We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from fantastic week at vilanova”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #136 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just back from fantastic week at vilanova”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had read some bad reviews so was pleasantly susprised. yes it was basic but its 3 star what do you expect for the price youve paid. We stayed in a 3 bed villa rooms were quite big and 2 bathrooms It was clean and maids came in everyday. Location was good close to beach and strip. Perfect for partying if you want a quiet relaxing holiday stay somewhere else! Weather was lovely was raining for 2hrs on the friday then the sun came out and it was lovely for rest of the week. Only bad point was not enough plug sockets in rooms and when youve got teenage girls trying to get ready with straightners and hairdryers it was a bit of a struggle.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suebragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    306
    294
    127
    187
See reviews for
238
373
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just returned back from a 3 night stay here and cant complain really for how little i paid after reading the reviews some people made it out to be a right hell hole but its not that bad at all. Friendly reception staff, checked in fine. We had a room in one of the blocks, quite a big room with kitchenette. Clean but basic. Clean sheets on beds, well sofa beds as you could turn them into a sofa, tv's great as it has bbc1 and itv so the rainy days you can sit in and watch some half decent tv but we never did as we had 3 lovely warm sunny days and spent it on the beach. The hotel is situated right on strip so ideal for the party goers. The hotel block can be noisy i never slept well as there were lots of slamming of doors at 4am every morning without fail. I think its best to ask for one of the chalet type rooms those look better for families and older couples. The pool area is big with a pool bar serving snacks etc. The hotel could be great if it was given a small make over. Dont bother paying for breakfast as we did and never got it and there was no restaurant so dont know where they serve breakfast but theres plenty of places to get a breakfast on the strip and the cost is reasonable. This place is ideal if you want just a bed, mirror, shower like we do as we always go off walking and spend most of our days on the beach but if your the typical british moaner who spends most of their time taking pictures of dirt etc instead of going off and enjoying your holiday/break then dont go here cause you bound to fault it some how, but if your like me and just make the most of the time your there and dont let petty things ruin your holiday then its great think some people just moan for the sake of moaning. Theres plenty of things to do in the area with lots of bars/restaurants for ages,the beach is gorgous lots of rocks and caves to go walking theres also restaurants along beach so you dont even have to move far for lunch. Cant wait to go back and yes i would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool as its quieter than overooking strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank R-BIRMINGHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoapops
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

After booking a mini break for me and my 11 year old daughter, I was terrified of going here after reading some of the reviews, however I need not have worried. I'm only saying that some of the points are not true however it is no where near as bad as some people make out or perhaps I am just a bit more laid back than others. We stayed in block 4 in a one bedroom apartment.

I will start with the negatives : yes the beds are not the most comfortable that I have ever slept on and to be honest after the first two nights I spent the last two nights on the sofa in the living area which was much more comfortable.

Unfortunately there were about 20 Irish lads who were also staying in our block that decided it was a good idea at 4.30 in the morning when they came in to make so much noise everyone knew they were home, the walls are very thin which does add to the noise.

It is true that some of the buildings could do with a bit of paint but it's hardly a major issue.

Now the positives: the rooms are very clean and we had maid service 2 days out of the 4 that we were there. There is everything you need in the apartment, the shower was lovely and powerful and always warm water. The room was very spacious.

I saw no problems around the pool, there was a big mixture of people, families, older people and young groups.

The service at the pool bar was good and the food lovely, staff friendly. I never had any problems with any of the reception staff and encountered about 5 different people on the different occasions I went. I thought the safe near the reception would be a bit dodgy but it was absolutely fine and is in a room off to the side of the reception.

The hotel is in a prime location for all the bars and restaurants, the beach is not too far away either.

All in all we had a good time, this is not a billed as a five star hotel and therefore that is not what you are going to get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cocoapops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
standish
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just arrived back from Vilanova Resort, literally. Complex is a large dated collection of apartments and villas, we stayed in a 3 bed villa which was much bigger than expected, a large patio area that lead directly to the pool was great for the kids, the resort could do with shutting down and painting, rooms have well gone past their sell by date! if you looked closely at everything you soon realise the entire complex is in dire need of updating, but, and this I stress, it is a cheap getaway, we didn't pay for the Ritz, so didn't expect it. Rooms were kept clean, beds were okay, pool was large and clean (although the surrounding tiles were broken and had grass growing everywhere) , location sells this resort, as you are right in the middle of everything, food on the strip consists of a variety from seafood and steaks to burgers n chips, something for everyone. Happy hour large beers 1.50 euro, wine from 1 euro. If you want to cook yourself, use the Pingo Supermarket on the main road (turn right out the complex, left at the top of road and stroll down 5 mins to Worm Roundabout) fantastic choice and price.

The Vilanova resort though is not for families with young children, it can get unbelievably rowdy, our kids ranged from 11 to 19 so it didn't bother them, do not book this hotel if you get offended by drunks! Entertainment wise, none! unless you like laughing at drunks making complete fools of themselves. The beach is an easy 10 min stroll, Albufeira old town is about 30 mins, or you can jump the happy train for 2.50 euro,

All in the resort was Okay, for the price we paid we got a spacious apartment, and the kids were happy, yep the weather wasn't brilliant but that's not the fault of Vilanova. Had a great time, all the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaynor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

having taken my 80 yearold farther he enjoyed the resort and the closeness to the strip plenty of bars and shops the problem was the beds. to low to hard to lumpy. no hand rails on steps in to apartment block.the apartments are very worn and not very well equiped. need refurbing urgently holes in walls andlots of mold and dirt ingrained on walls and floor will not be going back

Helpful?
2 Thank meyglen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Dublin, Irleand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights, greeted with a grumpy receptionist who insisted on a print out of the reservation ( first time anywhere i've seen this). She made me buy a wifi card to use on my phone to send her the email, strange!
Stayed in a 3 bed 'villa'. It was like stepping back into the early 80's. Linen not very clean. Our patio was overgrown and none of the doors/ windows could lock properly and the place could easily have been broken into should any thief have chosen too!
downstairs WC had the mechanics of it rotted away and the whole place felt old grubby and dirty!
Had an early flight at 7am so we were picked up at 5am. I went to the '24hr reception', which of course was closed. After knocking on the door an extremely grumpy man came to the door, snapped the key out of my hand and closed the door without saying a word!
Please only ever stay here with a group or on a stag, I would never consider bringing my family here, spend the extra few quid and stay somewhere else.

On the upside, great big pool area and literally on the strip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

HAVING JUST RETURNED YESTERDAY FROM THIS DISGUSTING HOTEL/RESORT. I Would Like To Seriously WARN People NOT To Book. Place is in serious need of shutting down. Staff are miserable, No clean towel's/sheet's. Cockroaches in filthy pool. Bird poo all round pool side, left there by lazy staff. No kettle, Yellow dated microwave and cooker that you wouldn't touch. Air con was a fan. Bed consisted of a paper thin mattress on a concrete raised small slab off the floor. Place full of lager lout's. Couldn't even get a coffee in the pool bar as they stopped serving it at 5pm.. Hotel corridors stunk and where dark and drab. Lift was disgusting and graffitti is everywhere in the resort. THE SO CALLED ''STRIP''.......WHERE DO I START HERE? ONE WORD ''SCUM''!! AND TO THINK MY BOYFRIEND OF 10YRS TOOK ME HERE FOR MY 50TH. I THINK IT'S SAFE TO SAY IF THAT'S ALL I'M WORTH THEN HE IS NOW MY EX!! AND HE READ THESE REVIEW'S BEFORE HE BOOKED IT TOO. DO NOT GO NEAR THIS AWFUL PLACE UNLESS YOUR USED TO THIS SORT OF THING. I've just spent a night in hospital cause of my stomach after this dirty disgusting place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#85 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#61 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#46 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Property: Vilanova Resort
Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing