We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #135 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Great time in Villanova right at the top of the strip great for young ppl as it is in a great location , will be staying here next year again ! Would recommend to my friends any way , love how you are not right beside the clubs you are a bit away but as still close to the strip

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    304
    277
    122
    182
See reviews for
235
364
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here in August with my Family 5 years and 8 years, we read all the reviews before we went some good some bad. The villa we stayed in was very clean and maids came everyday to clean and leave fresh towels. The pool was brillant plenty off room for everybody. It is handy to the strip and must say we heard very little noise at night, there was a lot of young people staying in the appartments but they were all very well behaved at night and around the pool area. Staff were very friendly and helpful, would certainly stay here again with my family the kids just loved it

Room Tip: Villa's are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 96t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Good: spent ten days in glorious sunshine in Algarve spending lots of time on lovely beaches and in a fab 'old town' with occasional jaunts through the Strip. Smashing big pool deep enough for good swimming. best transport all day ticket on street train. Best value and tastiest meals in Old town and the kebab shop next to apartments.

The Bad: grubby, shabby studio, broken air con with only the offer of one fan to cool,toilet needing deep clean, air con unit took up most of the teeny balcony space which allowed us to look on to double & Triple sized balconies, stone beds with pancake flat mattresses badly in need of replacement, cooker dirty, tiles cracked. pool area needing facelift and fixing, grassy area bald through constant use means towels get filthy

The Ugly: Overpriced and tasteless meals in Strip area e.g Large steakhouse charged 16e for a salad, another served up microwaved cannelloni hot enough to burn on outside and frozen inside. Noise levels high from 8pm to 6am . sun beds are taken by 10:00 am and are insufficient in number for size of complex. Beware the constant flow of drunken, loud groups. NOT For The Fainthearted.

Room Tip: definitely avoid studio apartments ( particularly room 4307) Don't accept the small balconied ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

liverpool
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here in August with my 17 year old daughter, was in block 4 so had air con thankfully. Room overlooked The Strip but that didn't bother us. Rooms were basic but clean, maids visited every day except one. Pool was good, perhaps a few more loungers would be a good idea for such a large pool. It gets very busy in the afternoon too.

My only real complaint was not regarding the apartments but other young guests coming in between 4-6pm making way too much noise. I could deal with the noise from the Strip at night but not that of screaming, singing teenagers at 4am!!! If you want a peaceful holiday, or a young family one, don't chose here.

Room Tip: Blocks 1, 2 and 3 have no air con so ask for 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Vilanova is located right in the middle of the strip so long walks or waiting for shuttle buses is not necessary. The villas are spacious and the air conditioning worked great in two of the rooms but was a bit dodgy in the sitting room/kitchen/bedroom. However this was the quietest room at night. The rooms were clean and even though we were told that the towels would only be changed twice a week they were in fact changed everyday. My biggest gripe was with the security of the property, the locks were very flimsy and this is something the resort really needs to address. Most of the property is showing signs of fatigue and could do with a face lift, however that did not bother us to much so long as it was clean, which it was. I read these reviews before I left and was terrified about what I'd find, while it can be noisy at about five we certainly didn't find it unbearable and I had my parents with me! Very friendly people, a bit expensive at the pool bar, considering we were not far from the strip. I docked marks mainly because of the security of the building and the lack of evening entertainment for families.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aingealdepaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

As a group of girls celebrating a birthday these apartments where ideal with a laid back atmosphere, excellent location right on the strip and good value for money. Wouldn't advise taking young children due to stag and hen parties, but cant fault it for groups.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just got back from Vilanova Resort.Can't fault it.Went with 2 kids and my wife.Stayed in a free upgraded villa (villas 130-150 are the quietest)didn't see anyone playing football on the grass.Yes there were groups of lads who were a little bit rowdy at times but they are on holiday also.Night time and early morning was quiet only odd giggles were heard but nothing harmful.The pool area was large enough and was cleaned every morning.Our room was tidied and bedding and towels changed every two days.Amenaties and food outlets very close by.At the end of the day you get what you pay for.We would return.

Room Tip: block 1 apartments or villas 130 -150
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyrospriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#87 of 163 in Albufeira
437 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#50 of 163 in Albufeira
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#67 of 163 in Albufeira
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Property: Vilanova Resort
Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing