We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”
Review of Balaia Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balaia Plaza
Ranked #127 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel itself is very attractive and the rooms were quite nice too. Pool area and games facility more than adequate. There is a little grocery outside so it's very convenient getting odd bits and bobs especially when you're cooking yourself. I would say 2 out of 4 reception staff were helpful but the other two seemed to hate their jobs. Wifi was slightly disappointing as only the lounge/lobby area have access. Distance to the "old" town was quite far, about 7 euros for a taxi plus 75 cents charge for call out. The beach is 10 minutes to walk. Plenty of restaurants within the hotel vicinity. Our room was great with a balcony view of Santa eulalia beach although the main road can be abit noisy at times. Cooking facility is satisfactory. Air con broke on our last day and they didn't do too much about it which was disappointing. All in all, not a perfect aparthotel but it's worth the money we paid, £250 for 7 days is not bad at all.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Timo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Balaia Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from here booked holiday at last minute. What a lovely hotel rooms clean and spacious huge balcony we asked and got a high floor with a sea view
Pool lovely
staff friendly.
Yes it's a walk from the main strip but not long and it walks off the access of holiday !

Weather was not Good the first 2 days but that's not anyone's fault.
Only down side was the road outside is a little noisy didn't keep me awake though and I am a terrible sleeper !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank libs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

On our booking we had asked for a sea or garden view, got there to find we had both!!!! Really spacious rooms and large balcony and very clean and tidy.
Staff were super helpfull and friendly and our rooms were made up each day by the maids.
Pool was lovely although alcohol and soft drinks were very overpriced. in saying that they had no problem with us taking our own beverages or food to the poolside.
Hotel is a little far from the strip and the old town but that was no problem for us as we enjoy walking.
There is a bus stop outside the hotel which takes you into albuferia for a few euros but the service is not very often so ask for a timetable on arrival.
Cannot fault this hotel at all, had a fantastic time and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for garden or sea view as the road can be quite noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just back from a week in this hotel.

Excellent large clean apartments, beds a bit on the hard side but that's just my preference. Good air conditioning, full size kitchen with all necessary utilities.

Lovely pool area, nice and quiet but not a lot of beds so sometimes people go without for a little while until one becomes available. One day we didn't go to pool until after lunch and couldn't get a bed at all due to towels on every empty bed! There is room around the pool so
It would be good if there were some spare beds stored somewhere that could
Be taken out on busy days or else enforce the no towels on bed rule if people are away for more than 1 hour.

Location is a bit out of Albuferia, approx 1 mile/15 mins to the strip and double that to The Old Town. We got taxis to The Old Town which cost €10 each way including tip. During the busy season you need to call taxi before 6:30 or its an hour wait. Hotel will call taxi for .75c. Beach is 5min walk from hotel which is down a cliff but I didn't think it was too steep when walking back up.

Did not try the hotel restaurant so can't comment on it but the hotel bar is closed in favour of the pool bar which is opened until midnight. Not sure if this is such a good idea because the pool bar is out of the way so it was very quiet.

Overall, enjoyed this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmdc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The rooms were a good size and clean, but very very tired. Our room did have a lovely sea view. The pool area was nice but there was often no sun loungers available, nobody on them just towels! There are 'special' loungers which were empty but we were informed they were private. First impressions are not good, at check in you are given a list headed 'Rules and Regulations'

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in May in a one bedroom apartment which had a lovely view out to the sea.
The apartment was very SPACIOUS and CLEAN.
It had a large bedroom, balcony and a large sitting area with dining table and a large fully equipped kitchen.
It was very quiet when we were there and unfortunately the weather wasn't too great but the pool area is lovely and all the staff we spoke to seemed very friendly and helpful.
Can't comment on the restaurant or the gym as never used them.
The indoor pool was being refurbished when we were there.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area but it is only a 5minute walk along to Santa Eulalia where there is a few bars, restaurants and a supermarket, then approx. 10min from strip which has an abundance of places to eat and drink and is busier.
The old town is probably a bit too far to walk but it is quickly reached in a taxi which only costs a few euros and is definitely worth visiting!!
The beach is lovely and its only about a 5/10 min walk away.
The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that the outside of the building could have done with being painted as first impression wasn't too good but once inside all was good!
I would definitely stay here again if we got another deal at a good price but would prefer to stay somewhere closer to the strip or old town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JW14JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just come back from our third stay at the Balaia Plaza Self Catering apartments. These apartments are spacious with good facilities. It has a great swimming pool. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant does excellent Pizza. We will be booking it again for next year (2014). This Hotel is very central in quiet location but not too far from entertainment. This is a definite place to stay.

Room Tip: Top Floor give lovely sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Da Balaia Apartments
Da Balaia Apartments
#85 of 154 in Albufeira
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#34 of 154 in Albufeira
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Eulalia
Hotel Santa Eulalia
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Plaza

Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8201-913, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $39 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balaia Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Plaza Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Balaia Plaza Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing