We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, amazing staff.”
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Praia
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, amazing staff.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We are into our 3rd day of a weeks stay at the Vila Gale Praia and its fantastic. A 40 room boutique spa hotel just down the coast from Albufeira.Hotels are chosen for location and then facilities but what really make a hotel are its staff. The staff here are first class, the best We have experienced in Europe possibly the world.The hotel is perfect for a relaxing break, no shortage of sunbeds a wonderful free spa ( treatments are extra and reasonably) priced.)Gale is very quiet and secluded mainly residential area. There are a few good restsurants nearby including Potugals only 2 Michelin starred restaurant just across the road (listed In the worlds top 50) Hotel provides 3 daily free shuttles into Albufeira for those wsnting a bit more excitment. All in all a fabulous Hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkandWendy140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    163
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
462
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. We were looking for a place to chill out and found the hotel to be exactly what we were looking. From the time of our arrival until our departure we found the staff to be very pleasant and courteous.

Our room was on the third floor and faced the pool. This was a good location and provided a view out over the bay from the balcony. The room itself was very clean. The only small drawback is that wi fi in the rooms is an additional charge. However, it is available free in all public areas, and that includes the seated area adjacent to the pool.

The beach is a few minutes walk. There are sunbeds a nd loungers avilable. However there are also numerous coves and dunes to find a place of privacy if required We walked along the beach on a number of occasions to the next town for a bite to eat before walking back. This took us around 4 hours.

There is a nice restaurant in the hotel itself. We only ate there once, but it was very good. There are a number of other restaurants nearby. For example within a few minutes there are three restaurants at the beach. We ate in one of these, the middle one, and it was also good. Further afield at about 10 minutes walk there is Mr Singhs, an excellent Indian restaurant, and about 25 minutes walk is JK's, which is also worth visiting. Albuferia, which can be reached via the hotels free shuttle, has dining option for every taste and budget. A taxi ride back to the hotel is around 13 Euro.

There are several small shops right next to the hotel, where newspapers etc can be purchased. There is also a small cafe.

Transfer to the hotel from Faro airport is around 55 euro. ( There is also a 20 percent surcharge on a Sunday). This can be arranged via the hotel.

Overall this is an excellent hotel if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. However, if you want to be at the centre of bustling activities this is not the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VFR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We staid at the Hotel for 6 nights April/ May, as a young married couple. Used yellowfish transfers from the airport, really smooth professional firm- highly recommended. As for the Vila Gale Praia, really nice location close to the beach, nice helpful staff, nice swimming pool, clean enough in public areas.

Rooms are big. We had a double room overlooking the pool. Really nice view and breathtaking sun set. Pillows are horrendous!!! Also bathroom lacks a proper vent.

However this is not a 4 star hotel! The cleaning staff comes in daily and changes towels. One of the days we had the surprise to find BLOOD stains on one of the new towels provided. It also had a few other big stains on it. Took it back to reception and got replaced. No apology provided by the staff...which says a lot. we suggested they revisit the contract with whoever does their laundry.

A few other minor incidents as an animal feather stuck to the bottom of one of the pastry at breakfast. Also needed a nidle and string and had to ask reception for one. None available in the room.

we used the hotel's restaurant for dinner once. Food average, far too expensive for quality provided, small portions and tasteless really. Also had to book dinner although restaurant had only 1 other couple eating there.

Internet is free in public areas, 5 euros per day in the room or 15 euros for 7 days.
Did not use the spa but did use the tennis courts. 20 euros for 1 hour (5 euros each for the rackets and 10 euros for the court).

All in all it's a nice place to spend a relaxing holiday but they need to pay a little attention to details. Had issues when running to maybe half capacity, just wondering how are things in full season?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed as a couple in April/May 2013 for 5 nights. Booking via alpharooms we had a good price for a 'standard' double, bed and breakfast.
We used yellowfish for a private transfer, highly recommended for a smooth start to your holiday.
Check in- welcomed with a lovely black tea and hot towels, most welcome after our journey, and everything was explained to us. Nice bowl of sweets available at all times too. I had asked for a higher floor and this was honoured, we did not have a pool view but we didn't pay for it so that was fine. On arrival (12ish) the room was not yet ready (check in from 2) but they stowed our bags and we set off exploring.
Area- the hotel is just a short walk from the beach, which is stunning, and has three beach bar/ restaurants all within 3/5 mins walk of the hotel. There are life guards on the beach and lots of loungers/unbrellas available for rent. I imagine it is busy in the high season but when we visited, sometimes we felt we were the only ones walking in the surf. Paradise. Next to the hotel is a small friendly shop and bar, selling all the bits and pieces you might need, and with Super Bock on draft, which we preferred to the estrella served in the hotel. (Much cheaper too). You can get your newspapers here, crisps, drinks and ice creams. Just a 5 min walk round the corner is a lovely supermarket, called 'apalonia', great for fresh bread, cheese, pâté etc.
Room- lovely room, well decorated in relaxing tones. Immaculately clean, housekeeping is excellent. Plenty of wardrobe space, but a bit light on draw space. Nice balcony which had full morning sun. Only two minor gripes, no iron in the room or available to borrow, and the room keys were some times a bit temperamental. Neither were a real issue though. Personally, the shampoo which was (amply) provided didn't suit my hair. €1.65 from the supermarket sorted that though, hardly a problem.
Beds were very comfortable. On arrival they were made up as twins, we just mentioned to reception on our way out for a walk that we would prefer a double and the next day it was made up as requested, no fuss no problem. Housekeeping were excellent. Friendly and helpful and keeping the place immaculate.
Grounds- well kept and lovely to lounge in. Yes, pool is cold but very refreshing. Loungers look a little worn in places but its just sun bleaching and they were lovely and comfortable. Pool towels, from reception, were in good condition and nice. Very low, subtle spa-type music which you almost don't know is there but helps with the calm, 'retreat' atmosphere which runs throughout the hotel.
Food- breakfast is very continental. Nice, but we chose to have breakfast at the beach restaurant twice during our stay but that was just for some variety and no reflection on the hotel. Lunches were great, we had burgers and club sandwiches, all very good and prices not too high, same for drinks. We ate in the restaurant at the hotel and had room service and couldn't fault the food or service at all. Occasionally we struggled to find a bar person when it was very quiet, but only once or twice. Highly recommend the sirloin steak, it was delicious and so well cooked.
Spa- located just by the pool and an oasis of calm and peace, steam room, sauna and large jacuzzi. Free access to hotel guests, lovely loungers when the sun went behind the odd cloud.
I had two treatments at the spa, a full body massage with green tea and a back and shoulder hot stone. Both were excellent. Highly recommended to start and finish a break when you are looking to de stress! Staff were excellent and knowledgable.
Staff- all friendly and efficient.
We used the free transport to albufeira. Drops you in old town, had a nice wander round for a couple of hours then got a taxi back, 10€
Overall, fabulous break, great hotel and lovely area. Did not want to leave. Well done Vila Gale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kateLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed two nights during a weekend at the Vila Gale Praia with my wife in April 2013. The hotel has only about 40 rooms, it was only half full and there were no noisy children around. A several kilometer long and beautiful beach (Praia da Gale) is just about 100 meters from the hotel entrance. The weather was perfect during our stay and we took the opportunity to walk on the beach each morning and we enjoyed it very much.
The rooms were nice and what one should expect in a good 4 star hotel. The staff was also very friendly.
We dined at the hotel in the first evening and the food was good, although there was limited choice. We had a car and in the second evening we decided to have dinner in the city of Albufeira, about 5 km away from the hotel. The hotel area is very quiet and for some nightlife (or just for having dinner outside the hotel) you will need a car or a taxi to go to Albufeira.
The breakfast was also good, but I was amazed by having “airplane orange juice” instead of freshly pressed orange juice, because Algarve is the region where are grown the best and sweetest (and cheapest) oranges in Portugal.
The hotel has SPA facilities which the guests can use free of charge but for massages (for which there is a charge). There is no indoor pool but the hotel has a large jacuzzi which is almost a perfect substitute for an indoor pool. The outdoor pool is nice but the water was freezing. It would be a nice touch if the management could get the outdoor pool water heated during winter and spring.
All in all, we had a good experience in this little hotel and with some small improvements it could be even better.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay at vila gale praia. They have a great pool area, good restaurant, very nice breakfast and excellent staff. It's close to the beach (5 min. walking) and it's overall very relaxed. Most visitors are couples and slightly older people, which makes it a very easy going hotel.
Only downside is that our room for the first night was in the corner of the hotel and the airco of the kitchen was booming underneath. We then asked for a different room and we got one immediately without any fuss, which was very nice. Overall the rooms are very comfortable. TIP: Ask for a room on the poolside area, they are more quiet than the ones on the other side.
If you're looking for a quiet week on the beach and hanging by the pool area, this is a great place to stay. I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frits_bol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've visited hotel Vila Gale Praia for the 4th time over the past 3 years and again it was an excellent experience: the friendly and very competent staff, from housekeeping over breakfast & dinner service to the front desk - all very warm, welcoming and competent in their field.
The wellness centre is a treat and makes up for the moments when the weather was not so good. A nice hot dry sauna & steam bath, a refreshing pool, a walk in the spacious garden.
Looking forward to staying with them again in the future.
N&J, Leuven, Belgium

Room Tip: This time we had a room on the 2nd floor looking out over the swimming pool & garden and this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YENNLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,010 reviews
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,208 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Property: Vila Gale Praia
Address: Estrada da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing