We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place we'll worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Sunshine

Restaurante Sunshine
Ranked #325 of 770 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place we'll worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Ponta Grande Resort, and had looked up restaurants nearby before our holiday. This one caught our eye. It is a large place with great gardens a pool and roomed, the staff were very friendly and accommodating the food was excellent value and traditionally Portuguese. I would recommend the mixed grilled meat it was gorgeous.
They have a special 3 course tourist menu at 12.50 euro.
It is a great place for check out day as well as they can store luggage for patrons, transfers can also be arranged.
In summary a must if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Well worth seeking out this little gem hidden away ,great food were made to feel welcome from the start,went back several times and always remembered by the staff

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

At the end of our 2 week stay in a nearby villa we spent the day at Linda and Armando's as we needed to vacate our villa by 10am. We had a meal there one evening which was superb (and included a free bottle of wine) and I asked if they had a room we could rent for our last day so we could shower etc. Linda was so friendly and offered us a room for €45 for the day where we stored our cases then showered later before going to the airport. Armando even collected us and our luggage from the villa. We had lunch and dinner there and several drinks and paid only €210 for everything (including the room) and that was for a party of 6 adults! What a great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shankles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The nicest restaurant in Portugal and I am not just referring to the food. This is a family run restaurant owned by Linda and Armando, the hospitality is fantastic, this is a relaxed, friendly, unpretentious restaurant. I would highly recommend the stone steak and the seafood is excellent, however if you want to taste the best dessert ever you will need to ask Linda to prepare her mothers family recipe for sobremese,(it;s to die for). The Sunshine restaurant is located near Sao Rafael beach, heading for Gale you pass out the sign to Sao Rafael beach and then pass out Ponta Grande and next turn right, and go approximately 400 yards down a local road. If you are in the area I would highly recommend you pay a visit, and yes there are cheaper restaurants but it is well worth paying the little bit extra.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michael447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The sunshine restaurant is the best restaurant on the Algarve in my view. Excellent food but the hospitality from this family owned restaurant run by Linda and Armando is what has kept us coming back every year. The restaurant is a hidden gem - not far from Sao Rafael beach, pass out the beach and Ponta Grande resort and its the next right turn, about 500m down a local road. Excellent relaxed atmosphere and nothing is of any trouble. The stone steak is a must, seafood is also excellent but if you ask and order before hand Linda will make the best dessert you will ever eat called sobramese (it's her mothers recipe), I have tried to make it myself but I cannot come close. We started eating in this restaurant when our children were small, they liked it so much that we spent 12 out of the 14th nights eating her on our first holiday to Portugal. Our children are now grown up and we all go back every year to the sunshine. We feel like family every year we go back and we have never tired of the food or the company. Yes there are cheaper places to eat but not really worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 186621Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Sunshine also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing