We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Support -”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #131 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I have opened the review page expecting to read literally dozens of recent good reviews with regards the Vilanova and yet surprised & disappointed to find the last are of unhappy experiences . We have just returned from an extended stay at the Vilanova due to the Volcanic disruption. I would consider myself quite a fussy traveller in regards to Service and room cleanliness both of which this complex excelled. With regards to Service - the recent suspension of flights caused the Reception desk to receive many worried customers who needed not only help to extend their stay but needed help with many other things such as reorganising taxi transfers, printing online documents for people, freeing up computer terminals for internet access. Indeed every time I went to the desk there was someone there needing help with something that was not in their remit. They always seemed happy to help with everything they could,,,especially Head Receptionist Carlos. he was exceptional at his job. and handled everyone with kindness. As for the accomodation.....This, is in my opinion was excellent value for money, We had a two bed villa and it was cleaned every day. it was comfortable, spacious and for those of us that like our TV you could even get Coronation Street!! . With exception of the Location which can be a little lively in peak season and young children may need a visit to the gorgeous beach to break up the week as the play area has been removed (ten min walk there 15 min back as it is uphill) everything at the Vilanova was agreeable. For those of us that want champagne holidays then I fear thats what they may have to pay but unfortunately you cant obtain this with lemonade money, But the Vilanova is , again in my opinion and to be honest to all those we spoke to (and we chatted with lots of people as us British love to talk over a disruption with each other which was a great comfort for many) great value for money and agreed that we would all return lightheartedly saying it would subject to World Met & Geology forecasts) !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank time098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2010

Booked villanover for a last minute 4 night break in the sun. When we arrived in reception we were totally ignored by one of the receptionists, couldn't of been made feel more unwelcome!. The reception area is small with a few seats a pool table and an un stocked bar, not a welcoming place. We were finally handed our keys and made our way to our appartment . The gardens were huge, a lovely very well kept area, but then we saw the pool , it was a very good size but IT WAS GREEN!!!, we couldn't beleive it. What a dissapointment our hopes of fun in the pool and sunbathing soon vanished, don't think we would of found a sunbed even if we wanted one.
Our appartment was very basic with very uncomfortable beds ,if you can call slabs of concrete with a thin mattress on a bed!!.that smelt damp!. Beds not changed during our stay and appartment wasn't cleaned to a very good standard at all. Location of villanova was right on the strip with many sports bars and reataurants. We did visit the old town a couple of times, we found the food to be much better, lots of choice of restaurants and a lovely beach.
This is our 2nd visit to the algarve, our first visit we stayed in villamora which we liked much better than albufeira. The algarve is a beautiful place with lovely beaches, fab restaurants, great waterparks and the people are very friendly. The weather is lovely although can get a little cool in the evenings.
Would we stay at villanova again NO WAY!!! first time on holiday and not used the pool.
The villanova does have the potential to be a lovely place to stay IF AND ONLY IF they sorted out the pool the staff and the beds!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Where do i start? I stayed at this hotel in March/April with my boyfriend. I went away to this resort expecting to have really nice weather, lovely clean pool, a clean room and friedly staff (all of which were shown in the photos), only one of these lived upto my expectations and that was the weather!

As soon as myself and boyfriend arrived here we were taken advantage of, we were shuved in the darkest, dodgiest corner of the hotel over looking a very busy road and far away from everything. We immediately complained as it wouldn't have been safe to walk through there in the night. The staff weren't helpful at all, they just shrugged their shoulders. We demanded another room overlooking the pool. when we arrived to this room we found that we didn't have proper beds, they were basically two matresses thrown onto concrete slabs only just lifted off the floor! They also acted as a sofa. We weren't very happy at all after flying for hours across the world to not have proper beds to sleep in for a week! Not only did we not get any sleep because of our 'beds' but the noisy people in the nights that came in at all hours during the night kept us wide awake!

Another complaint was the state on the pool. This was horrific! In the pictures they show the pool to be lovely and clearer but the reality of this was the complete opposite. It was basically just green/brown sludge! The whole time i was there i saw one person in it and they only jumped in there for a dare and they came out smelling like a sewer! This really ruined my holiday.

Our bed sheets weren't changed at all throughout the week. Our towels were changed once. Bins changed nearly everyday but that was about it. The locks on our doors were extremely weak and anyone could've broken in. Elsewhere in our block there were smashed windows, insects squashed dead against the walls and we found it to be extremely loud.

Literally within minutes of stepping just outside out hotel we were asked if we wanted to buy drugs or stolen watches etc, i found this rather scary. A good point is that the train to go into the old town stopped right outside so we could escape from the hotel thankfully, this was really good value, i think it was 3.50euros for a day ticket. Bargin! The old town is a must see. There were plenty of pubs, clubs and restaurants and these people seemed rather friendly.

All in all i wouldn't return to this hotel if someone paid me to! worst place i have ever stayed (and this is coming from someone who doesn't like to complain!).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

After reading some of the reviews of this resort we wondered if they stayed at the same place as we did!! We booked a 2 bedroom apartment (not a villa) in the resort and got what we asked for!! One large bedroom with bathroom next door and other bedroom was on the other side of the apartment with an En-Suite bathroom and shower. 4 Ring hob,microwave,toaster,kettle and water boiler. Quite a private Balcony leading onto the grass and pool area. Table with 6 chairs and parasol. Never had one bit of noise at all. Gym right opposite our room. The best part only cost us £163 for B&B for the week. Safe deposit box was 15 euro deposit and 10 euro to rent for the week. We have been to Albuferia no 26 times and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The middle part of the strip is just a few meters away. Anyone staying Self-Catering take the train (3.50 euro each for all day hop on/off pass) or walk to the Modela just like the Tesco/Asda of Portugal situated between the old town and the strip (beside the Brisa Sol and Opposite MacDonalds/KFC) food very cheap to buy. Try to avoid the supermarket above the complex as is very expensive but fine to buy water/milk/beer in. For restaurants try the Cottage just at the top of the strip towards the Hotel Monchero very cheap (8 euro for 3 course meal 2.75 euro for brekkie). For Coffee/tea/pastries go to the cafe just opposite the resort beside the t-shirt shop/The Canadian Bar only around 3 euro for a coffee and a pot of tea. Places to drink etc...well we all have our own little "haunts" but our favourite over the past 11 years has been The Canadian Bar (BJ's) it's just opposite the resort. Owned by the lovely Pat always have a good laugh in his little bar. For Sports fans plenty of bars and the Scots Rocks (Ranger's Bar) also just down the strip. For Cocktails do try Wild and Co they have one amazing mixolgist there mind you can be very expensive peak season (Dec and March was 4 euro each August = 8-12 Euro each cocktail) for local food do try the restaurants in the old town much better selection there. For the clubbers there try Matts Bar at the bottom of the strip (near Wild and Co. and the Famous Cardic Hill!!) and also Kiss disco (Bottom of strip turn right then left at next junction follow sign for The Auramar Hotel). Taxis all on average 3.5-5 Euro anywhere within City Limits all metered (1 euro extra charge if pick-up from Hotel instead of Taxi-Rank) Trips well we have tried them all before but do recommend the Jeep Safari although do book through one of the many "bucket shops" rather then through hotel etc. Taxi pickup from hotel and back to airport was 60 euro. Hope everyone finds this useful and surly do send me a message if you have any other questions. We don't write many reviews here but certainly wished too after seeing all the negative reviews for this resort. Ohh and also never had any issues if the staff in the resort all where perfectly pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheapholfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Picked this hotel as it described as a family resort. This was the first year we were going away for Xmas as a family along with friends with a baby. A few days before new years eve the complex was invaded by around 150-200 teenagers who partied all night with very loud music (and I mean all night) Complained told with shrug of shoulders that it was the new year. Next night (new years eve) several of them tried to gain access to our villa via the patio doors and my son who was sleeping in that room was terrified. Again shrug of shoulders from management. Next night I awoke to find an intruder in our villa, he had kicked the front door twice and gained access (great lock on door). My husband chased him out and lucky he went because this could have been even more traumatic than it was. By this stage my son & I totally traumatised and discover when we ring security that there is only one security person for the entire complex (around 800 people in complex). This happened at 6.00am, I had to ring reception 3 times before someone came as there were lots of incidents that night and they had to call in police. When someone did eventually come we were advised that the door could not be fixed til 8.00am when ask what we do til then told we could pack our things and wait in reception. It was 10.00am before it was fixed by a maintenance man (who was lovely)and still at this stage no one from management had come to see us. At 1.00pm we went to reception and were informed that hotel manager in Lisbon until the Monday and were seen by the reception manager. Again met with the usual shrug of shoulders and 'its new year' and told the hotel manager would see us on Monday. Again no one turned up to see us and when we went to her at 11.00am and ask why she not come to see us she said that was not her understanding of the arrangement. When I said surely serious incidents that happened when she away this should be her first priority and she answered 'what can I do?'. When I raised my voice to tell her what she could do she raised her hand and said 'I not talk to you when you like that' so I ask for their complaints book which she gave us. While completing the complaints book she walked away from us and we have not heard from her since. Totally unprofessional and uncaring, we had to complete the rest of our holiday with a bed behind the front door (safer locks on your bathroom door at home), two chairs behind the patio doors, move a mattress into our bedroom for our son before he would go to bed at night. I never slept after that until I came home. Kind of defeats the purpose of booking a two bed villa.

The reception of Vilanova is in the basement under shops and eating houses. The complex can be access by anyone walking off the street there is absolutely no security.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LizMc_NIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

we saw this resort on travel republic an very cheap so took a gamble it payed off.
We booked transfer quickly too bookalgarvetransfer.com cos it offered a free gift an was also cheap. They were good actually our lady driver was English we had a laugh with her an she gave us good tipsfor eating out and bars.
The resort was older but but like little villas they were so cute the gardends were gorgeous well keep lots of grass if you have kids,.
The pool and kids pool were the biggest i have ever seen spectacular as i think another reviewer also commented.
The location fab middle of the strip but cos of the perimiter fencing you felt a million miles away heard and saw nothin when on complex but straight onto bars an restaurants when you left an made it easy to get home .
The beach was perfect an well serviced with snack bars ,wc, and water sports it was at the bottom of the strip so 10 minute stroll although a slight hill on the way back.
We also visited old town which i loved was 5 euro in a taxi and was quainter than strip an pedestrianised so you just pottered from bar to bar and watched all the street entertainment as you wandered about. Very nice restaurants in old town liked "Tasco Viegas" for fish.

The transfer company met us in the Airport and collected us at the hotel on the return they were punctual both times and the car was big and spacious, we liked the fact they let us pay by Pay Pal or you could pay the driver when you arrived if you preffered.

We are goin to look for another vilanova dreal and will definatly visit again ,

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tiddles1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Stayed for a week in October. We got moved to Vilanova from a different hotel and were we glad. Clean and tidy, well equipped studio. Cleaning ladied paid us a visit every day with towels etc. We could not fault the place, large pool and lovely well looked after grounds. We felt safe and secure with a nice view of the grounds and pool. It is situated rifht on the "strip", but you would never think it once inside. The strip is ok, with plenty of bars and resturants, try the costa rica resturant, we ate there three nights out of seven. The oldtown is much nicer, easy to get to on the small train which is just across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#94 of 154 in Albufeira
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $15 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing