We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book an apartment rather thn a studio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pateo Village Apartments
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 1 bed apartment and when we arrived we were delighted, spacious, great views, however we entered the bedroom to find it was raining in and the beds were wet through, the staff at the reception were lovely and they arranged for us to move to another apartment in the new town, that was awful, we stayed there for two nights and went back to pateo village asking to be moved back, they put is a tiny studio which was just ok, the balcony wasn't very private so we has to keep the curtains closed the whole time, I would go here again if it doesn't rain

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Pateo Village Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 478 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

To start off, the reception staff; Elana & Sandra are such nasty people! They make excuses about it been overbooked or no water etc when young people arrive so you have no choice but to change hotels to what is he'll on earth! They say it's better, closer to the Old Town and strip but really, it isn't! We had to phone EasyJet Holidays/Low Cost Holidays back in the UK which is when they finally gave us a room at Patio!

The rooms are ok, very basic but for the money, they're good. The sofa bed is the main issue; it pulls out like a draw and makes so much noise! Cleaning was every other day unless you want to pay more of course! Towels changed every other day and when asked for another, we could have one for 'emergencies only' so we couldn't shower everyday! The bedroom door is also 'intentionally locked'.

We didn't try out the bar but when had a look in there, it's again, very basic and has no life to it! People had to wait a while for drinks because it's so understaffed! 1 staff member for the shop, bar and reception!

The Old Town is around 15 minutes walk downhill and is very nice, a lot better than The Strip! And that's coming from 22, 23 & 25 year olds! It's about 3.25€ each way although ordering one from the hotel they charge 50 cents and generally a 80 cent supplement in the taxi. There is however a taxi spot near the bus stop!

As we had a late flight, we asked for a possibility of late check-out, we was told no as all rooms are booked but an hour later, a couple was told yes, this is after another couple was sent away as it's overbooked! It takes a lot to figure that out!

As mentioned before, when we arrived e were transferred to Janels Del Mar and the hotel sorted our transfers back from there to Faro but when we moved back to Patio, although assured it was all sorted, it wasn't and last night, we very nearly missed our flight back to Gatwick because they are so incompetent! Which Elana found very amusing! Not only will I not be returning to this hotel, I won't be returning to Portugal! It completely ruined the holiday!

I am contacting the Holiday Watchdog and filing every complaint possible against this place!

Overall; would I recommend? NO!

Room Tip: Just avoid this group!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank EastendJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Just to start DO NOT listen to any of the bad reviews! These must be pensioners who travel 6 times a year obviously wanting a champagne lifestyle for cider money! This place was fantastic! The room was nice and big, very clean and amazing views of the sea and the surrounding countryside. The hotel was nicely set back up a slight hill so no noise from traffic or bars etc. It was a little cold when we were there but having the facility of a heated indoor pool and jacuzzi was amazing! We loved the old town and highly recommend eating down by the sea! All in all a fantastic hotel and we would definitely go back!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ollien22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We spent a week at Pateo Village from 25th March 2014. We had a standard studio for 2 which cost £176.04 for both of us. On arrival in our studio we found we were expected to sleep on a camp bed along one of the walls and the sofa/ bed was along another wall. The 2 beds were different heights and sizes so therefore couldn't be pushed together. We are in our late 50's and been married for 39 years and have never had to sleep alone uncomfortably out of 35 years of holidays abroad.
We went to reception to ask about having 2 single ordinary beds but was refused unless we paid another 35 euros each to upgrade which we wouldn't agree to do. I think we paid over the odds anyway!The room was a bit smelly but quite clean. The shop had little to sell, the indoor pool was skanky, the coffee shop wasn't open, I never saw the bar open. The swimming pools were nice but the sunbeds were really uncomfortable and didn't have any cushions to put on them .I can honestly say I would never return there

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debray56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

we have just spent a week here after reading the reviews before we left. we decided to take the good with the bad and fine out for ourselves.
on arrival we was given a key and receptionist pointed to the way we was on the first floor room 208 nice and spacious but no bed. apartment had an awful smell so opened up the patio doors.after looking around we had a sofa bed which had a bed that pulled out underneath .
what a noise it made when pulled out so decided to have both mattress on the floor.
the bath towels where changed everyday and bins emptied but never did we have our sheets changed the whole week we was there.just the shop on site opened on the 4 day of being there not much to choose from had the same product spread right across the shelf just to look full. cats roam around glad we wasn't on the ground floor and the dog around the swimming pool also every night a dog barking non stop.
bar wasn't open during the day opened at 5pm and happy hour 7pm till 8.30pm but had to wait a while for service as there was only one member of staff doing reception shop and bar. waited even longer when she had to go and change the barrel.
just down the road is mama mia 2 which do nice food and prices very good also bus stop just outside 1.40 to go to old town taxi rank there as well so don't have to pay 50 cent for phone call from reception
would i go back here again ? no but would stay in Portugal but somewhere else

Room Tip: if you do decide to check this place out don't have a ground floor as the cats will be in throug...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Pateo Village and once again we were not disappointed. Our apartment was large and airy and very clean. It had everything that we required and the extra pillows we asked for were delivered in record time.
Ok so the hotel shop wasn't open and the bar was empty whenever we looked in but its March and you don't expect the bar to be busy. There is a little café/bar about 50 metres from the hotel which sells the most divine coffee and ham & cheese toasties so it is well worth a visit.
The pool was too cold to use but the indoor pool was clean and a nice temperature as well as the Jacuzzi.
My advice is to give this place a try - the only downside is that it is situated at the top of quite a steep hill but taxis are readily available and it only costs 5 euros from the hotel to the old village square where there is plenty of places to eat and nice shops to look round

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor as the balconies are great
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when we recently visited portugal and although I really enjoyed my first visit to the Algarve this place really was below the standard expected. If this place was in the UK or Ireland I believe it would not even be eligible for a star rating, never mind the three star rating it has been awarded. When we arrived the welcome was very cold like the receptionist was not happy to see us, we recieved our key and made our way to the room. When we entered the room on the ground floor we were met by the smell of very strong bleach which made the apartment smell very unpleasant. Although the apartment was clean it was very dated and this made it appear very rough around the edges and look "unclean". Even for a "Studio Apartment" space was limited so much that the two single prison beds provided where merging into the kitchen. They were terrible, uncomfortable, creaky and at two different heights which made pushing them together to salvage any form of double bed impossible. I can confirm like other reviewers that the stray dogs and cats situation is not an exaggeration, every time we opened the door to get a bit of fresh air they tried to enter the apartment and on one occassion after going to the bathroom I returned to find a black cat in the kitchen. I could write about this place all day and still I wouldnt be finished writing about the negatives. There is actually not one positive I can comment on. Very quiet location out of town which is a 20 minute walk up hill to get back to the apartments. Very noisy when people move upstairs. Just do me a favour and dont book this place because it will put you in bad form.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
2.0 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
1.0 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#76 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#135 of 154 in Albufeira
173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pateo Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pateo Village Apartments

Address: Pateo Village - Apt 908 | Rua Bem Parece - Pateo, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: $30 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pateo Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Pateo Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pateo Village Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Pateo Village Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Pateo Village Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing