We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Cheap”
Review of Hotel Baltum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Baltum
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed in this hotel last weekend from thursday to monday and I can tell u that is a good place to stay where u will find a cleaned room and nice staff. With a short walk u will be in the Praia dos Barcos and in the middle of the old town with its bares, restaurants, shops and clubs. A good alternative if u are travelling without a car, u will be in the nicest place in the Albufeira old town. The only wrong thing is that u can't charge your mobile/camera in the room because it doesn't have a plug....unbelievable!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DekaLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 417 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2008

this hotel was better than some 3 star hotels , clean,well run,and the staff were great. breakfast was a bit bland but it was fresh & you could have as much as you wanted .hell ,its suposed to be 2 star any moaners should get a life .will definately go back

Stayed: February 2008
Thank honkytonkmanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

The location is superb, just a minutes walk to the beach, and the same to the town square with all it's bars and restaurants.
My room was small, but spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the balcony overlooked the main street.
I didn't find the staff particulrly friendly - not unfriendly either, just not very interested!
Breakfast was fine - ok it was the same everyday, but the rolls were lovely and fresh, and I found it a perfectly adequate start to the day. The coffee is absolutely disgusting, but that was not a problem because I took my own travel kettle, so I just had a coffee sitting on my balcony after breakfast instead.
The only downside I found with the place in general is that there is a lot of building work going on at the moment, both within the old town itself, and over much of the surrounding area. It didn't ruin my stay, but anyone expecting the fisherman's beach to look as idyllic as it does in the pictures may be a bit disappointed! There are currently 2 seperate construction sites there, one over part of the beach itself, the other on the cliffs overlooking it. But just a few minutes stroll in either direction and peace is restored.
The surrounding coastline is well worth exploring - the walk along the beach and then coast path to Praia d oura is spectacular, as are the beaches and coast paths the other side of the marina, towards Gale.
All in all a lovely stay, I will definitely return to Albufeira, and would not hesitate to recommend the Baltum, to anyone considering it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sologirlDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

The teeny tiny room (210) on our 2nd. floor at the Baltum made it all the more fun!
We stayed from the 20th. to the 27th. September and a fantastic time was had by us both. The revellers didn't bother us at all, in fact once the balcony doors were closed it was nice to faintly hear people in Bar Street enjoying themselves. We are in our 50's and coped pretty well!
There were market stalls directly under the balconies selling handbags, trinkets, sweeties nuts etc. It became quite a novelty just to sit on our lovely little balcony watching life going on around us. We never used the bar as it was closed most of the time, but of course Albufeira is full of bars anyway! I loved staying here. The weather was beautiful. Tina & Fred Rowley, Camberwell, London

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Baltum and had a wonderful holiday. The hotel is spotlessly clean and 2 mins from a fabulous beach.The staff are very helpful.Our room was on the second floor and had a balcony overlooking the street below which was very entertaining after a relaxing day at the beach1
The only downside was the loud live music that went on into the early hours!!!I am a light sleeper but my husband slept like a log, so the loud music probably wont affect most people after a bottle of wine and a good feast!
Overall it was a wonderful holiday in a great location. suitable for all ages and families too.Plenty of good restaurants to eat in and lots of shops.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jaygee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed here for a week in early September, initially we were pleased with the very central location. Everything is in walking distance to the beach, to the bars and restaurants and literally everything was on your doorstep. However this also had it downsides as at night the music from the bars would keep us awake until the early hours of the morning. This was further compounded by the rock-hard beds that we had to sleep on, they also provided us with twin beds rather than the double beds we booked!

The room was small but adequate enough, they were always kept clean and we had fresh towels daily. We never bothered going down for the breakfast as we heard it was quite basic and bland. Staff were friendly and helpful though.

We ventured to 'The Strip' one day, using the train that stops right outside the hotel - but don't bother, any of the good restaurants and bars are in the old town anyway. We recommend Bravo in the main square, Bank was also good - and a great band played every night in the Rock Cafe all in the main square.

Fisherman's beach was beautiful, very clean and pleasant to sunbathe on. It also has a lot of restaurants in and around it, but we didn't think the food was as good and they're also more expensive. Although there was a good Italian restaurant called Ricardo's leading up the beach. We had a good holiday in Albufeira but wouldn't stay at the Hotel Baltum again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Once the taxi driver from the airport managed to find the hotel, our first impression was good. It was in a great, central location, the reception was modern and clean and the guy who checked us in was really friendly.

Our room was small but had everything you needed and was clean. The balcony was very small (if you both sat on a seat then your knees touched) and overlooked the main strip with bars on.

The noise from the strip on our first night was so unbearable, we asked to move to a room facing the other street, which made a huge difference (and had a slightly bigger balcony).

The staff were friendly (they booked us a day trip to Lisbon and the taxi back to the airport, which was so much cheaper than the taxi there) and the rooms cleaned every day.

However, breakfast was a depressing affair - each table was laid with 4 bread rolls, 2 slices of ham and cheese and a blister pack of jam each - washed down with orange squash. Avoid at all costs and go to the main square for something far more appetising.

Overall, a good hotel in a great location but ask for a room that doesn't face the strip otherwise avoid it or grit your teeth and buy some earplugs.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
1,736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltum

Address: Avenida 25 de Abril 26, Albufeira 8200-014, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: $42 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baltum 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Baltum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltum Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Baltum Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing