We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, good value”
Review of Hotel Baltum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baltum
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, good value”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

stayed at the Baltum 19th July, 1 week. Booked balcony room, small balcony but ok for 2. Room overlooked the strip, and the main taxi rank, it was noisy at night..but a few Gin & Tonics later you wont hear it!!..lovely room , air con, hairdryer nice bathroom, towels changed everyday, Hotel was spot on, bar below was very popular, small beer 1.50 euro large 1.80 euro, most bars had happy hour till 8pm.. still very reasonable, had a lovely meal and drinks over a few days at Flavours excellent place.. couple drinks at the geordie viking, nice and chilled..vegas bar most nites, good entertainment on and lovely staff, met some lovely people, totally enjoyed our stay, never heard any complaints. it was lovely to be center of everything could walk to old or new town no taxis needed..overall brill holiday..love albuferia, and will be back.. would def stay again. x just a note Zantis restaraunt was the worst one i have ever been to.. waited 45 minutes and still not took our dinner order.. the staff started to avoid us after time..and rowed between each other, was awful we complained and left, only bad experience we had.x

Room Tip: we were in room 107 faced the strip, good to people watch, the sun from 3pm till 9pm red hot!! love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mich15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    145
    82
    19
    13
See reviews for
36
219
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is very well maintened. It has all the comfort and is located at very center of city life and night life of albufeira.
The hotel is noisy at night since is located on top of the Famous Albufeira Strip. Life in the hotel is very limited because rooms are very small and balcony stay exposed to the sun, impossible to stand on balcony till sunset

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Baltum from 21-29 June (8 nights). Booked a balcony room which seemed to be a little bigger than those without. Check in very quick and easy - reception staff very pleasent and efficient. Room was not massive, but more than adequate for two people. Plenty of storage, numerous draws, hangers etc. Air con was fine - cooled the room nicely after being out in the hot sun all day. Bathroom had full bath, shower, bidet, washbasin & toilet. Both room and bathroom were very clean. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed every day. Hired a safe - cost of €8.50 for our 8 nights (paid a €15 refundable deposit). The hotel is situated right in the centre of the Old Town, next door to a police station and a taxi rank. It is also at one end of bar street which is obviously very busy, especially in high season. However, for me personally, the noise did not cause any issues. Yes, the bars were open until around 4am, but once the balcony door was shut at night, i could hear a dull ebb of music, but nothing that kept me awake....and i regard myself as a fairly light sleeper. Of course, this is a personal preference for people so you should perhaps consider this before booking. The plus side of the location was that you were dead central for restaurants, bars, buses, taxis. What i also like about the location was the proximity to Fisherman's Beach - literally a minute's walk away where Bar Street could be forgotten - lovely restaurants with bars attached where you could have a more sedate meal and drink. All in all, i think Baltum is a fantastically priced hotel - service and cleanliness super. Would definately recomend.

Room Tip: Recommend booking a balcony room. Our room 204 faced towards the town square and the balcony held t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bartysimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Centrally located in old town (next to the taxi stop, supermarkets and a few minutes from the beach and the touristic train). Baltum has two types of rooms (with balcony and without). We had a room with a balcony, which was really nice. Not big, but it fits to people and a small table. Room was spacious, lots of closet space and four extra blankets. AC worked fine. Bathroom was also good (bath and bidet). The room was cleaned every day (towelchange - 6 - every day). Safe was 7 euro's for four nights (15 euro deposit) and the hotel arranged a on time taxi to the airport (31,50 2 pax FlexiTravel).There is some noise from the party animals, but it did not annoy me. Conclusion: highly recommended if you look for a reasonable priced hotel in central old town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STLAAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Location of this hotel is perfect for centre of town, but if you have a room overlooking taxi rank.forget having any sleep, probably ideal for young people, breakfast is just above a continental one, Receptionists are very helpful and polite, hotel clean, shower is just a hand held one, not good for a proper shower, Would recommend for younger people.

Room Tip: do not have rooms 101 or 103 , noisy, best on side you get sun on the balcony in the afternoon,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1946reds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I chose the Baltum for it's reasonable price and central location. The hotel and the room I had (a double for single use) were not at all run down. The paintwork looked fresh and the shower/WC room look as though it had been recently refitted. The room was cleaned & towels changed daily. Because of poor reviews of the breakfast I opted for room only and ate next door in Jo-Jo's most mornings - basic breakfast and coffee for 3.99 Euros - so I can't comment on the Baltum's food. There is some noise from Bar St. into the early hours so that won't suit some early bedders but the location is so good, any number of bars & restaurants within a few minutes walk. Fisherman's beach is no more than 3 minutes walk away.
If I go back to Albufeira I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the slightly quieter end of Bar St so bear that in mind. I had no difficulty sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derekcgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

hotel baltum situated in the old town of albufeira right next to shops cafes bars and 2mins walk to lovely beach,hotels nice an clean modern rooms nice food and friendly staff..only 6 euros taxi to the strip if you want a louder night out but once you sample the old towns bars the strip dont become that appealing,taxi stand right outside hotel also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00paul00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltum

Property: Hotel Baltum
Address: Avenida 25 de Abril 26, Albufeira 8200-014, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baltum 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Baltum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltum Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Baltum Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing