We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great choice for quiet summer holday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Praia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Praia
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great choice for quiet summer holday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Vila gale is a wonderful and quiet hotel with good quality facilities like a nice swimming pool, two tennis courts and a spa, an excellent restaurant and very friendly staff. The (public) beach is only 100 meters away and very nice. In the direct environment there are four beach-type, rather basic, restaurants:nothing special but OK if fresh fish is good enough. One drawback (particularly for those travelling with adolescents who want to party!) in the evening there is not much to do. However, overall: if one looks for a quiet and very relaxing holiday: vila gale is a perfect, really four star choice!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zuurstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    154
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
60
437
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed four four nights at this hotel . It was immaculate in cleanliness and the decor was fab. In fact I would say its the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. The breakfast buffet was amazing. There was 5-6 varieties of fruit juices, yoghurts, fresh fruits, cereals and breads as well as cold meats and cheeses and a selection of hot food including bacon, scrambled eggs, beans. mushrooms and also some pastries to top it all off. The staff in this hotel were also the friendliest and most cheerful staff we have ever come across while still maintaining a high level of professionalism. Other good points included the very close location to the beach, the comfy beds and the quietness of the rooms-we never heard the other guests in the rooms beside us.There was always hot water and a dvd player and mini-bar in the room.
Two things let this hotel down-one was the price of the drinks-we never drank any alcohol in the hotel because we ordered a soft drink and it cost 3.50(euros). A bottle of water cost the same! We were so shocked we never ordered anything else!! This was easily got round by shopping in the nearby apolonia supermarket and there is a little snack bar literally beside the entrance to the hotel. You then just bring your own drinks to the pool. The second thing was that we had booked this hotel primarily because we believed it would be child free-it was not. There were at least three young children there and while they were not present around the pool all the time, when they were, the peaceful atmosphere was inevitably disrupted. The sister hotel is literally round the corner and we dont understand why any parents would want to bring their children here when the hotel quite clearly does not cater for them and it ruins things for us couples hoping for a romantic getaway. So come on parents, please choose one of the thousands of other hotels in the area and leave us child free adults to chill out in complete peace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzy596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just returned from a 6 day stay at Vila Gale Praia with our 2 teenage daughters. We were all hoping for a quiet, relaxing break and that is exactly what we got. A great location for us...short stroll to beautiful beaches and easy access to explore the Algarve. The pool area was so relaxing we didn't bother venturing out very much! Beach restaurants in the vicinity were ok, but we found the hotel to be good value and better quality than most of them. The service was fabulous...helpful and attentive without being too 'in your face'. Breakfasts were fabulous and worth getting up for!
The only negative points for me were the cost of hiring the tennis court and rackets for an hour (10 euros for the court and 5 euros for each racket), the showers were not really that great and wifi connection was erratic. That aside, we had a wonderfully relaxing stay and would recommend the Vila Gale Praia without hesitation. I look forward to returning again in the autumn.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieMWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

we have just returned from a visit to the Vila Gale Praia. Having visited it a number of times some years ago, we were pleasantly surprised with the "upgrade" to a Spa type hotel. Whilst on the face of it only the decor and fittings have been changed in the hotel since our last visit it was an improvement.

The team at the hotel are all pleasant and helpful from the reception area to the bar. They all seem to get on well together and are truly a good team.

The room has not really changed much except for the decor which as I mentioned is an improvement. It was clean, comfortable and practical and overall good value for money.

The pool has not changed, there were always plenty of beds available and the bar staff were happy to take an order from you by the pool.

Breakfast provided a great selection of food and drinks and went on until 11:00, the evening we had dinner in the hotel could not be faulted either.

The hotel advertises "sophistication" amongst other things in it's correspondence, its a shame that two overweight middle aged women didn't read that before the decided to sunbathe and swim topless!!

Overall the hotel provides good a value for money in a handy location for the beach and is relatively quiet as there were no young children there (and not encouraged)

Room Tip: The sun shines into the pool view rooms from about 16:00 in the afternoon and can be very strong and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notrevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I almost don't want to write a good review of my favourite hotel in case I cannot get booked for next time!!!
My husband and I have just returned from another blissful week at this hotel and once again we have had a week of relaxation and indulgence. If you want lively with bars and clubs do not go to Gale if you want a beautiful hotel 50m from a fab beach with to die for sunsets and to eat and drink to your hearts content in the sun go.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have small balconies which get the sun in the afternoon and evening.We stayed in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fredmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night in May 2011 and wished we could have stayed longer. Some reviews had concerns regarding the location, but it depends on your priorities. If you want to stay in a really nice hotel and walk 50 meters to beautiful beaches and cafes on the beach for a few days then this is the place for you. There is a great seafood restaurant round the corner virtually on the beach looking over a little cove which we also really enjoyed. The hotel has a pretty good pool as well. It is out of the way so if you want to stroll around shops and cafes you need a taxi or a car. For our purposes it was a perfect transition stop between Seville and Lisbon and a taste of acclaimed southern Portugal coastline.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool and high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. I am just back from a 5 day stay with 2 girlfriends.
So good to visit a hotel that excels in customer service....Catriona one of the staff was fabulous .
very clean, great breakfast and reasonable prices for drinks.
Very quiet and whilst this was great I really feel the hotel could do a little more by the pool in the evening, maybe a drinks party for the guests once a week,as everyone seems to go out for dinner rather than stay in.
Fab restaurant called pedras amarelas just down from the hotel on left.....don't try the one on the far right of the beach,very average...
All in all a really great stay and will be going back next year with hubby.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
7.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
7.0 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Praia

Property: Vila Gale Praia
Address: Estrada da Gale | Apartado 2204, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#2 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Praia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adult's only hotel is located in a peaceful Gale district of the city, close to the like-named sandy beach. It is about 8 km to the city centre of Albufeira that offers countless shopping and entertainment venues and that can easily be reached by making use of the public bus service that departs from a stop located just 150 m from the hotel. Faro international airport is located some 50 km away. Completely renovated in 2004, this 3 storey hotel has a total of 40 double rooms. Guests have access to a vast pool and garden complex, a spacious foyer with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk, a games room, a TV room, a newspaper stand, several shops, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned a la carte restaurant with a separate non-smoking area. Room and laundry services as well as medical assistance are on offer and guests may make use of the parking facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms come equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer, a telephone, LCD TV with cable, a hi-fi stereo system, a kitchenette, a minibar/fridge, a double bed, carpeting, air conditioning, central heating, a hire safe, a sitting area and a balcony or terrace. In the outdoor area there is a swimming pool, a snack bar and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers laid out ready for use. It is also possible to make use Satsanga Spa with mega Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room/Turkish bath, fitness room, a massage service and beauty treatments. The nearest golf course is approximately 1 km away. Guests may select their breakfast from a wide buffet; lunch and dinner may be chosen from a menu although the evening meal may alternatively be taken a la carte. Guests have the opportunity to book a half board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Gale Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Praia Hotel
Vila Gale Praia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing