and chat with the locals (they like to practice their English). If you go to this hotel looking for a party atmosphere then you will be disappointed. Go here to relax and you are sorted.

Room Tip: If you can get a ground floor apartment you can sunbathe on the grass instead of walking to the pool area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ged M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed end April beginning of May 2013.

Never wrote a review before but after reading some of the reviews before we went it did not look like the Bayside we went to so I thought I would say what we found. Our visit to Bayside was part of a deal with Thomas Cook.
The coach transfer from Faro Airport took about 1 ¼ hours. This was due to the bus dropping off a couple of others in Alberfera. The time returning to Faro Airport was nearer 1 ½ hours due to picking others up. Not a problem as the bus was comfortable and we were being transferred mid afternoon. Upon arrival at Bayside there was some confusion but this was due to an error by Thomas Cook and the receptionist at Bayside sorted it with no problem. The greeting at Bayside was polite, courteous and very helpful. Had to give Credit Card details for 50 euros as a deposit for damage etc, not a problem. The apartment was very clean in all areas and although very basic had all that was required; lots of towels and all that was needed to cook and eat. Your not going to be able to cook a banquet but suitable for our needs. If I went again I would take a couple of mugs as the cups were small. Beds comfy with clean sheets etc and enough pillows and a quilt in the wardrobe just in case. There is evidence that a lot of painting and decorating had been done and was still being done in some apartments. Our apartment looks like it had just been done. OK, if you crawled around the floor you would see that some of the skirting boards did not fit well and were a bit tatty and a table had some slight damage to the corners but not a problem and in no way detracted from the overall appearance of the apartment which was very acceptable. We have found that this is normal in places like Portugal. When going abroad we do not expect the same standards as you would expect in the UK. If you want to eat in the Bayside restaurant the food was of good quality but not a great selection but catered for most tastes. If you want more selection including things like burgers, chips etc there is a place 2 minutes walk away, go right out of Bayside and on the corner on the roundabout. The food is not quite the same quality as the Bayside but at between 2 euros to 5 euros less than Bayside it was very acceptable. The same goes for drinks. For a bottle of Sagres ( very acceptable beer, even the wife enjoyed it ) the cost in Bayside was 1.5 euros and 1 euro in the place on the corner on the roundabout. If you look left out of Bayside you will see another roundabout, this does not go anywhere as it is a roundabout for vehicles turning as the road to Bayside is a no through road. Yes there were a few cats but not a problem, they just seemed to wander the grounds and did not try to come inside. The grounds were tidy and well kept and the swimming pool was very clean including the children’s pool and areas. Our stay at the Bayside was very quite but this could be due to our visit being at the start on May, unsure what it would be like in July / August ?. There is a small supermarket on the roundabout but unable to comment as it was closed looking like it was being painted etc. There is a good supermarket less than10 minutes walk away. Up to the roundabout, take the first exit ( right ) follow the road to the left and when you see this road joining the other road on the left look right and you will see the signs to Oceana supermarket. They have everything that you will need and prices very reasonable. Bayside will give you a small map for an area called Gale which is about 20 to 30 minutes walk away. The map shows other supermarkets but these are no different to the supermarket close by so unless exploring Gale no point. No point exploring Gale anyway as it was mostly residential and closed this time of year ( May ). The beach is about 10 / 15 minutes walk away. Go up to the roundabout, take the second exit ( signed to Gale and Salgados ), up the hill straight on at the first roundabout then turn right at the next roundabout into the car park. At the far end on the right you will see the walkway to the beach. Very nice beach and a dream for walkers as lots of beach and cliffs, not for me, I don’t do walking. When we visited ( May ) there were no places to buy drinks etc and it did not look like there would be at other times as the beach etc is classed as a preservation area. We done the Alberfera trip from Bayside, only took about 15 minutes and at 1.75 euros each way very reasonable. Alberfera was slightly disappointing as we remember it from about 12 years ago and it has developed a lot but still worth a visit if you have never been there before. We intentionally did not hire a car as we wanted to do as little as possible and relax. If you wanted to explore more a car would be advisable as Bayside is in quite a remote area. Would I go to Bayside again, yes, good value. Would I recommend Bayside, yes but I would advise not to expect the same stands as expected in the UK. Go meet the people of Portugal, some of the nicest people you could meet and who are very proud of their country. Go and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OldZog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Okay so this was such a great holiday, the hotel not so much.. but the people that work there are lovely. If you are looking for a quiet cheap relaxing holiday to just chill out and go to the beach then this hotel is fine if your on a budget - the beach 10 mins walk away is lovely! But if you want to go to places everyday e.g the strip, old town, the marina, the shopping mall etc then I'd really think about staying somewhere more central. Me and my friend ended up spending quiet a bit of money on cabs to and from the strip on nights out. And to be honest there isn't a lot of places to eat near by. There is a nice little place about 10 minute walk away called Sporting Clube de Portugal, the people who own it are really nice they also own the little shop on the corner of the hotel they are really helpful they rang us a cheap taxi place a couple of times. I think anywhere you go is the best you make of it the hotel isn't great but it isn't terrible either. You get what you pay for I suppose!

Room Tip: Ground floor is better I'd say as carry the suitcases up and down them spiral stair cases is not fun at all! lol I fell down it and it hurt!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW2191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We arrived in the evening. The receptionist was friendly and explained everything to us. You need to pay a €50 deposit, cash or card. There is a fob you need to insert next to the door to get electricity so take a torch if you arrive at night because you will have difficulty locking the door in pitch darkness. The stairs up to the first floor are very steep and winding. The room is basic. You cannot pay bargain prices and expect anything but basic. It was clean the sheets were clean, the bathroom was clean, the bed was comfy. There were no ants or other insects at all. The rooms are cleaned every few days but we are rather neat and clean so there was no need for anything but basic cleaning. The self catering facilities were all we needed and everything was spotless when we arrived. A lot of people have complained in their reviews about dampness in the room but I didnt notice it. There was no mildew and nothing was rusted. The hotel was quiet when we arrived so was a very peaceful setting for us. We did though have someone arrive just after midnight on our last night in the room next door and you can hear everything going on in their room so suppose it could get rather noisy in peak season. There is not much surrounding the hotel just a supermarket and a few restaurants so the hotel provides a bus service to Albufeira €1.75 each way leaving 10am picking up 3pm and if needed another bus 20minutes later. The driver is very friendly. There is a lovely beach less than 10 minutes walk away and we explored every day walking along the cliffs was spectacular and the little beach coves are stunning. We walked to the little town Armacao de Perra be prepared it looked closer than it was. Took about an hour to get there.
There are a few cats in the hotel but I love cats and they didnt bother us at all.
Didnt go to the restaurant we prefer to self cater as we are fussy vegetarians. Didnt try out the pool either, prefer the beach, but it looked very clean. The gardens are very pretty and there are always workers working on the garden
All in all it was very good value for money, very peaceful surroundings for just chilling out, all the staff were extremely friendly and made you feel welcome and amazing beaches close by, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonyaHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked this as we just wanted a cheap 4 day break and after reading the reviews just thought people were being fussy with the bad reviews!! How wrong we were!! Arrived at 2-30 am after sitting on a coach for 31/2 hours so were not in the best of moods! Got there to what looked like the middle of nowhere with a very bad tempered man who shouted at us to follow him. Got to the tiny spiral staircase that lead to our room. Went out looking to get some water but there was nowhere around so decided just to go to bed. The sheets were dirty and smelt bad so tried to just sleep on top of the bed but to no avail due to the noise from people walking around with cases! Decided in the morning to have a shower and see what was around bad move the towels smelt even worse than the bed sheets! Looked around the room and realised just how dirty and old everything in it was! The fridge was full of rust the table was old and rusty we paid for 3 people and only had 2 dirty plastic chairs! One of the group walked to the shop to get drinks but said it was a trek over a dirt path that was not safe for women on their own. We decided to get the bus into old town and see if we could book something else happily we found a nice clean apartment right in the centre. Went to get our bags and moved! When we went to check out he just said ok and didn't even ask why so this must happen all the time! Please think carefully before booking this just because it is cheap!! A taxi into old town costs €18 so it could end up costing more than you think!

Room Tip: Get a room in another apartment block
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews