We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, lovely large pool/garden area”
Review of Vilanova Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vilanova Resort
Ranked #132 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a lovely stay, apartment is over 2 floors. Lighting is very low so ladies, it is hard to do your make up etc properly but is bearable :)
Steep steps to the bedrooms.
Clean. Really nice back garden view and nice private garden space.
Location is just off the strip which is brilliant. I would def stay here again,
Went with 2 other friends in March, weather was not the best and bars abit empty but had a nice time all the same.
Would defo recommend and I am usually abit fussy :)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the garden/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 28Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here in 2005 and had a great time. We bought our teenage sons with us and they too loved it, At the time it was a Thomson resort and everything on the site was in tip-top condition, such a shame it has been 'let go' as the location was perfect. At the top of the strip, near shops, restaurants and bars also easy to walk into Albufeira or Vilamoura.
Was even a Linekers bar on the corner for watching the footie.Also a shame that this is now a base for hens and stags as previously it was a perfect base for family holidays, infact I recommended it to several families and they also loved it. We went at end of March and the weather was lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is right on the strip , if you are stag and hen parties it is ideal, no good though if you are a family with children as the party goers coming home in the early hours are rather noisy, or if you want a relaxing holiday. The pool was large and clean and plenty of sun beds available. The apartment was spacious but beds not very comfortable and found cock roaches in room every morning. The price was good so can't complain too much, as I have stayed in quite a few other hotels in Portugal with similar prices I won't be returning.

Room Tip: Try the villas instead of apartments may be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed for a week in may 2013 was a bit worried after reading reviews and must say some were spot on. This place is in serious need of a facelift, really old and not really comfortable but its in a great location and our room was clean enough and the maids came everyday. the pool is large and theres plenty of space around it though the pool bar was a rip off £8.60 for 2 glasses of local cider, safe to say it was the only drink we bought at the bar and like everyone else we started bringing our own to the pool.
Ladies beware the grounds around the apartments are cobbled nearly broke my neck in wedges wouldnt have liked to have had heels on!
This place is ideal for hens and stags or large groups but definately not for families with small children.

Room Tip: villas around the pool would not hear as much noise coming from the strip at night there also much n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I didn't book this resort and I must say it would not have been my first choice, but for what we paid £200 pp for 8 days I was pleasantly surprised. I agree with all the other reviewers this place needs a massive face lift, mattresses on concrete plinths went out with the Arc surely. It does however have it's good points. After a 2 and a half hour grab your seat cattle run aboard Ryan Air Flight 4052 (pre book seats to avoid the cattle run) we landed at faro, grabbed our bags turned right and headed to the bottom of the Airport to que for our Transfer to Vilanova Resort via Holiday Taxis. handing over our transfer sheet we were sent back up the airport to the main exit doors on the right and told to follow Number 5 arrows painted on the floor which would take us to transfer bus number 23. Bit of a trek pulling cases but easy peasey. 45 mins later after a few drop offs and we were dropped outside the Vilanova Resort. Finding reception was a bit of an It's a knockout, eventually the chinese shop owner next door gave us a hand. You go down past the kebab shop and round the corner you will find a slope and stairs leading to reception. Once efficiently booked in by the smiling staff they gave us a drawing of where to go. Outside we met a po faced security guard standing in the dark and looking a bit daunting. i did learn that his name was Luiz and he was quite friendly really, Carlos the night receptionist who was fab told me this. Advice here, find the pool as it is surrounded by Blocks 1-4 and the villas, in the dark the entrances can be quite hard to find. Block 4 is on the immediate left then 3 then 2 then 1 which is furthest away from the noisy strip. The villas are set back but surround the pool. The rooms are basice and some blocks don't have air con ours (4) didn't but the girls were in 3 and theirs did. The strip is very noisy at night so families go for Block 1 or a villa. The Pool is massive one of the biggest I have swam in, and the small bar area that served drinks and food was complete with adequately clean toilets so no need to keep zipping off to reception or your room. There were plenty of chairs and tables in the bar area and what seemed like hundreds of loungers so no need to fight for them. This place does have it's fair share of stags and hens so a family with young kids would be better in Block 1 or a Villa, but having said that there were numerous families about, whose kids and toddlers were having some major fun. The pool has a diving platform also which isn't too high to be frightening lol except to me. The main plus for this resort is it's location. Bang smack at the top of the strip and a fantastic starting point for every excursion, nothing is out of reach. I was mega upset though, just behind the resort a stones throw away is the local Bullring, unfortunately there are no fights in May but there are 5 in June so I missed out on this tourist attraction. We had some good days around the pool and some good days on The strip and Old Town and on boat trips, all easily acquired from the Vilanova Resort.

Room Tip: Book Block 1 or a Villa to be away from the Noisy Strip. Music goes on until 4 am +
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheG0dfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Perfect locations for young groups. Pool area is huge so no one is sat on top of each other. Pool freezing tho! Drinks are quite expensive at the pool bar! Our apartment was great with two big bedrooms and two bathrooms also with a living room! New towels everyday couldn't fault it. We had yellowfish as our transfers and they were very efficient and reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tdog86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a hen party and had a great time. The apartments are right on the strip in an ideal spot. It is great for young people, especially stag and hen groups but would not recommend for families or older guests. Pool was the coldest ever but the pool terrace was so large. 22 in our group and had no trouble getting loungers. Rooms cleaned every day but they do need updating but for what we paid we thought it worth the money. Choose block 1 for a good night sleep away from the strip!

Room Tip: Block 1 is furthest from the strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
3,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#101 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilanova Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilanova Resort

Address: Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $16 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilanova Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vilanova Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilanova Hotel Albufeira
Vilanova Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing