We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax”
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Praia
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was our second stay in this hotel and,as before, we loved every minute. There are only about 40 rooms , built over three floors and a bright modern reception area,spa,bar and restaurant. The pool is set in a beautiful garden, a two minute walk from the beach. The staff were excellent- welcoming, friendly, efficient and proactive. Because it is such a small hotel, the staff got to know the guests and were happy to offer advice about restaurants and places to go in the area. In particular, Filipe and Ricardo, were charming and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast offered a good range of fresh fruit, the usual cooked selection, cheeses etc. The only thing we missed was toast! Lunch beside the pool was good value and dinner very good indeed.
And lastly, the biggest plus point about this hotel is that no children under 16 are allowed! Bliss!!!!
A quiet, restful and calm environment.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefereeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    171
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
67
481
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2014

First visited in 2004, now been 5 times, staff are friendly and helpful, quite a few of them for 2004 are still there. Never had problems over the availability of sun loungers.
Quite, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Plan to go for a 6th time in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are laid out the same, Personal preference if pool view is required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great little hidden retreat, 2nd time we have stayed and won't be the last, quiet and peaceful. Service and staff very good.
My only little moan is the pan pipe music around the pool can be a little annoying after a while.
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are nicer if you relax on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hally555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Amazing experience, to stay in a hotel without children - mine or/and others! For the first time, we feel to be in a democratic country, where options are really available to be made and people travelling without kids can stay in a hotel where they don't have to deal with other guests' children dramas, noise, stress...
The result is a truly quiet stay: where birds and sea waves can be heard and the hotel staff has much more time to attend guests (for example, during breakfast...)!
Furthermore, the hotel is smaller than others Vila Galé - which is perfect, to allow an even more relaxing stay.

Room Tip: If you don't like to wait for the elevator and have problems to climb the stairs, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great hotel, lovely welcome on arrival and staff friendly and professional. Room was spacious and comfortable with a view of the pool area. Stayed bed and breakfast - the buffet breakfast was more than enough to see you through until dinner, delicious with plenty of choice. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and service superb!
Fabulous location near the beach - quiet area just right if you want to chill and enjoy the sun and the beach and a great hotel where the ambience is just right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 277PhyllisS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were looking for somewhere quiet and comfortable for a relaxing break, after reading other reviews on trip advisor this Hotel seemed to fit the bill, and that's exactly what it did. Our room was quite spacious and very comfortable with a king size bed and walk in shower. The room was cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis. There is a small refrigerator and safe in the wardrobe. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but I knew this from previous helpful reviews on trip advisor, so we took a travel kettle and bought coffee, milk and sugar from the local supermarket, this is a very good Supermarket (Apolonia) and is only a 5 minute walk from the Hotel, they stock everything you'll need. The beach is a 5 minute walk away if you turn right as you exit the Hotel, though I recommend you turn left walk to the roundabout then turn right and go down to Lorenco beach as here you can access the coastal path that goes to the left, you'll be treated to some stunning views, and are able to access some quiet sandy coves all to your self. We used the Hotel Restaurant for dinner on 4 nights and the food is very good and priced about the same as other local Restaurants. From the Restaurants we tried in Gale we rated the hotel restaurant as second favourite, first being Restaurand Jompra and third Sao Domingoes (both have separate reviews). We did try two of the Restaurants on the beach and though the views are very good we did not rate either of them for the food. If you are looking for a buzzing night life you'll need to taxi into Albufiera as you wont find it in Gale. We really enjoyed our stay at Vila Gale, so much so we intend to return next year

Room Tip: This Hotel has smoking rooms on the ground floor so if you're a smoker as we are ask for one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkToker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have stayed here before and the standards are as high as ever.
Friendly helpful staff throughout the hotel.
Food is excellent in the restaurant and dining is very relaxed as there no rush to get tables free.
Spacious comfortable rooms.
Hotel has a great location close to the beach and is handy to the local supermarket, and a short taxi ride from Albufeira.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Praia, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,072 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
204 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,960 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Property: Vila Gale Praia
Address: Estrada da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing