We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth going back!”
Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Praia
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I wouldn't normally have a return journey to a hotel or destination, but in this case I would!
Excellent facilities, location and friendly staff.
It was not too close to Albufeira, so is ideal for a holiday for a couple such as us who enjoy the local sites and eateries, but not so far that you can't have an evening out in that environment if you want!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrevB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Praia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 681 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

This Hotel is excellent. It is one of the best we have been in. Extremely clean and well decorated in a modern contemporary style.
We were greeted at reception by very polite and helpful staff, with cool flannels and iced tea!
The beds are huge, there is a pillow menu, you can choose from 6 types of pillow!!!! There was a fresh cut rose in the bathroom, a lovely touch. Bath robes, shampoo,s soap etc. Rooms were very comfortable large and clean.
The Spa is lovely we enjoyed this on a cloudy day and had a lovely sauna and jacuzzi.
The hotel restaurant food was exceptional, the portion sizes are not huge, but the quality is superb and no more expensive than the surrounding eateries which were no near as good.
We would love to go back, only downside is that there is not much around to do and limited to where you can eat. The beach is only 2 minutes walk away, with 3 restaurants there. We did not enjoy the food at two of these, also be aware that when they ask if you want bread and butter, they will bring you all sorts of other nibbles, such as olives, tuna pate, sardine pate and cheeses, they will charge you for these, if you eat them!
All in all a fantastic Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salzzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

It is difficult to believe you found the entrance to the 4* (or whatever stars) hotel because this is just a plain white door with the restaurant advertising next to it.

When you get in, you still need to do an effort to make yourself to believe you used the right door, but very helpful and polite member of staff will meet and greet you, and someone will bring you the cold towels - so a bit of luxurious touch there :)

We were pleased to get the room with asked for (top floor with the pool views), so this is another small thing to add to the hotel's karma. The room itself is all right - I would not say it is to die for, but not bad at all. the views from the balconies are lovely, but because smoking is permitted there, and our next door was smoking like a steam train, we had to keep the doors shut - this is what let the hotel mark in my review down from 5 to 4.

We used the hotel restaurant once, waiters were extremely pleasant and courteous, and the food was of the good quality. though the choice was so limited that you would not want to come there back for the second time, unless you are trapped inside the hotel. We were not, and we were visiting the places in Albufeira.

The nearby beach is gorgeous - as many have pointed out. You just walk down for 3 minutes, and you find yourself on the miles and miles and miles of the sand... Amazing!

Room Tip: We would take a top floor room facing the pool
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Holiday stay in June 2012.
Chose this hotel based on the quiet location and the focus on couples rather than families. Arrived at the hotel, looking around for reception, then realised it was the discreet single desk situated by the entrance door. Check-in was quick and friendly. Hotel appearance was a confusing mix of boutique style, modern hotel simplicity and zen rehab facility. Still, who cares, it was clean and very peaceful. Thought our room was ok, not great, just ok. Expected more from seeing pictures on the website and all that talk of watching sunsets from the balcony. Breakfast was good, nice selection and very fresh, although the nouveau cuisine portions were a little pretentious. Hated the creepy background music too, much prefer silence or more subtle sounds at that time in a morning. Which reminds me, the extra-large photos of nudes on the wall do not enhance the dining experience!
The beach is a quick stroll away and was excellent. Quiet, stretched for miles and good for running. The few local restaurants were regularly busy, served average food with average service but had great views. We tried an Indian restaurant nearby that was excellent.
Overall had a great stay. Service was good and really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. No nightlife, bars, karaoke machines, traditional entertainment, club singers, bingo, noisy kids, fish & chips and so on, perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Multi-Plug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just spent a lovely weekend at Vila Gale Praia, was not long enough!! Our room was a good size, comfortable bed and spotless. We had rain on sun morning so spent morning in spa enjoying the jacuzzi and sauna. Walking distance to beach and choice of 3 restaurants on beach. All in all we had a lovely time and will definetly be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in Gale, a tourist residential Vila near Albufeira. It's a very calm town, if you're looking for pubs and discos go to Albufeira. It's one minute away walking from a fantastic beach, Praia do Gale, where you can find three restaurants. Anyway, the stuff can recommend you some nice Portuguese places to dinner. The hotel is fantastic (and so are the stuff) and the breakfast is nice. It's the perfect place to discover Algarve.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bidaiari77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

i found this hotel to be of excellent quality with good sized and spotless rooms.the staff were very freindly and could not do enough,plenty of food of good quality.the only negative in my opinion was the entertainment which was poor at best but that said we had a great holiday and found the hotel overall very impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnyb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
2,010 reviews
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Address: Estrada da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $107 - $2,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing